We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to study” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University of California San Diego

University of California San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92093
(858) 534-2230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 24 Attractions in La Jolla
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You don't have to be enrolled to appreciate the vast green lawns of this major university, which is home to the Mingei International Museum of World Art.
Vladivostok, Russia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very good place to study”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

UCSD is located in very good place in 30 minutes by car from San Diego. Students from different countries did choose UCSD to study. Campus is very big and convenient. Graduate programs are diversified.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    41
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A jewel in the California educational system”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a massive campus with top academic rankings across the board. There's a good transportation system. There's a lot to see, but be sure to get a map from the information booth.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great campus and beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My son is interested in attending UCSD next fall so we came here for a campus visit. From the 6-college system to the great way the campus is laid out, we came away from our visit very impressed.
After our scheduled large group tour, we drove around campus to see the parts of campus we missed. The campus is pedestrian-friendly and car-friendly. Signage was clear for those looking for a quick way to get off campus.
There are quite a few food options on campus, but most are not open on the weekend.
It seems like the school makes a strong attempt to balance both academics and fun for the students. If your child is looking for a post-secondary school that focuses on academics first and sports second and one that will probably never make the #1 party list, this should make your short-list.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The best university and campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The best place campus and location.

A good place to take my guests there.
Excellent school and beautiful libarry

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An interesting campus with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was here for a week's conference and found the campus more interesting to walk through than I would have expected. There is an interesting collection of art installations in the eucalytpus woods, and contemporary art and statuary in unexpected locations. Much of the campus is newly built with some good modern architecture and there is a good range of coffee shops and cafeterias available to the visitor. Well worth a stroll through. On the no.30 bus route from downtown La Jolla.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of California San Diego also viewed

 

Been to University of California San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of California San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.