We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla

Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla
909 Prospect St. Suite 100, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-454-4447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fay Street
Description: Aroma Bakery and Cafe is a one of a kind restaurant in the Heart of The Village and the only known bakery on Prospect Street. The bakers arrive 5 a.m. to bake the finest pastries ready early for breakfast and throughout the day to the night. Our extensive and interactive 42 page menu of savory cuisines from the continental U.S. to dishes from Europe and Middle East will surely fulfil one's appetite. Aroma's extensive Pizza, Salad and Pasta dishes along with our signature Beef Stroganoff, Schnitzel and steaming Chicken Pesto caters to all. With outside seating on Prospect and Fay, Aroma is the place to relax and enjoy your mouth watering needs for pastries and cuisine.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at this restaurant by change because this restaurant was the first one we saw. My boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised. We both had the Southwestern egg omelette and it was delicious, definitely got our money's worth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WORCESTER
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Outdoor seating with great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We really enjoyed the breakfast, food came quickly and was very good.

We were a bit disappointed with the hostess. She went to give us menu's and noticed one was sticky from syrup, so she gave us another one. Unfortunately she didn't take the menu and clean it, she just placed it back on the stack to give to someone else. Also she was sitting at the stand and would chat (which would be loud) with waitstaff across the patio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great location, poor service but fabulous vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

my sister and i were on a holiday to san diego. while spending a day at the la jolla cove we happen to walk past this place and decided to walk in for brunch. Being vegetarian, limits options for one to eat at most restaurants / bars near the lo jolla cove. but that certainly wasn't the case with aroma cafe.

we were seated indoors. however the hostess took around 10 mins to get us the menus and water. they had a wide range of dishes which can over whelm a person. everything looked delicious. so we dint mind the fact that the no one came back to take our order for a while.

we decided to start with a bloody mary and an orange mimosa. untill we decided what to eat. we ordered for the avocado eggrolls and hummus falafel plate. however our drinks dint arrive for long and once we checked with the hostess she said they were out of orange juice. we changed our drink to a mango mimosa. finally wen the drinks were served the glass in which the mimosa was served was broken. wen we brought it to the hostess's notice she just said - oh ill have that changed and casually walked away. by this time we were doubtful about how good the food is going to be.

however once the drama arund the drinks was done n food was served we forgot all about it. the food was hot, fresh and really good. the portion was HUGE. for 2 ppl we landed up wasting half the food. but the avocado roll and the sauces served with it were perfect.

the hummus was well flavored and the falafel balls and pita was fresh as well.

the food is their saving grace.
if they work on their service im sure they would attract more people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Breakfast here was overwhelming in the sense there were so many choices! Service was good, nothing special but certainly not bad. The food was great! I had the Eggs Benedict and my wife the Crab Cakes Benedict and we took some pastries for the road. I would definitely recommend, especially if you are looking for quality food and a quite atmosphere,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yammmi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the first restaurant we entered in La Jolla. The food was great and the service too. They have GREAT salads and other tasty food on the menu (paste, fish).
We didn't like the deserts so much... but the coffee was great...
A day after we entered again, had wonderful experience again but this time we go to the second floor for the great ice cream as desert... GREAT and huge!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma Bakery and Cafe La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.