We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting natural caves but heavy waves” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Caves

La Jolla Caves
La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #14 of 24 Attractions in La Jolla
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Kayaking, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seven elongated fissures in the cliff walls that can be entered during low tide.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Interesting natural caves but heavy waves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

You must be experienced in kayaking if you going to attend it. The waves can be very strong and the current as well. You can reach one of the caves from the shore line, the second cave we were not able to go into due to the low tides. Check the forecast before renting kayak. Someone mention there is sharks we could not see any sharks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    48
    23
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
da burgh
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Fun, know your level of expertise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my first kayaking experience. I was in great shape so didn't think anything of trying it out. But, there were, yes, sharks, and I freaked out and that was the end of my trip! Apparently they don't hurt people and I've since gone again. But, it was strenuous each time. This is ocean kayaking.

If you want a simpler experience, get a kayak and go to the Mission Beach bay area, where there are no waves.

If you know what you are doing, this would be great. The scenery is amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Kayak Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We took a guided tour with La Jolla Kayak to see the caves and get up close to the sea lions and other forms of wildlife. We enjoyed the kayak trip out to the caves and entered one cave in spite of the wind and waves being a bit rough. We flipped over in our kayak as we returned to shore which added to the whole adventure. It was a fun way to see the area and our guides were knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“La Jolla Caves...don't be misled.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Going into Sunny Jim's Cave from the Cave Store is not worth even $4. This is the only cave you can go into. Cave Store is cool for old photos and maybe souvenirs.

Most of the kayak companies at La Jolla Shores make it sound like you're going INTO the 7 different caves but only one cave is possible to go through and that is HIGHLY dependent on tide and ocean conditions (surf and wind), it is rather misleading because chances are you won't be able to kayak through. Sometimes there are so many kayak groups trying to get into the one cave that there is a wait. You can see the one cave you can possibly kayak through from the road anyway.

I do recommend going to the lookout next to Cave Store as you can usually see Sea Lions there as well as at the La Jolla Cove which is next to it. The Brandt's cormorants can be seen nesting on the cliff side. Lots of pelicans too, they get their mating plumage in the winter. Due to the large number of Sea Lions and seabirds it can be quite smelly. Apparently they cannot hose off the rocks where all the Sea Lions and marine birds are because...they'll get wet?!

The area itself is lovely and I do recommend spending time there. Just plan ahead!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The wife and I went there before we met friends. Interesting enough. Saw some caves and the wildlife. Was really a time killer before lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla Caves also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to La Jolla Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.