We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Korea

Little Korea
8008 Girard Ave, Ste 210, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4161
858-551-0282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 1,261 Restaurants in La Jolla
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Redlands,CA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wanting something different for lunch, we kind of stumbled on this hidden gem. Going up the flight of stairs transforms you into a world of tasty offerings. I am by no means an expert on Korean cuisine or level of its authenticity. However, I do recognize good flavor and care in preparation. The Bibimbob with spicy octopus was excellent and the bulgogi followed suite. Friendly service, great flavors and reasonable prices (especially for La Jolla) make this a spot to return to soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Hole in the Wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have not much experience with Korean food, but I can vouch for Little Korea's deliciousness. I ordered the Japchae with chicken and my husband had Bibimbob which were both excellent. We also had an appetizer of fried pork dumplings which were SO GOOD. The restaurant is small but located close to the beach, with an ocean view from their patio on the second floor. The value is excellent as the two of us ate for lunch under $20.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Korean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've been here a few times and with three different people who have actually been to Korea. The food is authentic. It is also extremely well priced. The view from the balcony is great, but it only fits 2-3 people. The restaurant is very small and intimate. Worth going out of your way to find.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good eats from a scenic seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This small restaurant, which overlooks one of La Jolla's busiest intersections, has tasty and simple Korean favorites. It's a good place to enjoy some bulgogi or soondooboo while peoplewatching over Prospect Ave. Friendly service, decent entree pricing, though we'll probably skip the overpriced dessert next time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My dad loves this place and has taken me a few times. Great for lunch!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Korea also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Little Korea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Korea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.