We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, super cute studio room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Save Saved
You added The Grande Colonial La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ocean View Rooms On Sale!
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great value, super cute studio room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The studio room in the Garden Suites had a kitchenette, sitting area and fireplace in a private courtyard with fountain. A short walk down to the cove yielded an up close adventure with sea lions lounging on the rocks. Great restaurant, friendly and prompt service, fantastic value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    205
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
191
346
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a very nice old hotel..the grounds are very nice, it's very close to the ocean and the restaurant makes a wonderful breakfast! The rooms are very comfortable as well. There are alot of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a Saturday night in one of the street-facing rooms in the Grand Colonial. The hotel is clean and feels recently redone. It's got an excellent atmosphere and the decor makes for a very fun experience. We were very happy with our room: the bed was comfy, the bathroom was clean and the room was huge. Our only complaint was some street noise, but it was to be expected as we were right above the hotel entrance and it was quite tolerable. We'll be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

So we have stayed here three times.. We love love love the location... You can walk to the beach ... You can walk to the la jolla cove. We always stay at the garden suites..these have an open feel with a terrace in front complete with a fountain and 2 mins walk to the ocean. The room is perfect for a small family... Perfectly Clean and very comfortable... Housekeeping does a very good job. They have valet parking ( parking on your own is not easy to find its a popular spot) at reasonable rates and valet are pretty prompt . Everything is good at and around the hotel... There are many good restaurants to eat at. Only thing I found lacking at all times we have stayed there is the front desk... they could be little more welcoming. That being said I would highly recommend the hotel and their restaurant nine ten:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We (husband and two young children) stayed for 6 nights just recently in one of the suites (Little Hotel By the Sea) and we loved it. The room is good sized and having a mini kitchen is just wonderful - we could have some tea and coffee whenever we like and even heat up leftover food in the microwave. The hotel itself is beautiful and the location is just perfect - minutes away from the gorgeous beaches and seals as well as restaurants and shops. The restaurant at the hotel (Nine-Ten) is very good too.

The pool is on the small side and there is no jacuzzi, which is a little disappointing. But all in all, the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Try brunch at Cody's! It's 5 minutes of walk from the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the "Little Hotel" for two nights recently. The little hotel is a separate building on the property and is billed as an extended stay venue, with kitchenette. The reservation was made online through an upgrade promotion at $199/ni. We had high expectations for an overall experience, but were left disappointed in the service - the room itself and 9-10 Restaurant were the highlights.

I had read TripAdvisor reviews prior to booking and also learned of amenities on the hotel webiste. Checkin was pretty basic with the only question being "when would you like room service?". We elected after 10a. The website also said a turndown service was included, but no mention of that at checkin.

Bags were transported to the room via bellman. Upon arrival to room the bellman dropped off the bags, but volunteered little information. Had we not asked about access to the rooftop terrace (an amenity touted on the website for the "Little Hotel") we would not have known. Also, the shower controls are complex with body sprayers and we never really did get it dialed in - I would have expected that to be part of the room orientation.

The Rooftop Terrace is really cool, with a feeling of it being your own private terrace - at 5pm we had a glass of wine and the terrace all to ourselves, it even had a portable gas heater that was relatively easy to operate and was welcome as the sun went down. Views were amazing looking out at La Jolla Cove (though, the little hotel is surrounded by senior/convalescent facilities that will make up the rest of the view).

We ate dinner at the onsite 9-10 restaurant with service and food meeting expectations. After dinner, we thought we'd return to the terrace for the rest of the wine. But, found the portable heater gone. When I called down to front desk, they said it was not dedicated and hard to say when and where the heaters will be at any given time. No big deal, just inconsistent communication on amenities.

Also, that night we realized that we had not had turn down service.

The next day we set out around 9:30a and got back to room around 1:30 or 2p, expecting the room to have been serviced. It was not. I called down to front desk letting them know that the room hadn't been serviced and they said they could try to get it serviced pretty quick (no apology from desk attendant), but we needed to get cleaned up and didn't have time for service, so they said they would do it at turndown. I said that would be nice (a bit sarcastically) and said that we hadn't had turndown the night before. So, we ended up using the same towels from the morning.

My wife drinks hot tea in the mornings and we had noticed that it lacked tea bags (for the melitta coffee maker), a pretty standard offering in any hotel these days. I called back down to let them know it was missing.

I then called back to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. I was told that there was an assistant manager on duty and she (Kim Avant) promptly called me back. I explained our experience with service to that point and she apologized.

Later that evening, upon returning to room, we found a cheese/fruit tray along with a bottle of wine as well as an apologetic note. It was certainly a nice touch and the cheese was very good. However, there was only one glass on the tray (yet they new it was a couple staying there) and the bottle of wine was more of a bargain bin variety that you'd get at Trader Joe's (not that we are wine snobs, but it wasn't quite the caliber you'd expect with the quality of cheese). We further noticed that they had brought some tea for the melitta machine and there was also a bath mat in the bathroom that hadn't been there before.

My general opinion is that no one incident was terrible, but cumulatively it did not meet expecation and represents a lack of training and etiquette that you'd expect at this level of hotel and at this price (even if discounted). This usually stems from management instilling and insisting on a high level of training and customer service - the attention to detail and proper attitude were missing. It may be that the hotel is going through a management transition and this is just temporary. However, I doubt our experience was isolated or that we are any more discerning than any other guest.

As a point of reference, we've stayed at several hotels in La Jolla and our favorite has been the Pan Tai Inn of late. It is is in same price point but is much more boutique in size, but much higher on quality of service. With this experience, I have no desire to go back to the Grande Colonial and will stick with the Pan Tai for future visits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Alberta,canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one evening , and were very happy with our choice. The staff were very friendly and professional. We stayed in a junior garden suite, and it was beautiful. Lovely linens, bathrobes and towels...and the most comfortable bed on our trip. The location can't be beat. we walked along the beach and then we walked all over this beautiful little town. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to our friends. Olearys from Calgary

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West.Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is also available in each of the guest rooms and suites and throughout all public spaces.Over 5,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor, ocean-view meeting and special event space beckons those groups seeking the intimacy and personalized service of a boutique property – all against a backdrop of La Jolla’s ocean vistas.A heated outdoor pool, valet parking, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes and evening turndown service are just a few of the luxuries guests will enjoy.On-site is the acclaimed NINE-TEN Restaurant, offering the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance. Led by Chef Jason Knibb (a 2011 Iron Chef challenger) and Pastry Chef Rachel King, the restaurant’s Evolving California Cuisine features the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers where produce is selected daily. Recognized by ZAGAT as “exceptional to extraordinary”, NINE-TEN is also a winner of the 2012 Best Hotel Restaurant in San Diego award and boasts a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Breakfast and lunch are served daily and dinner is served nightly.With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grande Colonial La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.