We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, first rate dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, first rate dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent several nights at the hotel while in the area for our daughter's graduation. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the service was first rate, and the location ideal. But the real gem here is the restaurant. I know it's easy to overlook the restaurant at the hotel where you're staying (after all, it is hotel food, right)? Don't make that mistake. We had one of the more memorable meals in a lifetime of traveling. We had several great dining experiences in the area, but the chef here really is something special. If you find yourself in La Jolla, even if you're staying elsewhere, do yourself a favor and have at least one dinner here!

Room Tip: The courtyard suites are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Tom: Let me first congratulate you on your daughter's graduation. Quite an accomplishment. Congrats! And thank you for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during your visit. I'm thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to dine at NINE-TEN Restaurant. It's definitely not your "typical hotel restaurant". In fact, our Chef Jason Knibb was just awarded last week San Diego's 2014 "Chef of the Year" by the California Restaurant Association. We couldn't be more proud to have him at the helm of the kitchen. I hope you will have the opportunity to come back and visit again soon. Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    218
    81
    25
    12
See reviews for
210
368
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Grande Colonial. Our room was lovely. We had both a garden/pool view and a wonderful view of the ocean. We had a large comfortable chair in our room next to the windows. Every morning I would sit in that chair with the windows open, reading and listening to the ocean. Those mornings were the most relaxed I have been in many years. I truly appreciated the tranquility. Housekeeping was very thorough and helpful. My daughter lost her glasses while we were there and they pulled out the mattress to find them for her.

Kelly at the Front Desk was especially helpful. The valet service was excellent. Matt and Benny were quick, friendly and helpful. The restaurant was wonderful as well. I would highly recommend breakfast. While we were there the seasonal special was Lemon Ricotta Pancakes. They were delightful. I would also recommend the short rib hash for breakfast. I had it twice! It was delicious. Room service was quick and efficient.

The location is good. Short walking distance to beaches,other restaurants, galleries and shops. I-5 is easily accessed. We found The Grande Colonial to be a great "home base" for the many different locations we wanted to visit.

Bottom line. If you are in the area- stay at the The Grande Colonial. It may be a little more than I would like to pay for a hotel but you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We had the Ocean View Junior Suite King. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear KMS07: It sounds as if you and your daughter had a very nice and memorable trip to La Jolla. I thank you for choosing the Grande Colonial as your home base. I appreciate your very comprehensive review covering everything from our helpful staff, efficient housekeeping and delicious food (those lemon ricotta pancakes are one of my favorite dishes). I’m also glad you pointed out the screen less windows that open in each room allowing you to enjoy the fresh ocean breezes. It’s not something you can experience in most hotels. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After an arduous work week, our family decided it was time to go on a weekend getaway. This last minute get away and this hotel was a shot in the dark. We hadn't traveled with our 5 month old yet. The Little Hotel by the Sea could not have worked out better . The room included a fridge and stove such (a plus since we weren't sure how we were going to feed the smallest of our family.) The 12 year old was a happy camper to know that boogie boards were available to borrow and the beach was a walk away! Fantastic service, courteous and knowledgeable staff. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Blanca1900: As the father of three (now grown) boys, I remember what it's like to travel with small children -- most times being last minute getaways thrown together in a rush. Happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your family for your last minute trip. You couldn't have picked a better room. The suites in our Little Hotel by the Sea wing are ideal for families given they do have full kitchens. And being only a block from the seals at the Children's Pool and the beach, it's the ideal location for the kids! I see you are just "up the street" in Los Angeles. Given your proximity, I hope you'll have the chance to plan more spontaneous trips with the family. What a better place to create traditions than at the Grande Colonial. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
1,167 helpful votes 1,167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

There is so many good things to say about the GC,
Starting with location, a really lovelly spot in the best part of La Jolla, the rooms are great ( at least 506, our room was !) The staff are nearly all wonderful, the hotel overall exudes both quality and a certain European style of refinement........ but oh those breakfasts !
Salmon and bagel 10 out of 10
Granola and berries / fruit 10 out of 10
Pancakes 10 out of 10
Yoghurt 10 out of 10
I could go on, but I am sure you get the picture!

The GC perfectly met our needs.

Room Tip: 506 is a great room (photo attached) with a lovely ocean view, it's worth the extra for thr ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Wulfie - I couldn't be more pleased to read your review about your recent stay at the Grande Colonial. So happy that you enjoyed our location, historic charm and, most importantly, our friendly staff. I'm also glad you had the opportunity to dine at NINE-TEN Restaurant. It's one of the best in town and we thank you very much for giving us so many "10's"!!!! Hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalasia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A few things from a yuppie perspective...

