We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class aquarium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Aquarium at Scripps

Birch Aquarium at Scripps
2300 Expedition Way, Scripps Institute, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858 534 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 25 attractions in La Jolla
Type: Aquariums, Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Birch Aquarium at Scripps is the public exploration center for the world-renowned Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. Perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the aquarium features more than 60 habitats of fishes and invertebrates from the cold waters of the Pacific Northwest to the tropical waters of Mexico and the Caribbean. An interactive museum showcases research discoveries by Scripps scientists on climate, Earth and ocean science.
bc
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“World class aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were not ready for our experience - fabulous displays of sea creatures, helpful staff, reasonable entry fee for us seniors, great accompanying displays on sea horses, tidal pools, shark feeding, climate change and alternate energy - and all so professionally done. The day we were there was crowded (just after Christmas) but don't let this one day put you off- its worth your time and educational experience.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    157
    56
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great for kids and families.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I went here on a recent vacation in San Diego and scored half price tickets through living social. The aquarium itself was suprisingly small, but was pretty and had lots of interesting exhibits. There was a large section on global warming that was interesting as well. It's definately geared towards children, and we would love to bring them there on our next family trip. We only spent about an hour there, which was plenty of time to see everything. Its built right above the ocean and there are some great photo ops.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice small aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a very nice small aquarium, especially nice for younger children. Don't expect anything on the scale of the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the number of sharks and other large fish is very limited. Expect to spend 1 to 2 hours here, but my 5 year old son loved it. There are a number of interactive exhibits that he loved.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Lovely Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a nice, small aquarium. The displays are top notch, and the learning is interesting. I would say it's getting time for a refurbishment/update as some areas are getting a little worn.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Birch Aquarium excellent for kids and adults-clearly written information,marvelous displays.Beautifully sited.
Saw reef tank being cleaned and fish being fed. Wonderful

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birch Aquarium at Scripps also viewed

 

Been to Birch Aquarium at Scripps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Aquarium at Scripps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Birch Aquarium at Scripps to your Saves list