We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

My wife and I visited La Jolla for the first time from 5/12 - 5/16. In searching for a hotel, I was tempted to take the safe route and choose one of the "big chains" where I was confident the rooms would be clean and hotel management would be responsible. I would have missed out on a great hotel if I had done that! We had a partial oceanview room which had a nice patio attached along with the typical amenities. It was clean and average size for a hotel room (20'X20'?). The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful in guiding us around the area on our explorations. I think the location is about as good as it gets in La Jolla as it is near all the shopping and restaurants and about 2 blocks from the ocean and the sea lion hang-out. You certainly will pay a little more for the location and quality of the hotel, but I recommend doing it. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at the NINE-TEN too!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    243
    85
    26
    13
See reviews for
228
406
36
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island,NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

We had an oceanview room in the colonial suites building and it was just wonderful. It was a suite with loads of space. The hotel is in a great location, is spotless and is beautifully done-no glitz! The valet fellas are great and front desk just as good. I did not see another hotel I'd rather stay at. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Colonial for 5 days in April. It is a lovely historical hotel with a fabulous location. The wonderful stores on Girard Street are right outside the door, and La Jolla Cove is right down the street where you can walk for a mile along a beautiful paved path along the shores of the Pacific Ocean. The lobby is lovely with fresh flowers each day. The carpet is a bit tired and some of the walls are in need of fresh paint; but overall, it is a real find.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

Visited with the family, kids- 6, 8, 10 years old. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. A class act. We took connecting ocean view rooms which gave lots of space but made the trip pricey especially with the addition of valet parking (necessary) and breakfast (not included). You can, however, get a fridge in the room. The service was friendly and accomodating. The kids went swimming in the heated pool everyday (too small for laps but great for kids to splash around). We really loved the short walk to La Jolla Coves and beach with many seals to see. Hotel is close to all attractions and great restaurants in close proximity.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkspur
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

Despite a first class restaurant, friendly and professional staff, and excellent location, we were a little disappointed with this hotel. The room was badly in need of refurbishment, and the bathroom was tiny. Had it not been for the oceanfront view, we would have asked for another room. Apparently, it was just as well we did't, because - we later learned - most rooms looked equally tired. (At over $200 per night there should be more than one chair.)

The hotel is in the process of expansion, and my guess is that this is currently where all their capital is going. Anyway, the next time we're in La Jolla, we'll probably try one of the hotels in the same general area, but not necessarily directly on Prospect St., which seems to command an inordinate premium.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

I spent five nights at the Grande Colonial and my stay was the highlight of a two week vacation. I booked a king bed with a village view, but upon check in received a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite. The suites are located in a separate building just behind the main building and alongside the pool. The suite was spacious and well-appointed. It had a medium sized living room with TV, easy chair, sofa and coffee table; small bedroom area with a king bed; large dressing room with sink, walk-in closet, and lots of cabinets (a mini-fridge was in one of the cabinets); and small bathroom. The furniture was a bit dated, but the Grande Colonial is a historic property on the National Register of Historic Places. The furniture added to the ambiance and I felt as if I were Joan Crawford staying in a well-appointed hotel suite in the 1950s. The bed was unusually comfortable and I slept soundly each night and during several afternoon naps. I had breakfast twice at the hotel's Nine-Ten Restaurant and the food was fresh and perfectly prepared. Portions were generous. The Grande Colonial is perfectly situated in La Jolla and there are many shopping and dining choices located nearby. I fell in love with the Grande Colonial and I am eager to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2006

This hotel is newly refurbished with old world charm and the best beds that we have ever slept in. Bathrooms were a little on the small side but this is to be expected in an old building. Had a problem with the noisy aircon, but this was fixed immediately. We would love to stay here again. Couldn't be bothered hassling with finding a parking spot so paid the US$16 a day and it was worth it. Great location to beach and restaurants. Go to the Coffee Cup for the best breakfast you will ever have!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.