We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, indifferent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE VALET PARKING!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location, indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Grande Colonial in the last week of December 2012. The location is amazing, 1 block from the ocean and Children's Pool where the harbor seals can be found, and at the corner of Girard and Prospect St. with loads of shopping etc. We had a double bed room that was quite large and had an "ocean view." Since the hotel is not directly on the beach you can see the ocean behind the buildings in front of you, which is fine. The hotel is in a historic building and nicely maintained, the rooms are nicely maintained as well. Except for the beds which are absurdly small, and no fridge in the room (tough with kids) or coffeemaker. So why the average review? For a boutique hotel that is quite expensive, the service was very indifferent and mediocre. The night we checked in, our flight from the east coast was very delayed and when we arrived at midnight with two small children in tow, the receptionist handed us the keys and that was it. No, can I help you settle in, is there anything you need, nothing. No information on breakfast, that coffee was available in the lobby (we didn't find that out until the day we were leaving) - we certainly did not feel welcome.

This trend pretty much continued. We had bad weather the couple of days we were there and none of the receptionists and hosts wandering around ever walked up to us or had any suggestions for indoor activities. Frankly, the people who worked there just had a temporary sort of feel to them, like no one was in charge. We had to ask for umbrellas, and they took 20 mins trying to sign us in etc for borrowing the umbrellas - which is very unusual as in my experience most of the nicer hotels simply let you borrow them with minimal fuss. They were huge and one was broken.

Our experience at the hotel's Nine west restaurant was much worse. My husband and I ordered two things off the bar menu, the burger and the tuna tartare. The server neglected to tell us that the $14 tuna tartare was literally a teaspoon sized bit of tartare, and a couple of 1/2 inch sizes of tuna arranged artistically on a huge plate. We had tuna tartare in Barcelona that 3 adults shared and could not finish - so it must be a la jolla thing. But regardless it's something to communicate to the person ordering that it's very small and may not be filling if it's the only thing they are ordering. When we politely expressed surprise, the waitress disappeared for the rest of the meal. She would not come by our table, even to replenish our water or ask if we needed another drink. And we were staying at the hotel! Again, suggests that the place lacks strong management.

Overall, this hotel relies on the historic building and great location - but if you're expecting anything more that would make this a memorable experience, then you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    218
    81
    25
    13
See reviews for
210
368
29
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife Talene and I just had the most enjoyable experience at the The Grande Colonial La Jolla where our wedding ceremony and reception afterwards was held this past Saturday afternoon and evening. It was so enjoyable that we find ourselves jumping at the opportunity to write about it. They earned our referral and we want to share it with you. Our experience at the hotel began many months ago when we first walked into the hotel to explore the possibility of holding our wedding and reception there. We were first attracted to the hotel by its charming historic exterior and it's incredible oceanfront location right in the heart of beautiful downtown La Jolla. But what really wowed us (and continues to wow us) about the hotel is how beautifully it comes alive as you venture inside and are greeted by some of the warmest, friendliest and most professionally capable people we have ever met in the hospitality business. From the valet at the hotel entrance, to the front desk personnel in the lobby inside, we felt (and continue to feel today, many months and many visits later) truly welcomed and cared about by people who really enjoy what they're doing. They clearly understand the true meaning of hospitality. And once inside, the experience just grows richer and gets better. The manicured grounds, the warm interiors, the rooms, the 910 Restaurant, the event catering staff , are all absolutely incredible. Couple this with the fact that they bring real value in terms of pricing and you've got all the makings for an absolutely unbeatable experience. The Grande Colonial has earned our highest recommendation and referral. We feel blessed to have found this beautiful gem in La Jolla.

Erick and Talene

Room Tip: We don't think there's a bad room on the property. Our preference is oceanfront view, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We took my mother-in-law to La Jolla for her birthday. We had wanted to stay at the Valencia, but found the Grande Colonial to be more of a value. I couldn't help look longingly at the peachy-colored and charming Valencia, which is just a short walk away and a little closer to the beach, BUT the Colonial was excellent. We had a great corner room on the fourth floor with a full ocean view (except for a big 1070's building in the way) and a lot of fog the first day. The room was spacious enough for the four of us. We liked the walk-in closet where we could store all of our stuff and keep the room tidy. The service was very professional. It feels like you are going back in time as you enter this historic building that has been maintained true to its original time period. It was decorated for the holidays with a beautiful tree next to a roaring furnace. The kids enjoyed their pool day. We were a little surprised there wasn't a hot tub as that would be nice by the beach. They did offer a little old-fashioned taxi that was very fun and convenient for an older person who couldn't walk a mile to a restaurant down the steep hill. We found everyone to be so hospitable in La Jolla. Cody's restaurant was excellent for breakfast. I wish I could get Chilaquiles like that somewhere at home. We'll definitely go back and for more than two nights next time.

Room Tip: I think the higher the better to see the ocean. The fifth floor might be the best choice. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The studio room in the Garden Suites had a kitchenette, sitting area and fireplace in a private courtyard with fountain. A short walk down to the cove yielded an up close adventure with sea lions lounging on the rocks. Great restaurant, friendly and prompt service, fantastic value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a very nice old hotel..the grounds are very nice, it's very close to the ocean and the restaurant makes a wonderful breakfast! The rooms are very comfortable as well. There are alot of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a Saturday night in one of the street-facing rooms in the Grand Colonial. The hotel is clean and feels recently redone. It's got an excellent atmosphere and the decor makes for a very fun experience. We were very happy with our room: the bed was comfy, the bathroom was clean and the room was huge. Our only complaint was some street noise, but it was to be expected as we were right above the hotel entrance and it was quite tolerable. We'll be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

So we have stayed here three times.. We love love love the location... You can walk to the beach ... You can walk to the la jolla cove. We always stay at the garden suites..these have an open feel with a terrace in front complete with a fountain and 2 mins walk to the ocean. The room is perfect for a small family... Perfectly Clean and very comfortable... Housekeeping does a very good job. They have valet parking ( parking on your own is not easy to find its a popular spot) at reasonable rates and valet are pretty prompt . Everything is good at and around the hotel... There are many good restaurants to eat at. Only thing I found lacking at all times we have stayed there is the front desk... they could be little more welcoming. That being said I would highly recommend the hotel and their restaurant nine ten:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.