We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton does it again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7955 La Jolla Shores Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Kimpton does it again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent only one night at this lovely hotel and would definitely return. Spacious well appointed rooms and friendly helpful service. Kimpton is famous for taking older properties and refurbishing them into chic boutique style hotels that offer wonderful ammenities and outstanding service. This hotel is a great location and easy walk to the ocean. In the morning we went for a walk through the neighborhoods around the La Jolla Country Club and were delighted by the beautiful homes and landscaping. We dined at the restaurant on the top floor our one night there and the food, service and ambience were outstanding. A little pricey but then all of La Jolla is tht way. The room price was very fair for the outstanding quality and since I am a Kimpton Loyalty Club member, we got valet parking included in the rate as well as free WiFi and a $10 mini bar credit. I don't belong to many loyalty clubs but it's worth it for Kimpton as we always seek out Kimpton Hotels in any city we visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear sastillman,

I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed our new property and had such a fantastic visit! It's great to see that you are such a loyal Kimpton InTouch member too! it sounds like you were able to spend your trip enjoying the amenities of the hotel and La Jolla, good for you! I hope you are planning a trip back to La Jolla soon, I'd love t meet you.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Cheers!
Shannon Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    161
    63
    36
    28
See reviews for
117
177
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Pros: beautiful hotel, newly-renovated rooms, gorgeous views (from the 5th floor on up).
Cons: Noisy elevator (you can hear it in your room), $28 per day (plus taxes) to park your car and while the bathrooms are quite modern, they are small. Also, if you get a room on the 10th floor you are under a nice but noisy restaurant.
We also found the service to be somewhat spotty; the front desk misplaced a package sent to us (it should have been logged in when received) and in general, the staff was (surprisingly) not very familiar with the surrounding area. The hotel does not have a concierge.
I'd stay here again, but make sure you request a room as far as possible from the elevator unless you are e a very sound sleeper!

Room Tip: Floors 7 through 9 and away from that elevator!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Joe A.,

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback regarding your experience. Your feedback is very important to us in order to improve the experience for you as well as our future guests. I can assure you that your concerns mentioned will be followed up on and your next stay will be amazing!

Please contact me directly prior to your next visit to La Jolla.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
858-551-3690
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel La Jolla features updated rooms, outstanding customer service and a quiet setting to relax and enjoy the area. Located near a busy intersection, but in a quiet neighborhood, you might pass the entrance if you don't play close attention. This first impression makes a difference. Driving up the fire pot lined driveway to the hotel's lobby at night clearly indicates the hotel's commitment to making your stay a memorable one. Rooms are updated and offer interesting and sometimes wonderful features. The glass shower in our room offered a mechanical shade that could be closed to allow for privacy but opened to view the ocean if you are so inclined, a very nice feature in such picturesque surrondings. While not directly on the ocean, the hotel offers some of the best views in town. Hotel La Jolla offers it's main restaurant on it's top floor. It offers good food at reasonable (for La Jolla) prices. Menu is adventurous but sometimes veers too far to one side (4 pork dishes can be a little overwhelming), but the soups and appetizers are top notch. The hotel's outdoor bar is very nice, again lined with fireplaces and fire pots that make it very cozy and welcoming. Bar staff are very nice and know how to make a real mixed drink the way you would like it. The staff provided transportation in a five mile radius of the hotel, both drop off and pick up, very friendly and prompt. The maintainence staff was responsive and did a great job. When we stayed, hotel was very uncrowded which made the strong service even better. We were not ignored nor overserved. For less that $200 per night you cannot find a better place in La Jolla. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, higher floors offer even better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear MSC0706,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your kind words about your experience at the hotel. It is so great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience from the moment that you arrived to the hotel throughout your entire stay. Your complimentary feedback about our staff is very much appreciated and will be shared with our team.

I hope you will be back to see us again soon!

All my best,
Shannon Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Came for work, stayed at Hotel La Jolla for 3 nights. Friendly staff, great food and very talented bartenders (pre-prohibition drinks at Cusp and Friday evening live music were the highlight). Valets will drop you off and pick you up anywhere within 5 mile, complimentary. Overall, very pleasant experience and good value for the rates they charge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Penny K,

Thank you for choosing to stay us for your work trip to La Jolla this month and thank you for the 5-Star review! I was so happy to see that you were able to dine in Cusp and enjoyed the live music and drinks in Hiatus. I hope to have you with us again very soon!

Cheers!
Shannon Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALABASAS
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were so pleased to find this hotel, suggested by a fellow business traveler. We were working in San Diego for two days, and this is the perfect place if you need to be budget conscious. Go for an upper floor with an ocean view; it's worth it. They are extremely accommodating, with UCSD students for valet parking, etc. To us, that meant that they were young, educated and thoughtful; unusual in a hotel. They have renovated with a retro look, but very clean lines, which is carried out in the rooms. Although they weren't large, everything is done very tastefully. The road noise is a bit higher than I would like, but not bad. But for the money, this is a steal.

Room Tip: Upper floor with ocean view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear boothstar,

Thank you for staying with us, it's so great to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed the newly renovated hotel. When you stay next time, inform the reservations agent that you would like to have a room on the north side of the building and we will do our very best to accommodate that for you.

Thanks again for staying with us and for the great review.

I hope to have you with us again soon.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel La Jolla right after Christmas for a fabulous 4 nights. The ocean view room w/small balcony was spacious and modern. The best part is that we were able to take our dog, Betty Lou. The hotel was amazing, super clean with the best outdoor bar and pool area. The "Cusp" restaurant on the 11th floor was unbelievable! The foods was perfect and the view was just astounding. Every evening they have complimentary wine in the lobby. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear sandrags,

Thanks so much for spending your Christmas with and for the phenomenal review! I'm so happy to see that you and Betty Lou had such a great stay! Hopefully we will see you again soon, especially over the next few months as the weather warms up.

All my best,
Shannon Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel was a bit more luxury than my wife and I were accustomed to. We were there on a routine Wednesday in January when there were few guests but a lot of help trying their best to compete for cash tips. I don’t mind taking my bag to the room, thank you.. Thanks for the restaurant hints but we’ve already picked out our dining spot this evening. No thank you for the parking valet service for $28. I’ll park a few blocks away for free if you don’t mind.

We did ask for a good view on a high floor but were told that that would be $40 extra.

This is a 4-star hotel but is in an inconvenient location. Nothing is close. You must drive everywhere or take the hotel shuttle to your destination. The room was very, very, nice but we weren’t in it much. On the whole, this hotel possessed a nostalgic charm from another era.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon F, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear WVCliff,

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience. Please accept my sincerest apologies for our service having been off putting for you. I can assure you that the team genuinely cares for our guests and likes to contribute to the overall positive experience.

I'd love for you to give us another chance. Please fee free to contact me directly when you come back to La Jolla.

Warm Regards,

Shannon Foster
858-551-3690
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 7955 La Jolla Shores Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with upscale decor and high end bedding and amenities. All non-smoking rooms, glass balconies, small gym, heated pool, walking distance to beach and La Jolla Shores shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jolla Shores
At The Shores La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.