We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum Muses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego

Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego
700 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA
858 454 3541
Improve this listing
Visit Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego like an insider
Special Offer
$84*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Actually located in La Jolla, this museum has more than 3,000 works which vie for attention with the stunning views of the Pacific.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Museum Muses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great views from the museum windows, interesting shows, nice outdoor cafe, GREAT gift shop; reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    35
    14
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Just a short walk from the La Jolla Village.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Even if you are not a fan of contemporary art, the cafe, outdoor garden, museum and spectacular views from an architecturally beautiful building is absolutely worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimmom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Handsome Building and Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great facility, beautiful sculpture garden overlooking Pacific. EXTREMELY contemporary art!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great spaces, friendly staff, and cool exhibitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a great space that supplements the space in La Jolla. We visited both and were blown away by the quality of the shows. Bravo to the staff!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Minimalist art leaves me cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We are fans of modern art, avant garde media, themes, and abstractions....but the exhibits of "abstract reductionism" were, to me, insulting. All white canvas, glass box with unevenly taped brown wrapping paper inside, and a long metal tube do not feel satisfying to me. I like to see more effort and craft and skills and minimalism leaves me cold. That said, the museum space is good, the La Jolla branch has a fabulous view, and the sense of peace in the high ceilinged rooms works.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.