We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grande Colonial exceeded our expectations in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Guymon, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Grande Colonial exceeded our expectations in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

After trying to find the perfect hotel for my husband and I to celebrate our 24th anniversary, I found the Grande Colonial online. I called the hotel directly, explaining that we are landlocked in the Oklahoma panhandle, and a wonderful room with an ocean view was especially important to us. When the taxi dropped us off, we could immediately tell we had made a good choice in the Grande Colonial; however, we never dreamed how fantastic our room would really be! We had a Junior King Suite with Ocean View and that IS exactly what we had! We could lay in bed and look out the window at the beautiful view! The room itself was modern with just a touch of a bed and breakfast feel, which we loved! Every staff member we came in contact with was pleasant and helpful. The hotel location is right in the middle of all the shops and restaurants and just a pleasant stroll to the ocean. We had the perfect La Jolla experience, thanks to the Grande Colonial!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    218
    81
    25
    12
See reviews for
210
368
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Some of our family got together for my daughter's beach wedding and rented three rooms at the Grande Colonial. We all made a long weekend of it and everyone very much enjoyed our stay. The friendliness of the hotel staff is outstanding and the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. This hotel is also within easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shopping. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in LaJolla, and can't say enough about how much our family enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I arrived at the hotel to discover we had been upgraded to a room with an ocean view - we were in heaven! We kept the windows open all night falling asleep to the waves crashing on the beach . . .

We had breakfast in bed every morning and it was great - tasted fanastic and was at the room quickly. We also ate dinner at 9/10 one evening - the service was fantastic and, while the food was good, I have definitely eaten at nicer restaurants that were not as pricey. Not sure that I would recommend eating there to anyone however . . .

We ate at the Italian restaurant down the street (begins with a "V") and it was wonderful - nice view of the village. We also had dinner at The Crab Catcher and had a wonderful view of the ocean. The food and service was outstanding at both places.

I felt very safe and comfortable in La Jolla and at the Grande Colonial hotel. There was a little noise but that is to be expected when you are in the middle of the village with lots of activity going on.

The valet parking was a plus but do they really need to charge $22 a day??? That is a little excessive - plus the tip everytime they bring your car around! It was nice not to have to worry about parking though so I won't complain too much :)

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to my friends - in fact I have already done so!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in May 2009. We had a suite in the Little Hotel By The Sea part of the hotel and were taken there in a golf buggy!

Our room was amazing. The bedroom was large and stylish and clean. The bathroom was a little small but well stocked and the shower was lovely.

The lounge was the one pictured in the main photo on this site and it was the only one with the spectacular seaview.

I believe there are 6 suites in the Little Hotel and it even has it's own lift and a roof terrace.

The kitchenette was well stocked and the minibar had FREE drinks and snacks which was a bonus.

We also had free internet access.

We had to pay for the valet but it was $20 and well worth it.

We ate in the 9-10 restaurant which was fabulous.

The staff at the hotel were great.

Didn't use the pool as the weather was a bit cold but it looked nice and clean.

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough - if we ever went back to La Jolla we would stay there again and we don't normally return to the same hotel so that's saying something.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosLorenzos, Director of Marketing at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
Dear Jordache1...on behalf of our entire staff, thank you very much for your very kind comments about your recent stay at the Grande Colonial Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your suite in the Little Hotel by the Sea wing. I do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future. Meanwhile, thank you again and enjoy your memories of La Jolla. Best regards,
Leslie Araiza
Director of Marketing
Grande Colonial Hotel
laraiza@gclj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

While looking for a venue for our Daughter's graduation luncheon...I was fortunate to stop by the Grande Colonial. Benny the Doorman convinced us to stop and take a tour of the newly renovated property. After visiting with a patient and very heplful staff, our decision was made. Fast forward to this May. Everything was perfect! Suite in the Little Hotel by the Sea, luncheon in the LaJolla Room, the rooms our friends and family occupied...I could not have asked for a more perfect weekend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Grande Colonial for the occasion of our wedding. It was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had. The level of customer service demonstrated by everyone from the parking attendants to the front desk staff was far superior to any other hotel we have ever been to. We are looking forward to coming back next year to celebrate our anniversary! Unfortunately, everywhere else we stay from now on is always going to pale in comparison to the Grande Colonial.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We spent three nights at the Grande Colonial as part of a trip to Southern California and enjoyed our stay. It is very close to lots of restaurants and shops, and also a very short walk to the coast for seeing seals and lovely scenery. Not the best place for going to the beach to swim though, and the pool is only 3 feet deep all around (my daughter complained). We booked a standard 2Q room but were told we were upgraded. It was a wonderfully large room, but unfortunately located on the main street right about the hotel's entrance. It did make for us hearing noise (people talking more so than car noise), but not so bad it was a problem. (Old hotel = thin walls). The bathroom only had a pedestal sink so not much room to put anything, and shower head was kind of short for tall people. There was a large vanity area in the room itself which was nice. Could have used a mini refrig in there, there was plenty of room. The room seemed stuffy at times, but we had a big window and would open it for fresh air or turn on the overhead fan. Never used the a/c. Service was good, although we're not normally into using valet parking, etc. Valet parking was prompt, doormen courteous, desk people pleasant, housekeeping good. We did have a problem with the whole ice/water thing. I read that they would provide ice and complimentary water for you by calling the front desk, so I did. The desk told me they would forward the request to the restaurant and all went well that night. The next time I figured I should just call the restaurant/room service directly (avoiding the middleman) but this time I was charged $12 + tip for a bottle of water and two glasses of ice! Call the front desk if you want ice!! My husband ended up finding the machine somewhere in the lower lobby the last night. himself. We were forgotten one night for turndown service, but only a big deal because everyone wanted their chocolates! Towels, robes, bedding, etc were all wonderful, and the bed was VERY comfortable. There were a few games provided in the hotel lobby which is great with kids. We didn't go to the restaurant despite great reviews, it didn't seem very kid friendly. The elevator was a bit slow but never a problem. I don't think the hotel was too crowded while we were there though.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.