We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Pizza for two under $20 dollars room service? You got it! Beach, view of the ocean, good service? You got it! Pool, block away from great restaurants? You got it! No complaints? You got it! Parking garage was a little pricey at 19 dollars a day but I found the convenience could not be beat. Weekend parking can be a challenge in La Jolla, so I appreciated the convenience. All day parking means you can leave your car in the garage after check out and just hang out with family or friends with no hassles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank day3tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We truly loved the location of this hotel...right on a beautiful beach. The weather was not overly nice but it would have been great fun on a sunny day. The layout and design is beautiful, and the amenities are nice. My only complaint is that the walls were paper thin...so much so that we could hear the person in the room next to us coughing all night. Lots of traffic noise as well. It did put a damper on our stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kikiak246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My Marine son and I enjoyed almost a week away..he is stationed in San Diego, but felt like he was on vacation too! Amazed how driving just a few miles away can seem like a world away! Really nice hotel - easy to find and just minutes from most things. Their restaurant there is awesome too, with tables right on the oceanside! We relaxed and caught up as we sat and ate and watched the endless waves wash on shore! Relaxing and fun! The room was large and comfortable and had everything we needed in it. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Only one night, but it was New Years, and it included dinner and breakfast. That's only one day a year, but it gave me a good view of the place and the food facilities. The hotel is RIGHT ON the Pacific. In fact, our bed was likely not more than 100 feet from the gentle waves. Very nice. The hotel is a tiny bit worn...but the excellent and generous details, great food and very friendly and helpful people make it an excellent place. The beach on New Years was an incredible sight. Dolphin racing past, surfers, kayakers, long distance swimmers, "frogpeople" (there's an underwater park just offshore), happy walkers streaming up the beach...hang gliders to the North, hot aiir baloons, famous Black's Beach (clothing optional) up the shore, charming downtown La Jolla just down the shore, Scripps Institute...yikes. The New Years Eve dinner in the restaurant was really delicious and special...same for breakfast the next morning. Nice little shopping area with beachgoods and food, about 2 blocks away. We had a great time and that was in about 18 hours total.

Room Tip: Ocean view are right on the water...worth the extra dough. The mid- level rooms face the park next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the La Jolla Shores hotel for a business trip. The room was nothing to write home about. I had an interior room with fairly mediocre-to-shabby furnishings. However, the location of the hotel is fabulous since it's right on the beach. The service was also excellent. There was a power outage in the entire area when I arrived (unexpected meeting between an errant truck and an utility pole), and the staff went out of their way to accommodate their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at the La Jolla Shores Hotel for 6 days over the Christmas holiday. The location is really great, with direct access to the beach and lots of attractions close by in La Jolla. From here it only took about 15 minutes to get to downtown San Diego. There are several good restaurants within walking distance, and if you go into La Jolla village (5 minute drive) there are lots more. Staff was excellent and made us feel at home. They brought us cookies and milk on Christmas, which was a big hit with the kids. View was very nice (even though we weren't facing the beach, we had a nice view up the coast, and the park next door). Pool area was very nice. They offer in room DVD players with a complimentary library of movies to check out, which was a hit with our kids. Parking is very convenient, although pricey. Restaurant is good, but also a little pricey, however we didn't mind with so may options close by. Great overall experience!

Room Tip: Rooms with a "coastal view" were very nice...view was good. Honestly, the neighborhood is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our family of four (two children: 6 & 4 years old) had a great stay at the La Jolla Shores Hotel last month. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the front desk staff along with a good restaurant/service with the kids eating for free. Also, the pool was nice, warm and very clean. I'd highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
#19 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#