We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Jolla Shores Hotel on the Pacific Ocean, California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Jolla Shores Hotel on the Pacific Ocean, California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The La Jolla Shores Hotel tucked into the La Jolla was absolutely delightful. The room faced the ocean and in the mornings one woke up to the sound of the ocean roaring. The evenings Pacific sunsets were incredible as the room faced exactly west. The ocean was less than a block away from the Hotel and you could walk to the ocean as well as straight to the hot tub and pool area which was inside the center of the Hotel. The area was very safe to walk around either day or night and security within the hotel was excellent. La Jolla Shores provided a business area right near the Hotel desk which was excellent, as well as provided a lemonade stand day and night.
The restaurant food was delicious using the local produce and seafood, although at times, was slow, usually in the evenings. The staff was super helpful, calling cabs and providing maps and directions upon request. I would highly recommend La Jolla Shores Hotel to families and business travelers alike. I gave it an average sleep quality because the mattresses were extremely hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    174
    54
    32
    20
See reviews for
210
122
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is located directly at the beautiful beach at La Jolla Shores. Close to the few shops and restaurants in the area and a 5 minute drive to downtown La Jolla.
The hotel was somewhat disappointing. The views and large decks are perfect, but the rooms could use some work. They are large, but almost without furniture and everything that is in there feels and looks old and dated. So are the bathrooms, old old old. For the big bucks they are asking I expected a lot more. The restaurant, elevators, stairwells etc have the same dated feeling. The pool area however is well kept and nice.

Tip: park on the street (this is free instead of $16 per night in the garage)

Room Tip: A room with semi- beach view is more affordable and still offers great views. Especially a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As the other reviewers have indicated this hotel has a great location in the La Jolla shores neighbourhood right on the beach. Great for families with small children due to proximity to the beach, playground and the courtyard swimming pool. We stayed at the hotel in October which is when San Diego has Kids for Free month and as a result the children ate breakfast for free in the hotel which was good value. Although we did get out the attractions in San Diego it was also nice to spend a lot of time at the hotel, as there were a lot of other children for our children to play with, DVDs for the kids, ping pong, and fun watching the kayakers, scuba divers, surfers... . My husband particularly enjoyed being able to surf right in front of the hotel as we watched him during breakfast. My only suggestion is that the hotel obtain a few sets of sand toys for their younger patrons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at the La Jolla Shores hotel several times now and it has the best beach front location in La Jolla. The hotel itself is a little dated (I think the last remodel was in 2008) but what it lacks in updating it more than makes up for in service and location. It can get pricey in the summer but the weather stays beautiful and fair almost year round so you can visit any time and enjoy yourself. I highly recommend taking a kayaking tour during your visit - the water here is amazingly calm. There is a public park not far from away where you can picnic, BBQ or use the bonfire pits for s'mores at night. Overall, this is an oldie but a goodie and definately a must visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is at a great location and very pretty. The rooms is a standard hotel room; 2 beds, bathroom, TV, desk. There is however a fairly large balcony overlooking the ocean and park next to it. The room is clean and cute but not fairly luxurious. I would stay here again if I had more time to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

La Jolla Shores Hotel location can't be beat! Right on the beach. Access to neigborhood restaurants including two fine choices within the hotel and nearby Marine Room. The hotel has a laid back quality meaning don't expect a hip, vibrant scene. This is a great place for families and for a couples getaway. We stayed here for my birthday; my spouse and I. Other than the check in experience and the bed, our stay was enjoyable. We requested a specific location and floor but unfortunately our choice was not available when we arrived. We asked to see other choices and selected a coastal view room which was a better deal as it had just been refurbished and had a full kitchen area. The bed, though, needed to be firmer and sagged. We ate at the two restaurants, one of which is a special occasion venue, Marine Room, and were very well treated. The Shores resturant 3 course offer was also very good. Especially the dessert trilogy!

The clerk who checked us in just didn't have the smile and greeting that one expects as the first contact. Hopefully he can be trained to greet guests with a greater sense of welcomeness.

Our room was great and the view very nice.

I still will return.

Room Tip: Request north coastal or ocean front top floor or south facing garden view top floor facing west. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a treat to stay right on the ocean in La Jolla, for a great value, within steps to ocean front action and activities that were family friendly, and for recreation enthusiasts. Having gone to school at San Diego State, I was looking for an relaxed alternative to Pacific Beach and the high density of the whole Mission Beach area, yet close to the attractions of North County and the Mission Bay area. Plus, I wanted to enjoy the proximity of hanging out in La Jolla if I wanted to. I was at the USA Triathlon Coaching conference and didn't want to stay off the beach at a convention hotel, so this was it! The experience of getting up early in the morning, walking out on my balcony and seeing how big the surf was to grab my board and head out was priceless! Plus, waking up to a civil group of people just simply enjoying walking along the beach, getting their wetsuits on to dive, heading out for a kayak experience or paddle boarding was perfect for me. Also, since they are right on the ocean you can have breakfast while the waves are breaking in front of you. Just enough security to allow you in and out access if you forget your sun tan lotion, it took me all of 2 minutes to run back to my room to get something. Overall this is a gem in La Jolla that borders Scripps Institute of Oceanography and the surrounding people and homes are easily those with which I felt comfortable - while jogging or just walking the beach. We had a 2nd floor room facing north - highly recommended if you want the value of being on the beach but not ocean front.

Room Tip: There was a little noise from above our room, people walking, etc. but who cares you want to get up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.