We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chedi Thai Bistro

Chedi Thai Bistro
737 Pearl St. Suite 110, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-551-8424
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chedi Thai Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 1,261 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mabel Bell Ln
New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I love thai food! So I knew I had to find a great place while I was in La Jolla. Chedi was a great find. The service was so genuine and friendly. The food was spectacular, with full control off spice level. Summer rolls, veggie steamed dumplings, tumeric tofu, shrimp, drunken noodles..... all awesome!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Thai Fusion Food, Lovely Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Elegant restaurant with very good food. Not your typical porkchop or lamb dish, but very good and satisfying. We had a lovely family gathering here. Just a little too anxious to turn the tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“I would eat here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food, the service and ambiance were all great. I enjoy Thai food and all courses were delicious. I would come here again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

First time having thai food and we loved it. the hostess was great, she even explained the different types of food to choose from. our server was also great, very attentive and the food was delicious. it was a bit on the pricey side but it was worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We all loved our choices.
Started with calamari that was prepared with an Asian flare.
Good green papaya salad, chicken coconut soup, pad Thai , curry.
The decor is beautiful. Someone obviously out a lot of though into it.
The night we were there service was not good.
Waited to be greeted. ( had reserved with Open Table)
Drink order taken then long wait to order food and to get food. I think our waiter may have left or had other duties. But other staff stepped in. We would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chedi Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Chedi Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chedi Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.