We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Aquarium at Scripps

Birch Aquarium at Scripps
2300 Expedition Way, Scripps Institute, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858 534 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Birch Aquarium at Scripps like an insider
Special Offer
$84*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #10 of 58 things to do in La Jolla
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birch Aquarium at Scripps is the public exploration center for the world-renowned Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. Perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the aquarium features more than 60 habitats of fishes and invertebrates from the cold waters of the Pacific Northwest to the tropical waters of Mexico and the Caribbean. An interactive museum showcases research discoveries by Scripps scientists on climate, Earth and ocean science.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Small but very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I only had an hour, and that was plenty of time to see all of the exhibits. The Seahorse's were wonderful to watch, such amazing creatures. And make sure to see the jellyfish and shark exhibits too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    230
    89
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“Birch Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recommended for families. When with some college peers. Favorite thing is the see-saw (gota be there)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Was here this past weekend (during the rain) and it was a great place to be able to have fun with the kids while staying dry. The kids really enjoyed the seahorses and playing outside with the water activities during a lull in the rain. (It is a great place but not an all day thing, I think we were there for about 2 1/2 hours and we went through the entire aquarium and we stopped to play with some of the activities (inside and outside).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“great for children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This aquarium is smaller than the one in Monteray but has many interactive features for small children. It's seahorse exhibit is really unique.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This aquarium was fun for our family, even though our children are teens. Informative exhibits and pleasant staff, beautiful views of the ocean and LaJolla cove. We especially liked seeing the amazing sea horse exhibits -- many varieties in aquariums with 360° views. A relaxing and enjoyable way to spend a few hours in LaJolla!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birch Aquarium at Scripps also viewed

 

Been to Birch Aquarium at Scripps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Aquarium at Scripps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.