We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
den haag
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel has style, a perfect location, wonderful rooms, practical valet parking, but this hoytel stands out in particular for his excellent service. I had made a mistake by booking the reservation, but I got help from a excellent front service, Jessica Sagar and her colleagues. It gave an extra dimension to our stay at Grande Colonial.

Room Tip: the suite with view o the ocean and very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear DenHaagAnoniem:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that our staff took such great care of you and were able to handle any issues you might have experienced. I hope to see you back in the area soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    218
    81
    25
    13
See reviews for
210
368
29
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I recently got married in San Diego, and chose the Grande Colonial as the primary hotel for our family and friends over the long weekend of festivities. This, hands down, was one of the best decisions we made in the entire wedding planning process.
The location, of course, can't be beat. The views from the hotel rooms, and the easy walking distance to all that La Jolla Village has to offer, were priceless. We reserved the entire building of suites known as "Little Hotel by the Sea" for our closest relatives to stay in all weekend. This meant we had full access to the rooftop lounge and stunning deck overlooking the Pacific. Truly stunning. Our friends and family were blown away. They raved about the accommodations. A number of friends and family also stayed in the main hotel building, and all reported fantastic stays.
Furthermore, the entire staff, including and especially Lauren Darmody (sales manager), were superb. They treated us so well, and were a real pleasure to work with. We even received a beautiful treat delivered to our suite the night of our wedding. Kind gestures and little details made our stay so enjoyable. Everyone from the valets to the housecleaning staff, front desk attendants and waiters at Sunday brunch were stellar. By the way, the food at the hotel restaurant Nine-Ten is fantastic. Rave reviews from family who stayed for brunch on Sunday.
All in all, we could not have asked for a more perfect wedding weekend, and the staff at the Grande Colonial played a big part in making us feel stress-free and well taken care of. I would highly recommend this hotel to any other couples searching for wedding weekend hotels for their nearest and dearest. Thank you Grande Colonial!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Shannon -
Let me first congratulate you on your recent nuptials. Needless to say, we are grateful you chose to make us a part of such a special, memorable day and we wish you and your spouse a long and happy life together. I am very happy to read your comprehensive review. I'm also happy to hear you took advantage of the suites in the Little Hotel by the Sea wing. Offering a total of 8 suites (and the ocean-view, rooftop deck), these suites are ideal for wedding parties and families traveling together for special occasions. They provide a little extra living space and privacy, as well as fully equipped kitchens and fireplaces. So glad you enjoyed them. Perhaps we will see you back for your one-year wedding anniversary. Meanwhile, thank you for your kind remarks. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent three nights at the Grande Colonial. Had a "partial" ocean view that was really pretty good for the money. Staff were all very friendly. The rooms are older, but hey, the hotel was built in 1913. It's been updated and we did not hear our neighbors much, if at all. They had a wedding going on at the time and we didn't hear that either. Located in downtown La Jolla with plenty of good shops and places to eat nearby. We though the 25 dollar per day valet parking was a bit steep until we found that you can't park in La Jolla without it. All in all a great place that we will definitely come back to.

Room Tip: Room 521 has a nice view of the ocean and you can see up the main drag of Prospect street from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Matt -
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grande Colonial during your recent visit from Oregon to La Jolla. I appreciate your positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor. I hope you'll have an opportunity to return to San Diego soon and that you will choose to stay with us again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I took our two kids here on a recent weekend getaway. The staff was EXTREMELY courteous and so friendly from the bell hop to receptionist area to house keeping to room service. We will be coming back again for sure. The hotel was in a great location and we walked everywhere not needing our car once.

Room Tip: We chose a suite since we have two kids and it was an ocean view corner room that was quite big and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks Wyattnoah, for your kind comments about your recent visit. We pride ourselves on our warm, gracious and genuinely friendly staff and I'm happy to hear that came through during your stay. Hope to see you back from the desert soon.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylmar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I like staying here, the hotel room and bathrooms were really clean. they turned down your room every night. they honored the do not disturb sign. Close to the ocean and la jolla village.
Front desk was very accommodating. never gave us a problem with our special request in using the drop off and pick service from bell desk. everyone was cheerful and very nice. I would definitely return. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Erma A:
I am happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us here at the Grande Colonial. It sounds as if you might be a repeat customer. If so, I thank you for your continued support. I appreciate your comments about our staff and the service they provided and am happy they were able to accommodate your requests. We look forward to having you back again soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in rm 137 which is a garden terrace suite. It was separate from the main hotel building so we had a full kitchen and windows on 3 sides. There was an ocean view from the large kitchen window. Room also had a gas fireplace, a huge bathroom and a comfy bed. We had our 17 month old with us and there was plenty of room for her pack-n-play and jogging stroller in the room. We were just a block from the oceanfront Scripps Park and La Jolla Cove. We used the valet parking the first couple of days, but then realized that we were able to find street parking on Jenner Street which is right by the gate that you can use to get into the terrace that connects the garden terrace rooms without having to go through the main hotel. We loved the room and the location and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Jaxbch3: I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying in suite #137. It is only one of 18 of our "extended-stay" suites, located in two separate wings from the main building. Since opening these suites in 2007, we have found them to be a great place for families needing a little more space or those traveling for extended periods of time. Each does come equipped with a full kitchen. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My Wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Grande and the service and ambiance of this Hotel made our weekend better than we could have expected. We live in San Diego but neither of us have ever stayed at the Grande so we decided to do a Staycation at the Grande due to its great central location to many top notch restaurants and beautiful beaches. The hotel really makes you feel special from the moment you park and are greeted by the Bell Boys to the time you check out. I have to say that the Chef and Staff at their restaurant, Nine-Ten, knocked it out of the park with dishes that I can't even pronounce but tasted and looked like works of art. Make sure to ask for terrace seating for sunset dinner. Our room had a great view of the ocean and allowed for a nice wind to come through. My only negative would be a small one but, the room could feel a little small, however; if you read about the history of this hotel, you will understand the size of the rooms. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Higher floors with ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear RadarMD:
First off, congratulations on your wedding anniversary. Thank you for choosing to spend your milestone celebration with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. While you didn't travel far, I'm very happy to hear that our staff, facilities and amenities exceeded your expectations. I'm also glad you had the chance to experience NINE-TEN. It is truly one of the best dining experiences in town. Thanks again and Happy Anniversary. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.