We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - Five Star but with the intimacy of a brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Valencia Hotel to your Saves list
La Valencia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel - Five Star but with the intimacy of a brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is one of the most charming hotels in the USA. Magnificent site over the
Pacific Ocean just north of San Diego. Lovely bedrooms; excellent food and
simply the best staff - at every level - you will find anywhere in the world.
Special mention to the bar - a wonderful " Cheers " type bar, with simply the
best barman around, Ty. Take a bow, Ty , you made our week !

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Five Star Guest -
Your review is brilliant and we can't thank you enough your exceptional praise. Thank you very much for taking time to put us in a ranking at the top in world wide hotel experiences and also for including some kudos on Ty our bartender who serves up some great hospitality.
Ciao -
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    173
    62
    51
    20
See reviews for
146
406
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakebay, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location by shopping and the ocean. Rooms and hotel have great views! Free computer and printer access. The beds are comfortable. The restayrant and drinks in the hotel are good. Pool and hot tub are nice. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are quaint. The air conditioners in the rooms are a little loud.

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Location -
I am pleased you enjoyed our views, pool and more - it sounds like overall a great stay but we will work to earn those 2 extra stars when you return. Our apologies on the A/C sound level.
Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I truly enjoyed this short getaway and most of it is due to the La Valencia. I needed to attend a work event and my husband and two boys used the opportunity to relax and visit some of their favorite places. The villa was one of the best decisions we could have made; the rooms were comfortable, clean, quiet, and had a very large bathroom with all of the amenities we would want. The service was impeccable and my boys enjoyed walking out of the villa at 7:30 pm for a dip in the heated pool and then come inside to relax with room service. They wished that every day could be like this... so did I! I particularly enjoyed having a glass of wine and viewing the ocean from our villa. This was the perfect family weekend/work trip.

Room Tip: We selected one of the villas and would recommend it in a heartbeat to any family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Great Family -
I am so happy to know that La V delivered the right mix for your 2 boys and their great parents! Our slice of paradise is a welcome escape to rest and relax for a week, a weekend or even a day and we hope to welcome you back soon for some well deserved RnR.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wife flying back home and wanted to surprise her on her birthday. Just an overnight visit. It was great. Room was perfect and the people were friendly and very helpful. Just a perfect overnight getaway. Our favorite restaurant was just across the street.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear One Night -
Thank you for making La V part of the birthday plans - we're happy that your stay experience earned us a 5 star review. Next time please try our signature restaurant THE MED where executive chef James Montejano recently received the 2014 San Diego Food & Wine Festivals People Choice award - his cuisine is amazing
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cos Cob, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent 2 nights and had a fabulous time. The hotel had a perfect location for both relaxation and activity. Just walk across the street and you are on the Ocean or a few steps the other way and you are surrounded by shops and restaurants. The room was small but well appointed and had a great view. We were in room 823, I don't think all of the rooms have such a spectacular view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was my birthday and they even sent up champagne and cake when my husband notified them. The rates are high but not when compared to the quality of location and amenities, and we felt well worth it. If you are looking for a beautiful and relaxing time away highly consider La Valencia.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Beautiful Guest -
Thanks much for the 5 STAR review and for sharing such great information about your stay. Your room was a Vintage King Ocean - our smaller rooms but all with exceptional ocean views. 70% of our 114 rooms have views of the Pacific and the remainder are garden or village facing. We're delighted that you found La V worth the price - we believe our combination of location, iconic property and superior staff make for a great stay.
See you back soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel surpassed our hopes for it. Charming, full of character but clean and new. Impeccable staff helping quickly and efficiently with all our requests. And the food at the hotel was excellent.
Overall it was a total delight and we will be back soon.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Perfect Getaway Guest -
We're so pleased that your escape to La V including great dining was a hit and we thank you for sharing your comments. The team works to ensure that each guest experience is special and it is enhanced by our wonderful travelers. See you back soon we hope.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 x nights at the Valencia with my wife and Daughter. We had requested a rollaway bed for my teenage daughter , but this hadn't been arranged. The first room we were allocated was just too small for the extra bed. We were subsequently moved to a much larger room , but it overlooked the main road. Traffic noise started quite early & woke everybody.
Hotel Bars and restaurants are excellent , great views across the pacific.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a Sea View Room , away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear La V Guest -
Thank you for the great comments on our Restaurant Dining for THE MED and Café la Rue - we appreciate the kudos. It sounds like you originally booked a Vintage Room which notes on the website that it is for a maximum of 2 guests as roll-away bed requests cannot be accommodated due to room size. Several of our larger Classic rooms do face the courtyard patio and Prospect Street in the Village of La Jolla. When you're ready to return please contact our reservations team directly and ensure you let them know the total number of guests so that we can steer you to the right size room and view of your preference.
Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 112 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants, including the sassy and casual Cafe la Rue the signature restaurant, THE MED with patio, dining room and terrace dining is it's own experience. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.