We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love This Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Arch Cape, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We Love This Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After staying in some other hotels in the area, we walked by the Grande Colonial and thought it looked lovely. And we'd also heard nothing but raves about the restaurant. We went in, sat on the veranda, had some fantastic local beers, looked out over the pool and the ocean view and just knew we couldn't afford staying here. But the thing is, we decided to go for it. Not only were the standard rooms less expensive than some of the truly pricey hotels, but they upgraded us to a 'partial' ocean view room which turned out to be 'full-on' ocean view and it was gorgeous. It was romantic, exceptionally comfortable, and we were able to both work and play here. The staff was warm, professional, great. The location couldn't be better. The room was quiet and honestly luxurious. The bar, the lobby, the food and wine, all stellar. We love this place. Now we won't stay any place else in San Diego or La Jolla. Unless of course you read this review and take our room.

Room Tip: Splurge if you can on a partial ocean view room. They're fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Needless to say, I am so happy you decided to stop by our NINE-TEN Restaurant for some of San Diego's famous micro-brews and, as a result, opted to stay overnight with us here at the Grande Colonial. It sounds as if you've visited the area often and I'm thrilled that our staff, facilities and amenities have turned you into a future repeat customer. I hope you're already making plans to return from Oregon sooner than later. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    214
    79
    24
    12
See reviews for
206
359
26
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This really is one of the best spots in La Jolla, right in the Village area, walking distance to the beach, shopping, and dining. Me and family stayed there over the weekend of July 6th, 2013. The hotel itself is nice, has a wonderful lobby and is of historic significance. The room was a double queen, which worked for us and our little girls. The bathroom was definitely my wife's style. We had dinner at the Nine-Ten restaurant one night, and the food was very good. Also had a kid's menu which was convenient if you have small kids who might not appreciate the $39 New York Steak(which was great, BTW).
Parking was convenient, valet right in front of the hotel, and they park the cars close in case you need to grab something. Parking is $25 a night, but that is fairly close to the going rate at hotels in San Diego.
The rooms themselves are good, I wouldn't call them luxurious, but they are just fine considering the age of this historic hotel.
The pool was nice, though if I can make a suggestion to management if they read this, the pool should be just a tad warmer, just a couple degrees warmer and it would have been perfect. If you want to dazzle folks, have the pool feel almost warm to the touch when you first feel it, that will be nice change of pace from most pools I have seen.
All in all, I would recommend a stay at this place, it really is a great way to enjoy La Jolla.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Drew91101-
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such great comments about your experience at the Grande Colonial. You certainly covered a lot and for that I am grateful. I'm really glad that you decided to take your children to NINE-TEN. It's one of the finest dining spots in San Diego (just took the award for Best Hotel/Fine Dining Restaurant from the California Restaurant Association). But it's still very kid-friendly. We can always find something to please the younger palate. In regard to your pool temperature comment, I can confirm that we always have the temperature set to 80 degrees (year-round). If the air is chilly, the water can feel cooler at first but doesn't take long to get used to. Especially here in sunny La Jolla! Thank you again and we will look forward to your return in the future.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Some hotels are understated, which could mean sparse. This is certainly not the case at the Grande Colonial. From the greeting when we arrived, to reception, to the room , every moment of our stay was outstanding.
The room we occupied had a partial view of the ocean and the windows opened which is a treat.
The amenities in the room were all we needed with a very comfortable bed. A minor complaint, better lighting for reading. Quiet hallway which is exactly what the doctor ordered.
Located in the heart of La Jolla so our car was not needed. We were very close to restaurants, and other sites in town. We also ate at their signature restaurant Nine-Ten which was great but will review on it's own merit.
La Jolla is a very nice town , but it is not a beach town. It is a town near the ocean. Parking is very difficult , the local beaches are busy and small. Come to La Jolla for other reasons but not for expansive beaches.
The hotel reminded me of small hotels in London. Service which was not overbearing but when you needed it , was available.
We visit La Jolla every year or so, and the hotel made our stay very pleasant. If you desire a small hotel with outstanding staff , this is your place. It is not a resort hotel and large family type gatherings I think , would feel somewhat out of place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Frank:
Thank you very much for your nice comments about your recent stay at the Grande Colonial. We really appreciate your recognition of our property. Your comment about being able to open the windows is one we take great pride in hearing. We are one of the few hotels I know of where you can actually open the windows. (And being a block from the ocean, you get the added bonus of hearing the crashing waves and smelling the ocean air.) I'm also delighted you had a chance to experience NINE-TEN Restaurant. It's truly one of San Diego's finest. Thank you again. We hope you'll be back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this gorgeous hotel a couple years ago and then returned last week with our children. Both stays were lovely. The hotel is historic, clean, and luxurious. It features a comfortable and beautiful pool our children enjoyed very much, blooming flowers everywhere, and a short walk down to Children's Cove and over to all the shops and restaurants. We only needed our car for San Diego jaunts. We walked everywhere. Our three daughters (8,11,13) played chess by the fire, dined with us on the lovely terrace, and slept well in our junior suite. The rollaway bed was surprisingly comfortable and our suite was plenty large enough.

