We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historical gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“historical gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Grande Colonial in late January. What a lovely well maintained historic hotel, perfectly situated to enjoy everything La Jolla has to offer. The staff could not have been nicer, starting with our complimentary upgrade at check in. The suite was immaculate, the bed luxurious. Thank you, Grande Colonial...We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear MovieFan47:
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit. I'm glad to hear how much you enjoyed our historic charm. We just ended what was our Centennial year celebration so we're now moving on to the next 100 years of our history! I hope to see you back soon. Thanks again, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    280
    95
    29
    14
See reviews for
278
475
38
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Little Inn for two days. Really loved the location, everything was within walking distance. Room was very comfortable and the complimentary snacks and drinks were a nice touch. We would definitely stay at this Hotel again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Claire: I'm delighted to hear how happy you were with your recent visit from Canada. I'm happy you had the opportunity to experience the suites located in our Little Hotel by the Sea wing. With their extra space, full kitchens and fireplaces, they provide the ideal getaway for those looking for a peaceful respite. And their location one block from the Pacific can't be beat. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate it. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for three nights over a long weekend vacation in January. The hotel is very centrally located, close to all the hot spots in La Jolla and a short drive to Torrey Pines, Pacific beach, Mission beach, etc. We can't say enough about the attentive staff, especially our buddies out front who were always eager to help us, talk to us about where we were going for the day or had been. A great first impression for anyone visiting this hotel. Everthing was awesome, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear bdog970: I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to La Jolla and your stay at the Grande Colonial...particularly your experiences with our staff. I'm a little biased but we have some of the finest people working for us, starting at the front door. I'm so glad to hear that our commitment to providing first-class service came through during your stay. I hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and just loved it. The location is awesome - central and close to everything. We walked along the ocean everyday. Staff are gracious and accommodating. We discovered their London Cab on our last night - they took us to our restaurant and back - no charge. Our first night we had a Village View room, and it was a bit noisey. So we asked for a room change and they put us in a Garden Room - just loved the gas fireplace and small kitchen tucked away at the front door. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Our first night was on the 5th floor of the Village Vew side and it was a bit noisey. They moved us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Linda -
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit. I'm so glad to hear that our staff took care of you when the room you had originally been assigned didn't meet your expectations. Our Garden Suites are indeed delightful and provide a little more space and privacy than the rooms in the main building (not to mention a cozy fireplace and full kitchen). I hope you will be back sooner than later. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel made me happy! We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the ocean and it was just bliss. The room was really lovely (I loved the colours and decor!), very comfortable with a decent bathroom too. The bed is fabulous as are the duck down pillows. I find it a bit strange that many American hotels don't have a fridge or mini bar and it would have been perfect to have had fresh milk and be able to make a cup of tea.
All the staff we dealt with we're charming, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar on 2 evenings and if we hadn't decided on particular restaurants to eat at, we would have been happy to eat here as the busy atmosphere proved it a popular spot. I do hope we can come again and we fallen in love with La Jolla and just loved staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Foodie16: Your review made me as happy as our hotel made you! I am so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I'm very pleased that you were more than satisfied with our accommodations, despite the fact that we didn't have a small refrigerator for you. (Perhaps on your next trip, you can stay in one of our extended stay suites. Each does come equipped with a full kitchen.) I thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and hope to see you back on your next trip from the UK. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for an event a couple years ago and when a family trip took us back to the La Jolla area last month, we knew that The Grande Colonial was where we wanted to stay again. The location is fantastic, the hotel is beautiful, and the service in all areas was excellent. We had a large group of around 20 people, and the staff at the front desk, the restaurant, the valets, etc., were all incredibly helpful and patient with us. A part of the seatbelt mechanism in my car got stuck one day and when we ran into the hotel's engineer and asked if he had a tool we could borrow, he did us one better and personally helped fix the problem! I also ended up leaving a piece of clothing in our room and when I realized it a couple hours after checking out, the staff promptly located the item and it was mailed back to me at lightning speed. I can't say enough good things about our stay and how the staff really goes above and beyond for their guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear AES2014 - Reading your review made me smile. For one reason and one reason alone: our number one goal is to provide exceptional service at all levels to our guests and it sounds as if we accomplished that in your case. I am thrilled to hear how our staff went above and beyond to assist you with your personal needs and thank you very much for taking the time to point this out in your review. Now that you've been here twice, we will look forward to seeing you on your next visit. No need to say "third time is a charm"...sounds as if one and two were, as well. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great Holiday stay at the Little Hotel by the Sea during Christmas week to visit some family. I will hopefully stay in the same place and request room 231 for the same time next year. My cleaning girl was great. I just wondered if they have to pool their tips b/c I wanted to make sure I was tipping a specific person who did a wonderful job. It was quiet enough, but yet busy enough for anything you might want to do in LaJolla. People complain about the seal smell, but I think they just need to step back and appreciate the wonders of Mother Nature b/c it's truly amazing. LaJolla is one of the more picturesque places in CA. There is so much to do there. I have been to CA mant times but this was the first time I visited the Scripps Birch Aquarium so be sure to check it out!!

Room Tip: Loved my room in The Little Hotel by the Sea annex building which is part of the Grande Colonial Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Goldielocks20 -
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent visit to La Jolla and to the Grande Colonial. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly your suite in the Little Hotel by the Sea wing. The 8 suites offered in that building provide the perfect retreat and are just a hop, skip and jump from the Children's Pool where the seals frolic. (I appreciate you bringing up the "smell" that some people say exists...the City of San Diego has already made significant changes to alleviate any smell and will continue to do so. So not even an issue.) Anyway, thanks again for choosing us as your destination for your trip to La Jolla. See you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#18 of 25 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.