We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7955 La Jolla Shores Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer Save More
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moline, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and very close to the beach and many nice restaurants. The cruiser bikes that you can use are fun to take down to the beach but it is a difficult ride to La Jolla Cove. We were given a room on the second floor which was like an old motel room with the entrance on the outside, I believe the other floors had entrances on the inside. I am not sure if we were given this room because we were traveling with our dog or because of the special rate we used. But even though we were on a low floor, we did have a balcony with nice chairs and somewhat of a view. The room was nice but there is no bathtub (and I am told none of their rooms have tubs). Upon request we were provided a Keurig coffeemaker in our room which was nice. Overall nice hotel and very beautiful lobby area,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Lori S, thank you so much for the wonderful 4 STAR review! I am so happy to see that you had such a lovely visit to our jewel. I can assure you that all of the rooms have exterior entrances allowing you to soak up a nice breeze of fresh ocean air while walking to your modern guestroom with the exception of our garden patio rooms on the first floor. Don't forget that you can take a rest from those bikes when heading into the village, our valets are happy to take you to and from in our house car. I hope you'll be able to have a little getaway from that cold weather in Illinois and come back to visit us again soon.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    141
    55
    34
    27
See reviews for
99
148
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Spectacular service, luxe rooms and hip and comfortable common areas make this the perfect hotel in La Jolla Cove. On a quick escape with my daughter before a college departure, we enjoyed s'mores in the evening and yummy appetizers and beverages, including a relaxing evening wine hour in front of a welcoming fire pit. Just a 5 minute walk to the beach and great restaurants - be sure to visit The Cheese Shop and Piatti. The hotel's own 11th floor restaurant, Cusp, offers delicious Italian entrees in a cozy luxurious setting with stunning ocean views. Fantastic for couples, families and business travelers - Hotel La Jolla is the perfect place with something for everyone. The service is warm and welcoming and really extraordinary.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Susan E, I am so flattered that you chose us for your mother/daughter getaway. You've described our beautiful jewel in the most eloquent way, we may not let you leave next tiime. We might just steal some of that verbiage for our upcoming website edits....we'll credit you in the foot notes. :) In all seriousness, I am thrilled we knocked it out of the park for you and your daughter and we can not wait to welcome you back.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hive landed a nice deal using priceline where my room base charge was below $100 (94 bucks)

The hotel is great with an amazing entrance it is a 4 stars hotel. The valet charge was $28/ night. The room was great and we had an excellent view. The balcony is very cozy and it has chairs. The internet was free because I signed up with the kimpton hotels reward points (free to join) ..

The staff were super friendly , we got a baby crib for out toddler and he also got a small stuffed animal as a gift which was nice ..

The bathroom there was excellent , the shower room got an automatic curtain on a glass wall where the room can be seen from inside the shower room quite fun feature to try :p

The only place where I wld take points off is the offered in room dining menu was poorly chosen to our taste.. I believe I should have been able to order a burger rather than a very sophisticated salad/fruit plate !! Other food options were not so great and the few ones we chose were off the menu !! Papa Johns was the next in room choice that we took and ordered food from there..

As for spa service u can order it to take place at ur own room we didn't try it tho..there is a pool located on the ground floor.. A fancy restaurant on the 11th floor

Thanx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Sami Y,

Thank you for the fantastic 4 STAR review! We are so happy you had such an enjoyable stay and what a great deal! Now that you are part of our Kimpton InTouch program, you will receive exclusive deals that will hopefully bring you back to us time and time again. I'm so sorry you couldn't find anything on our In-Room Dining menu that appealed to you. We've recently revamped the menus since your stay in December, I think you'll find them more appealing when you visit us in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Service at this hotel (and hotel group) was better than any other hotel group in America. The driveway lined with fire pits was beautiful. The bartenders in the restaurant on the roof were excellent mixologist. The rooms were modern and nice. Altogether a wonderful experience and I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balcony's and the higher your room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
You are a gem Keith K from Tuscon! Thank you for this absolutely perfect 5 STAR review, your feedback is short, sweet, very kind and to the point! We have a great team here and I am so happy to see you feel the same way. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Cheers!
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I visited the hotel in December 2013, the weather was a little rainy and cold but the staff couldn't have made it a better experience. The view from the restaurant (and women's bathroom) was amazing and the service and food were excellent. During wine hour we met a couple traveling from Aulstralia and spent the weekend with them, sightseeing. It was great having the courtesy car, dropping us off downtown and than picking us up without having to find parking.

Room Tip: Best views are floors 6 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Wow Chuck S, I have to say that I am envious of your trip to our property. It sounds like you had an amazing visit and made some new friends along the way. When Bill Kimpton created the "wine hour" each night, it was meant for guests to sit down, relax and discuss the days events with oneanother, it is so wonderful to see you and your husband doing exactly what Bill created wine hour for. I hope you made memories to last a lifetime on your trip to La Jolla and I can not wait to welcome you back.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
General Manager
Hotel La Jolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The only reason I am rating this facility as Very Good, is because the Guest Service Agent at check-in, Valet and the gentleman in the restaurant that appeared to be pulling double duty as the room service attendant and set-up/busperson were so nice. I was not particularly impressed with the server in the restaurant. She was rude and not once other than to put my food down did she say a word. There was no one at the hostess stand, so I stepped into the restaurant and saw that she was waiting a table, but she did make eye contact- she never did come to the front. She did not take the order, didn't offer a warm up on the coffee nor did she bring back the folder with my cc. Just a hot mess. I will find somewhere else to eat to avoid her attitude. This was my first stay at this property, and may be my last depending on the rest of the staff encounters.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hey Traveler,

Thank you for the 4 star review. I am glad you had a great experience with the hotel staff but am disappointed about the service you received in Cusp. Please rest assured your comments did not fall on deaf ears and we will make certain it is addressed.

Thank you again and we hope you will give us another shot!

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just love this hotel. It's pet and EV friendly, our minimum requirements, but the attention to detail was incredible. OpenTable said their restaurant was booked Christmas eve when we arrived, but the front desk called up and got us a table. They were on minimal staff but immediately asked if anyone had food allergies, which my wife does. When the waitress came to take our order, she already knew about the allergies and suggested which plates to avoid. As each course was presented the staff again knew about the allergies and specifically said to avoid sharing certain plates. Amazing attention to details that could ruin any meal. To top it all off, the rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the entire staff is very friendly and helpful. We have a new home in San Diego.

Room Tip: If you have a dog like we do, the ground floor rooms have patios that the dog can lounge in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hey Traveler,

Thank you for the great 5 star review! I am so delighted that you were able to enjoy our amazing restaurant Cusp, and that the team took such great care and attention to the details of your meal. Come back 'home' soon!

Warm Regards,
Nikki Carlson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla
Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.