We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful and fantastic value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very peaceful and fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Traveled to La Jolla with my wife and 11-month old son in November 2012 and spent 10 nights there. We chose Grande Continental based on TA reviews and can attest this is a fabulous place to spend a family vacation.

As we traveled with a baby we needed a place that was secure, clean, within easy walking distance to the shore, and also offered an option to stay at an apartment with a full-sized kitchen (as opposed to a kitchenette) as we needed to prepare baby food. Happy to report that Grande Colonial delivered on every count - and then some!

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, service unobtrusive and readily available when needed (my wife dropped her diamond earrings into a sink very late one night and the plumber was there within 4 minutes!), valet guys took good care of our SUV and the location was unbeatable.

Plenty of little shops (try designer eyewear at Optical Shop of Aspen just opposite in Prospect Street), organic cafes, beautiful promenade just around the corner with very international crowd, the aquarium, WholeFoods a short drive away - my wife is still raving about that visit and La Jolla with Grande Colonial is now promptly on our to-visit list for many years to come!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    218
    81
    25
    13
See reviews for
210
368
29
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My room was shabby, clearly in need of fabric/rug cleaning and musty smelling. It was not at all clear in the booking process that entry to my room was from a not very well lit side street rather than the lobby. When I requested that be addressed, I was offered another room in what I can only term the Motel 6 behind the Grand Colonial.

The hotel is a La Jolla landmark....was most disappointed to find the general standards so low despite a profoundly self satisfied air...

Room Tip: Be careful not to be located in the Garden terrace or little hotel rooms....However, based on my ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is undeniably a La Jolla legend, but this legend clearly rode down the block long ago. I saw that another reviewer said s/he “wanted to like this hotel, but could not.” I feel the same way. I have stayed at La Auberge del Mar many times, and I guess I hoped that this property could infuse history and modernity tastefully like that Del Mar gem. I was wrong. The property is average and the price is excessive. My room (411) was smack across from the lift, which we were able to hear crying out to us all night for replacement. In other words, the lift itself was noisy. Our room was small and unremarkable. The bed was average, though I did like the fact that the windows could be opened. This is always a plus for me. The View was of the town – a view of Panera Bread, to be exact. I like their food, so that was fine. The miniscule bathroom was a slight step up in size from some of the Tokyo hotel micro bathrooms I have experienced. The sink drain – and my daughter’s toothpaste - took ages to drain. The pool was not much larger than the bathroom (ok, I exaggerate, but you get the point). The lobby was quaint and the restaurant seemed to do well. Maybe the suites are better than my room was - I sure hope so. It is time for a hotel makeover. The hotel's ghosts would probably appreciate that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear WhiskyDoc:
I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. While I appreciate your comments about the hotel being a “La Jolla legend”, I am very sorry that the accommodations did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in the fact that we are indeed a historic hotel (2013 marking our Centennial anniversary). We go to great lengths to enhance the feel of our still intact turn-of-the-century architecture while maintaining a keen focus on modern sensibilities and contemporary sophistication through ongoing updates and renovations. But being a historic hotel, there are things that we cannot change. One being the size and layout of our bathrooms. We are also in the initial stages of planning our next rooms’ renovation, which will take place sometime in 2014. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. If so, I invite you to reserve one of our suites and/or an ocean-view rooms, rather than the Village view room you reserved this last visit. I think the spectacular views they provide (along with the fresh ocean breezes from the windows that open) will be more in line with your expectations. Meanwhile, thank you for your feedback.
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife, kids, in laws and I spent five memorable nights at the Grande Colonial last week. It has the complete package - fabulous location overlooking and walking distance to the water; beautiful common spaces and grounds; spacious, well-appointed rooms; and gracious, helpful staff. Walking distance to the dozens of charming shops and restaurants of the village of La Jolla. Easy drive to Sea World, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Torrey Pines, and a longish drive to Hollywood.

The staff were uniformly wonderful. The front desk staff were friendly and eager to help with all questions from restaurant recommendations to directions to shopping tips to health club arrangements. The bar staff were great. Even the front door team were enthusiastic and warm.

Would love to visit again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here with our family and found it clean, charming, and well-located. The staff was very, very friendly and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. I consider myself picky, and I loved it. The only downside is paying a healthy surcharge for the offsite health club. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just finished a week at this beautiful hotel in La Jolla. Great rooms, amazing staff, delicious restaurant and perfect location. Absolutely fantastic and will absolutely stay there if I am ever in town again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We made our reservations a year ahead (like we do everything everywhere we go) with a government rate. The government rate has not ever affected the quality of room we have stayed in before. We reserved a king-sized bed and who knows what else but at least that. We got there, and the entire staff was standing in two lines welcoming people at the door because the inn was hosting some kind of hospitality conference, and for two hours in the lobby it was going to be a sea of humanity. The bar was closed as well as the restaurant due to the special event to which, needless to say, we were not invited. When we were taken to our room, I was shocked to see the size of it. It was smaller than some people's closet, our view was a wall and the room smelled like mildew. But the really frustrating part was that the bed was queen-sized!! A year in advance!!! It is our opinion that we were displaced by other guests with the conference, and that's not cool. The staff was friendly but in a way that was not genuine, and no apologies about the room.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if your view will be a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, General Manager at The Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Kay -
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. Everything you mentioned could and should have been completely avoided. I will start with your room type. We have two guest rooms in the hotel that are available to our government-rate customers. It is our standard to make sure that these guest rooms are described in detail at the time of reservation. Clearly this did not happen in your case and for that I sincerely apologize. Regarding the event that was taking place at the hotel, that information too should have been communicated to you well in advance of your arrival. The Grande Colonial is celebrating its Centennial anniversary throughout 2013 and we did have a large event hosted by our local Convention & Visitors Bureau that evening, which caused the restaurant to open 1 ½ hours later than normal. The bar, however, was indeed open throughout. At any rate, I apologize that you were not notified about this large event and the change in hours of operation for the restaurant. Please know that I will be communicating your concerns with our staff to ensure that our standards are carried out in the future. Best regards,
Terrence Underwood, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.