We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a rainy Saturday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Aquarium at Scripps

Birch Aquarium at Scripps
2300 Expedition Way, Scripps Institute, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858 534 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 25 attractions in La Jolla
Type: Aquariums, Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Birch Aquarium at Scripps is the public exploration center for the world-renowned Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. Perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the aquarium features more than 60 habitats of fishes and invertebrates from the cold waters of the Pacific Northwest to the tropical waters of Mexico and the Caribbean. An interactive museum showcases research discoveries by Scripps scientists on climate, Earth and ocean science.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for a rainy Saturday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our original plan was to go to the zoo, but Mother Nature interfered. So we drove to the aquarium instead. We were met by white submersible (had to take a pic) huge statues of grey whales (had to take a pic) and then then we were inside with tons of amazing fish! It's a smallish aquarium (been to the Atlanta, Newport in Cincinnati, North Carolina and Norfolk ones) but it has lovely exhibits. It's the perfect size for older people and people with small kids. Beautiful views as well of the La Jolla cove. For such a large city it could support a larger aquarium, but it does well with the space it does have. Would definitely go back again! Even on a sunny day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    157
    56
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good to visit by yourself or with a group. Old and young kids alike will enjoy! Very interesting displays and the water views outside very relaxing!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I went to this aquarium on November 23. It was $17 for each of us but we got a $4 dollar discount, so over all it was $30 for both of us. This place was tiny! One hallway of sea life, one small sea horse area and then the shark tank was the smallest one I've ever seen! This place was pathetic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to spend afternoon with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I take my two kids here every few months because they simply love going. The exhibits are well maintained and keep the kids interest. Go when it is warm out so you can enjoy the outside play area and the water. My son spends at least an hour sending toy boats down the water flow game.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is not a massive aquarium, but it is one you should go and see. There are great exhibits, especially the seahorses (so many kinds!) and the jellyfish. There is a touch tank on the back balcony and a kids area next to the shark tank. The view overlooking the ocean is AMAZING. We just stood there for what was probably almost an hour, watching the surfers and the planes which were practicing for Veterans Day. By the main gate, there is a stand to get some lunch, with a surprising variety of choices (loved it) and they have tables with umbrellas. I would recommend anyone with or without children visit this aquarium!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birch Aquarium at Scripps also viewed

 

Been to Birch Aquarium at Scripps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Aquarium at Scripps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Birch Aquarium at Scripps to your Saves list