1. Location was great -- went to a nearby cooking class, good shopping/restaurants, great beach walks, etc. Hubs loved that Torrey Pines was close.
2. Staff was super friendly/helpful--this was fantastic. I felt like these people were actually nice!
3. Rooms are a bit dated and mine had some allergen that made me sneeze; I took some meds and it wasn't bad but furnishings may need a redux.
4. Bar and drinks are great but food is not. Brunch portions were rather lacking and better brunch is super close by at the Cottage, PrepKitchen, etc. Wish we hadn't gotten lazy that last day!
5. The common spaces are small, especially the pool. Both days we had to wait for some spots to open by the pool (there's only around 15 chairs). And the smallish terrace had a private party on it Sunday morning, meaning we couldn't hang there. For a hotel with common areas that small, they probably shouldn't be booking the common spaces for private parties.

Would definitely come back though! And perhaps the lack of pool space meant fewer kids and that's always a plus!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear jj427: Let me start by saying thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is only through the comments we receive from our guests that we can continue to improve our services and amenities. I am happy to hear how delightful our staff was during your stay. We take great pride in providing warm, gracious and genuinely friendly service and I'm happy that came through during your stay. I'm sorry to read your comments about our Sunday Brunch. I will certainly review the menu with our chef and see if we can't add a little more variety to it. Unfortunately, in regard to the size of our pool, there isn't much we can do about that. Being a historic property (101 years old), larger resort-size pools just weren’t in fashion back then and space for added recreation just doesn't exist. But I thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here last week 5/7/14 and it was just wonderful. The staff was so lovely and helpful. The concierge recommend a little Italian restaurant up the street (La Taverna) and took us over on the hotels golf cart- we walked back because it was such a nice night and so close. This hotel is in the perfect location. You can walk to everything (we came to see the seals). Thank you so much for such a fun wonderful stay:) xo

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear PollyMc3 - I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit, particularly since you traveled across country for a vacation. Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad you had a chance to dine in the Village and take advantage of our transportation offer. Although you can indeed walk everywhere in the Village, some like to ride without bell/valet staff and learn a little more about the local sights. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Grande Colonial in August 2013 with our two teenagers, ages 15 and 17. The property is beautifully decorated, with quite an interesting history behind it. The front desk and valet staff are incredible. Any need is taken care of immediately, with a smile. The hotel does not have "on property" parking, but there was a link on Trip Advisor that we used to waive the $25/night parking fee (the hotel contracts with a nearby office building for use of their garage). Getting our car in and out was a breeze - tipping highly recommended. When I accidentally left my cell phone in the car one evening, they were more than happy to go look for it for me. Our trip was a last minute idea, and as such, there were August "back to school" specials. Made the cost quite attractive.

The hotel is a short block to the water, where you can swim, watch sea lions, and just people watch. If you are going to one of the beaches down the coast, you can check out beach towels and umbrellas from the front desk. We spent one day at Del Mar beach, and it was wonderful. Arranged for our teenagers to take a one-hour surfing lesson from the same place that we rented wet suits for them. As we are from Houston, they nearly froze without the wetsuits -- well worth the few dollars for the daily rental from a vendor on the beach.

My husband and I dined at the NineTen restaurant for our anniversary (the kids were on their own…) and the food was wonderful. A little noisy, but didn't take away from the experience. There are numerous great places to each for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner within walking distance.

The beds were very comfortable, with extra pillows available. As the property was constructed some time ago, the bathrooms are spacious, and there were 2 closets in our room. Each room is likely to be slightly different, as the hotel was constructed during three separate time frames.

Great, relaxing experience. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the water, which was great for sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Kathleen - as they say, better late than never. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Grande Colonial last summer. You chose a wonderful time to visit us, as 2013 was our Centennial year celebration so we had a lot of great things to promote our history going on. You also picked the perfect time to visit when many are already back in school. So while the weather is still picture perfect, the beaches are much less crowded. Thank you for pointing out our valet staff and our "free parking promotion". That offer is still available to those finding us right here on Trip Advisor. And, lastly, I'm glad you had a chance to experience NINE-TEN. Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion as your anniversary with us! We hope you will have the chance to come back and visit again soon. Best regards, Terrence Underwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.