We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your Radio Flyer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Portola Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bring your Radio Flyer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have stayed with LJ Shores three times and I'm sure we'll come back for a fourth. Two parents and two kids are snug but not cramped in the double queen rooms. Put grandparents in an adjoining King+Kitchenette and you have ample space. The restaurant is on the high end for our family with younger kids, but works well for breakfast. There's plenty of eateries within a 2 minute walk.

You can bring a radio flyer wagon full of beach gear straight from your room and out on the beach. The number of affordable hotels right on the beach are easily counted and this is one of them.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drush001, Manager at La Jolla Shores Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Gi Family,
Thank you very much for your positive and kind critique of the La Jolla Shores Hotel. We are thrilled that all three generations of your familiy were able to enjoy your time with us. We look forward to your fourth visit and there will always be room for your Radio Flyer!

Respectfully,

Dennis Rush
Managing Director
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La, Jolla, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    174
    54
    32
    20
See reviews for
210
122
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

It is our first night here and my family can't sleep because we can hear the neighbors do everything from talking, walking, screaming, etc. The location is great but this isn't a hotel for families. I would recommend Coronado if you are looking to relax. The price is about the same and it doesn't seem have these problems. It's too bad since we were really looking forward to staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drush001, Manager at La Jolla Shores Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I wish to thank you for sharing your concerns about your recent stay with us. We agree that we have a wonderful location but it appears that we did not give you the postive experience we wish for all of our guests. I would hope that you would give us another opportunity to make sure that both the location and the ambience match your expectations.

Respectfully

Dennis Rush
Managing Director
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla, CA.
858-551-4659
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Really nice Hotel right on the beach, really nice clean and pool was protected from the cool winds off the water. We stayed there in march 2010 so it was a little cool mid 60's to 70.

what a pretty area. one of the cleanest area's in the US. will come back again


Parking Garage to keep your car safe

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel is right on the beach and that is its greatest feature. The rooms are comfortable, updated, clean. The staff is friendly. We had the most relaxing vacation possible at La Jolla Shores. I will be back.

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff and be patient if your room is not ready
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drush001, Manager at La Jolla Shores Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments about La Jolla Shores Hotel and your very enjoyable vacation. I do hope that we have the opportunity to see you again in the near future for business or pleasure.

Respectfully,

Dennis Rush
Managing Director
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla, CA. 92037
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htwheels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Vacationing oceanfront is one of the best ways we have found to disconnect from the distractions and reconnect as a family. The La Jolla Shores Hotel once again made our stay ideal and memorable. Raul at the front desk was very accomodating and the rest of the staff was friendly and willing to assist. Thanks again for a great stay--our next can't come soon enough.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This hotel is WONDERFUL! I am so glad that we chose it, as it was a great value. The staff is FABULOUS and the resort is beautiful and has been recently renovated. If you ever have the chance to go ask for the 3rd floor...beautiful vaulted ceilings that go along with the LARGE rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Nice relaxed hotel. Pool and spa pools are nice. Beach just out the front. The restuarant and breakfasts are good though avoid the fruit juice at $6 a glass.
Rooms spacious and well equipped with Starbucks filter coffee. The hotel is not glitzy but good base for surfing, diving in the underwater canyons etc.
The Scripps acquarium is nearby in walking distance and you can walk into La Jolla town over the cliffss although there is a short section on dual carriageway. I preferred to stay in Jolla shores. There are some small good quality restaurants as well as the dive/surf shops. All in all a nice relaxing stay. Avoid rooms under the roof as the seagulls make a lot of noise fighting in the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.