The staff treated the girls kindly. We worried it would feel wrong to bring children to such a fancy hotel, but they were welcomed and they behaved themselves well.

DH and I already booked our next stay and we only checked out yesterday. It is absolutely worth the money. We are springing for an ocean view for our next visit. The view of the street and hills was lovely, too. Truly, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Andrea –
What more can I say than "thank you"?! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for all the great comments. I am so glad you chose to return with your three young daughters and even happier to hear that they enjoyed the hotel, amenities and location as much as you. We look forward to your next visit. Meanwhile, thank you again.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Grande Colonial for three nights.
Excellent service, clean rooms, maybe on the small side.
Location is great, right in the downtown of La Jolla.
The parking is difficult if you want to avoid valet parking..
Return is absolutely possible!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Tomas:
Thanks for choosing the Grande Colonial as your destination during your recent trip to La Jolla. Sorry about the parking. We do only offer valet parking to our guests. While there is street parking available, it can be difficult especially during the summer. But we almost always offer a free parking special on our Trip Advisor page. So next time you visit be sure to take advantage of that offer. It's a $25 daily value. Hope to see you back from Norway soon.
Terrence Underwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel over the 4th of July weekend. Its a beautiful hotel, but you definitely pay for what you are getting. Since we booked last minute for a major holiday weekend, it was pretty pricey. However, it was so worth it as we were walking distance to all of the great spots in La Jolla including La Jolla Cove and the Children's pool. We were also a short drive away from La Jolla Shores, and the hotel provides beach blankets and chairs for you to use. The free coffee in the restaurant in the morning was also much appreciated! The bed was also extremely comfortable, and our room was very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear ges_10:
I'm so glad to hear that you were able to get a room with us over the 4th of July holiday weekend. It is indeed a busy time for us and the entire community and I'm happy we were able to accommodate you. I'm glad you enjoyed the beach supplies, as well as the free coffee. Hope to see you back from Houston next summer! Until then -
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last July 4th week and had a better experience last time overall. Cons: The main letdown was having to wait until just before 5 pm to have our room cleaned. Pros: helpful valet, delicious room service from Nine-Ten restaurant, location, and cleanliness. Would stay here again if we could get a better rate. $319 plus taxes, parking, and lots of tips turned out to be a fortune! Got a much better rate last year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear nml3:
The July 4th holiday here in La Jolla is perhaps one of the most popular (and most fun) times of the year for our community. Like you, we welcome travelers from all over the world who return each year to celebrate the holiday and enjoy the great weather, beaches and of course our fireworks display at La Jolla Cove. I just hope that those who are visiting receive a high level of service and value for their vacation that they are compelled to come back the following year. Should you choose to come back next year and stay with us, please do visit our Specials & Packages page on our website, as we are always offering specials that you may want to take advantage of (we also always have a special offer right here on our Trip Advisor page that you can use). I do hope to see you back for July 4th, 2014!
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.