We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7955 La Jolla Shores Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Really enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel La Jolla. After a rough first night due to the road noise we asked to switch rooms and we were graciously accommodated. The rooms at the south end of the property should be avoided (we had room 900). If the hotel had been full, we would have checked out.

After the first night we really enjoyed the room, the service, the people (especially the valet parking staff), and Kusp, the top-floor restaurant.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: At all costs, avoid the rooms on the far south side of the property. They are extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
What a nice review, Bill807! Thank you so much for the 4 STARS! It sounds like you had a great time post room move. I'm sorry that first room didn't work out but I'm happy we were able to find a solution for you. We have such a fantastic team and I'm thrilled to see that you feel the same way. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    177
    72
    37
    28
See reviews for
130
197
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa fe nm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Hotel La Jolla is a typical Kimpton property- clean, contemporary and comfortable. The building has been well renovated and includes a restaurant on the upper floor (did not try). As with all, they accommodate dogs and make them feel very welcome. My Westie was more than happy here. The room includes a very small patio that overlooks an ocean view. Housekeeping does not heed 'do not disturb', and twice knocked on the door when the sign was placed on the door. Note the property is about one mile from the shore so you will need to drive and park to get to the main area of La Jolla, which at times can be tricky to find a spot. Overall a nice place, though I would Probably stay closer to downtown if visiting again.

Room Tip: Higher floor for a better view away from the elevator to lessen noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for the 4 STARS buckaru2! I'm happy to see you and your pooch had such an enjoyable visit to our jewel. I'm so sorry to see that there was a bit of a debacle with your DND sign, we've shared your feedback with the team to ensure we don't make that mistake again. You do not have to drive down to the shores or village because we provide a complimentary shuttle that travels within a 5mi radius of the hotel within La Jolla so let us shuttle you around town when you come back. I hope you will give us another try.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Rooms are still being updated. The exterior of the building shows its age, but the inside is bright and modern. However you still have to walk outside to get the elevators down to the lobby.

Breakfast and valet parking ($28/day) are not included, and you cannot self park. If you want wifi, you need to join the Klimpton "club". There is no charge for this, but I do object to having to provide personal information to get wifi in my room.

We were put in a room opposite the ice machine room, which had no door. It was quite disturbing at times - especially when guests were getting ice early in the morning or late at night. Why couldn't they put a door on this room rather than leaving it open to the corridor?

Bathroom has a weird shower which has a glass panel open to the bedroom. There is a blind you can close, but it is a bit weird. No bathtub.

The hotel is over a mile to the beach in one direction, and the center of town in the other (and up quite a steep hill) You need to take the car, and parking can be horrendous in La Jolla.

Room Tip: Ask for a hiigh level room facing the sea. Also away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Torquay102010,

Thank you for the 4 STAR review. I appreciate the time and detail you put into providing us candid feedback about your stay and will absolutely keep your feedback in mind as we continue to evolve our operation. Feel free to reach out to me directly should you have any other feedback you would like to share that will better improve the hotel.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
shannon.foster@hotellajolla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in to the time we left, the staff at Hotel La Jolla exceeded our expectations. Kyle was a wonderful host and helped to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The hotel had plenty of activities for us to enjoy! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much, xochitlsays! So glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you as well for the shout out for Kyle. Our team has a great time taking care of our guests and I’m so glad you felt the love. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms were quite comfortable but with no bath. Good view of the beach from all rooms. The breakfast in the restaurant was disappointing - ordered berries many of which were rather wrinkly and should not have been served; and huevos rancheros which did no match the description on the menu (where was the chorizo?) and was rather greasy. Despite this it is a good location to stay as in easy walking distance of the lovely beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
acerbic-twit,

Thank you for the positive opener and for the 4 STAR Review. I'm disappointed to see that Cusp did not meet your expectations on this trip, I can assure you that your experience was an anomoly. Please feel free to reach out to me if you'd like to discuss your experience further. I have shared your feedback with the Cusp leadership team as well.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
shannon.foster@hotellajolla.com
858-551-3690
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

From the moment we pulled up to Hotel La Jolla we were greeted with big smiles and felt like family! From the beautiful lobby and the special little sand buckets filled with Jelly Beans for my daughter and son. Our room had the perfect view of the ocean. Our favorite night was making s'mores by the fire pit. The trip for my 2 children and myself was beyond perfect. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Color me impressed AmyT! I am so happy you and your family had such a lovely visit to our hotel. You painted a perfect picture of how we treat our guests and how we like to take care of kids visiting Hotel La Jolla. This review was a treat! Hope you have you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our stay at Hotel La Jolla was one of the best in recent history, mostly because of the fantastic service. From the valets to the front desk staff to the restaurant staff, it was perfect service. The common spaces at the hotel were very comfortable and we had pretty good food from the restaurant upstairs as well as downstairs. The view from the upstairs restaurant's bar is worth seeing, and the room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The only slight issue we had was that when we asked the maid to come back in 5 minutes to clean, she misunderstood and came back at 5pm. We certainly could have called down to the desk to have it cleaned if it had been an issue for us, but we didn't mind. (She also didn't restock the shampoo one day, but we just asked at the desk for more.) The complimentary local shuttle was a huge plus, and I wish more hotels offered this. The whole experience felt like they really thought through the customer experience, and we really appreciated it. And for the price, you really can't beat it. I would certainly stay here again next time, and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
532rome, you are my new favorite guest! This is an amazing review with such the perfect description of your experience. Thank you for such a sweet shout out to the team, they truly are remarkable! I'm so sorry about the housekeeping hiccup, thank you for the feedback. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Cheers!
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.