We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in rm 137 which is a garden terrace suite. It was separate from the main hotel building so we had a full kitchen and windows on 3 sides. There was an ocean view from the large kitchen window. Room also had a gas fireplace, a huge bathroom and a comfy bed. We had our 17 month old with us and there was plenty of room for her pack-n-play and jogging stroller in the room. We were just a block from the oceanfront Scripps Park and La Jolla Cove. We used the valet parking the first couple of days, but then realized that we were able to find street parking on Jenner Street which is right by the gate that you can use to get into the terrace that connects the garden terrace rooms without having to go through the main hotel. We loved the room and the location and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Jaxbch3: I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying in suite #137. It is only one of 18 of our "extended-stay" suites, located in two separate wings from the main building. Since opening these suites in 2007, we have found them to be a great place for families needing a little more space or those traveling for extended periods of time. Each does come equipped with a full kitchen. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    259
    91
    28
    14
See reviews for
250
446
37
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My Wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Grande and the service and ambiance of this Hotel made our weekend better than we could have expected. We live in San Diego but neither of us have ever stayed at the Grande so we decided to do a Staycation at the Grande due to its great central location to many top notch restaurants and beautiful beaches. The hotel really makes you feel special from the moment you park and are greeted by the Bell Boys to the time you check out. I have to say that the Chef and Staff at their restaurant, Nine-Ten, knocked it out of the park with dishes that I can't even pronounce but tasted and looked like works of art. Make sure to ask for terrace seating for sunset dinner. Our room had a great view of the ocean and allowed for a nice wind to come through. My only negative would be a small one but, the room could feel a little small, however; if you read about the history of this hotel, you will understand the size of the rooms. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Higher floors with ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear RadarMD:
First off, congratulations on your wedding anniversary. Thank you for choosing to spend your milestone celebration with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. While you didn't travel far, I'm very happy to hear that our staff, facilities and amenities exceeded your expectations. I'm also glad you had the chance to experience NINE-TEN. It is truly one of the best dining experiences in town. Thanks again and Happy Anniversary. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Colonial with our children while in town for a wedding at the near-by art museum. Valet, bell, reception desk, bar staff were all fantastic. Location was amazing with beach, restaurants, and shops all in walking distance. The 2 downsides were 1) The outdatedness of the rooms. VERY small bathroom with no counter or shelf to place toiletries. Nice robes, lovely bedding linens. Towels were average. 2) Our room was not serviced by housekeeping one of the days during our 3 day stay, because we were still in the room earlier in the morning. Housekeeping did not come back later in the day. Had to call 2 times the next day to have housekeeping come so we had fresh towels while getting ready for the wedding. Overall a VERY nice hotel. If bathrooms were updated, this could be a FABULOUS hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Ackclarke: Thanks for the feedback you provided about your recent visit. I am very sorry to hear that we failed to provide you with housekeeping service. Not only should we be providing service once per day, but we should be doing it twice each day. Clearly we failed in that regard and I am following up on that immediately. To address your comment about the bathrooms, we will be starting a renovation of the guest rooms sometime late 2014. All of your concerns, with the exception of the size, will be taken into consideration when planning the renovation. (Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the size of the bathrooms, being a historic property.) But we will do our best to take care of the storage space and general look-and-feel. Thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Springs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic location & helpful staff. Room 405 has one great window view & numerous windows over the side street. Everything requested was accommodated quickly. If taking a car, look for the valet parking coupon....great help. Unique hotel that we would certainly stay at again!
George's at the Cove requires a plan ahead reservation or stop in midafternoon for a late lunch - fantastic view. Cody's was stellar for breakfast. Whisknladle has a unique menu (too much for hubby) with fantastic drinks and amazing bartenders. If there on a Sunday, you MUST visit the Farmer's Market that is an easy walk up Girard....fantastic.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear HNally: It sounds as you had a plentiful visit here in La Jolla. I'm so glad you enjoyed the hotel and had the opportunity to experience so much about what makes the Village so special. Next time you visit, check out our TripAdvisor page and see what special offers we have available...right now we're running a Free Parking promotion. Hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After staying at a simple hotel in Huntington we end up our California trip at such amazing hotel in La Jolla. Everything was rather convenient and perfect.Walking distance from The Coves and lots of restaurants in the surroundings.
Service is very good and food at the restaurant was amazing. If you look around can always find a free parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Renato-rio:
So glad to hear you had such a nice experience staying with us. I thank you for posting such positive feedback. I'm glad you had the opportunity to dine at NINE-TEN, as well. It is truly one of the best dining experiences in all of San Diego. Thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was our first time at the Grande Colonial in La Jolla. Fantastic, we enjoyed every moment. Nice and helpful staff, the location was great: We had a very nice room, room with a great view.
Simply incredible . We are coming back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ms1710: So happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit to the Grande Colonial. You certainly traveled a great distance and I'm glad we exceeded your expectatations. I'm not sure how often you travel to La Jolla from Zurich but I'm delighted to hear you will stay with us the next time you do. Thanks for choosing our hotel. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Grande Colonial La Jolla is our home away from home when can be in our favorite little jewel by the sea. This was our second time in Paradise and at the lovely Grande Colonial.
The rooms are large and warm, the towels are soft and fresh, the windows open to let in the ocean air. The hotel lobby, with fireplace and complimentary coffee and newspapers, is a great place to relax in the early morning before a fun day or a morning run. The staff are smiles and sunshine and helpful with any issue; just say the word.
We will be back; SOON I hope!

Room Tip: Ocean views are fantastic and well worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear cassij01- So glad to hear that you chose to stay once again at the Grande Colonial. I especially enjoyed reading your comment about opening the windows. There are not many hotels nowadays where you can actually open the windows to enjoy the fresh air. But you can here and I'm glad you had a chance to experience that added perk to take in the sounds of the ocean. (Perhaps you were even able to hear the seals down at the Children's Pool.) Come back and see us again soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.