We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grande Colonial is the PERFECT intimate wedding venue!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
1 review
“The Grande Colonial is the PERFECT intimate wedding venue!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were looking for an intimate venue for our New Year's Day wedding and we found it at the Grande Colonial! The staff was very personable and worked closely with us to create the perfect experience for both us as a couple and our extended family that stayed at the hotel for the holiday weekend. We enjoyed sitting in front of the fire in the beautiful main lobby on New Year's Eve visiting with family and friends, ordering drinks from the connecting bar, and welcoming in the New Year. We also enjoyed being pampered on our wedding day as we ordered in -room massages and room service before our afternoon ceremony. All details of our ceremony were executed perfectly and the La Jolla room reception venue was divine. Our party enjoyed a wedding dinner, and cake, prepared on site at NINE-TEN. The food maintained the suburb restaurant-quality taste that NINE TEN is known for despite our group size. The rooms in the main hotel were older but well-maintained. The beds and furniture were new and very comfortable! One of our guests stayed in the more modern suites, located on site, and enjoyed a huge picture window with a beautiful view of the ocean, a private lobby, as well as a full kitchen. After our ceremony we were able to walk down the hill to the beach where we had additional wedding photos taken and were congratulated by many of the beaches visitors! We have no complaints. Our wedding weekend was absolutely perfect thanks to the personal attention of the Grande Colonial staff and the beautiful wedding and reception venues at the Grande Colonial La Jolla. We look forward to returning for our 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    242
    85
    26
    13
See reviews for
228
406
36
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Friendly service. accomdating for all dining requests and fine wine,
Excellant food.
Looking forward to going back.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I recently organized a business meeting at the Grande Colonial. Their Executive Meeting Specialist gave fabulous recommendations for the dinner menu and was extremely helpful with organizing the event. Even with all the changes I made to the event order and room reservations, the Grande Colonial staff was extremely patient and understanding. When I went to visit the hotel, I found it to be extremely charming and welcoming. I didn't get a chance to have dinner there, but I heard from a colleague that the food was outstanding. I highly recommend the Grande Colonial Hotel!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We recently held a small, three day workshop at The Grande Colonial. The service we received from the hotel was nothing short of spectacular. From organizing the workshop, making on-the-fly adjustments to improve the event, to maximizing the value of our contracted food and beverage minimums, the sales and catering departments were efficient, friendly, and attentive.

Our attendees loved the character of the hotel, it's proximity to the ocean, and the quality of the food and drink.

Given our experience, we plan to make the workshop an annual event at The Grande Colonial.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Went with my hubby for our anniversary. It was very romantic, clean, and modern. We absolutely loved the NINETEN restaurant of the hotel. Their prixe fix menu was outstanding. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I put together a group of 15 rooms for a weekend gathering. The Grande Colonial staff was expert at helping facilitate all airport transfers and events. The guests all felt pampered and happy with the hotel. The bar is a fun place to hang out. The restaurant is excellent and has and excellent atmosphere. The pool is lovely and makes for a nice afternoon. I recommend the Grande Colonial!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed here for a meeting with colleagues in September. What a great place. The hotel is perfectly situated in La Jolla and it seemed like they had recently put some money into it. My room was kind of old-school classy with oversized couches and chairs. They had to put in the big furniture or the room would of looked empty...it was HUGE! What I really loved is the windows opened up so you could hear the ocean at night, and could take advantage of that wonderful sea air. We ate most all of our meals onsite...I wish it would of been every meal. The food was spectacular...creative and delicious. During our meetings, if we needed anything, they were there to help. This is a great hotel and I'll definitely be back with family in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.