We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times and never been disappointed. But try to get a room on the adjacent grounds as opposed to the hotel itself. While "apart" from the hotel proper, the rooms are great and more secluded. And this hotel is SO convenient to ALL of the shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Dan -
It's always nice to hear from our repeat guests. I thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I'm also delighted to read your comments about the suites in the two adjacent wings. Like our rooms in the main building, these suites share a timeless elegance and sophistication...not to mention fireplaces and full kitchens. And for those guests planning extended stays, the suites provide an extra measure of space and privacy. Glad you enjoyed them. Look forward to seeing you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    246
    87
    28
    13
See reviews for
234
417
36
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed a recent three night visit to La Jolla and the Grande Colonial was a big reason we had a great time. The hotel is beautiful and the 910 bar and restaurant make for a great breakfast and late night (for La Jolla) spot on site. Great location for walking the area. Quiet room and well supplied - we enjoyed a room with kitchenette which made for additional comforts. The best attribute has to be the staff. To a person, they are friendly, attentive and knowledgeable of the area. In particular, Kimmie, Lynelle and Kelly at the front desk deserve special recognition. Unparalleled customer service is clearly their goal and they hit all their marks. Very enjoyable and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Kitchenette rooms away from main building are quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JPHokie_79:
Thank you very much for you kind remarks about the hotel. I'm so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit, particularly your recognition of our front desk staff. I will be sure to share your nice comments with the individuals you've mentioned. We look forward to having you back on a future visit to La Jolla. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Food, facility and service for the meeting were top notch. Excellent service from everyone throughout the stay! Room was pleasantly big and comfortable. Beautiful architectural details you would expect from a century-old building without crimping on cleanliness or comfort.

Room Tip: Rm 305 is a corner suite. Very large and comfortable for family or entertaining. Windows on two si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear track77: Thanks for the review you posted on Trip Advisor about your recent stay (and meeting). Overall, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am also happy to read you comment about the windows and fresh ocean breezes. We are one of the few hotels I know of where you can actually open the window and get that fresh, ocean air. So many of our guests appreciate that. Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to having you back for business or for pleasure. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We liked the atmosphere and service in general.

What made very special was the fact that one of the couples we met there (from San Francisco) were a friendly couple into "the lifestyle" and we had a super fun night the 4 of us.

Good times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Falko D:
Really happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and that you even made some new friends while visiting La Jolla. Perhaps you will all come back next year and meet up for a reunion. Our doors remain open to you! Hope to see you back from Buenos Aires soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

First, I can't say enough about the professional, helpful and friendly staff at The Grande Colonial. I recently planned an event there for my husband's 60th birthday party, and I couldn't be happier with all aspects of the experience.

1) Hotel Accommodations: We had friends and family who came in from out of town, many of whom stayed at the G.C., and we heard nothing but favorable reviews...everything from "nicely decorated rooms" and "nice views" to "a good value."

2) The Event Venue: We had a cocktail reception style party for 32 people in the "La Jolla Room," which is a lovely, intimate venue. During the set-up time, I had a few special requests, and the staff all worked to make the room exactly how I wanted it, and they did it cheerfully.

3) The Event Food: Our party was catered by the restaurant in the hotel called Nine-Ten. We have been to Nine-Ten many other times for dinners or happy hours, and we've always loved the food, so it was no surprise that the food at the event was exceptional. I decided to have the cake done by Nine-Ten's pastry chef. I expected it to be good, but I cannot tell you how many people came up to me afterwards to ask me where I got the cake, and how delicious it was (moist, not too sweet, amazing, etc.).

4) The Event Staff: First, there was a lovely "point person" (Mitsy) available throughout the event that I could talk to about any concerns or additional needs. Additionally, there were staff members passing food on trays, a chef at the carving station, and a great bartender. I felt like the party attendees were all very well served and taken care of, and everyone was professional and friendly---very top-notch.

Bottom line: I think if I had to sum up my experience, I would have to say that each person I dealt with--from the Catering Manager (Cameron) to the guys setting up the tables and A/V--acted like they had a vested interest in making my event truly memorable. I think that speaks volumes, since they undoubtedly do many, many events. They made my feel like mine was just as important than any other.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Cheryl P - Wow is all I can say. I really enjoyed reading your review about your recent experience at the Grande Colonial. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your husband's milestone birthday with us here in La Jolla. It sounds as if everything went off without a hitch...from your room accommodations, to the event set up, the food & beverages and our staff. I will pass along your feedback to Mitzy and Cameron and thank you for singling them out. Seeing as you are in La Jolla, we all hope to see you back soon and often...if nothing more, dining at NINE-TEN. Thanks again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Grande many times, and have enjoyed our rooms. This trip, however, we had a room in the front of the hotel. The air-conditioning vents were covered in what looked like mold, and by morning, I had terrible allergy symptoms. In addition, the noise from the street at night was ridiculously load and rude (Friday night above Nine-Ten).
The next night we were moved to the other side of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and the view, as always, was great. I highly recommend booking the ocean-view rooms in advance.

Room Tip: I highly recommend booking the ocean-view rooms in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Zfamilyvacations: Allow me to begin by thanking you for your continued patronage over the years. We always enjoy welcoming back our repeat guests. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your guest room. Please know that the air conditioning vent is being looked into immediately and any issues will be resolved right away. I also apologize about the street noise issues but am happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your room change request. We value your continued support of our hotel and do hope you will be back soon. Thank you for taking the time to bring you comments to my attention. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I went with my husband and son to the Grande Colonial for a long birthday weekend. The service was very friendly and efficent and the rooms were nice. Great location! We ate 3 times at their restaurant 9/10 because we loved the food and wine list ...(for a serious calorie splurge -try the doughnuts).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear NYC_Southerner2013 – Happy belated birthday. So happy you were able to celebrate your day here in La Jolla. I trust the weather was beautiful (as it has consistently been for months), since you traveled all the way from DC. I’m also thrilled that you were able to experience NINE-TEN. Yes, I am biased but it is truly one of the best dining experiences in the region (just take a look at our press accolades). Please do come back and see us again soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.