We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ocean view, beautiful hotel, impeccable service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Valencia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5-10-15 Special
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
1 review
“Amazing ocean view, beautiful hotel, impeccable service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding at La Valencia this month and one word comes to mind: WOW! From the moment we met with the Sales and Catering Manager, Bobby Fader, to the day we checked out, we (and our guests) were amazed with the fabulous service we received.

The hotel itself is vintage yet classy. The ocean views are to die for. The room we stayed in was very luxe. We had to opportunity to have dinner and brunch on seperate occasions. Both times, the food and service were stellar. We were always attended to and we felt very welcome.

The wedding itself was amazing. The servers were attentive to ours and our guests special needs. Meeting with Bobby was always a breeze, he always made himself available to our schedule. He made our special day less stressful. Our guests commented on how great the food was - something that was very important to me on our wedding day.

Do yourself a favor and stay the hotel. Even if you are not having an event there, have a meal at The Med or a drink at the bar and take in what San Diego has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    145
    53
    50
    20
See reviews for
118
329
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and i spend 5 nights at LaV to celebrate my 50th birthday the first week of August. the Hotel itself is in the center of LaJolla, so easy to walk around to shop, explore, sample nearby restaurants, etc.. the views from LaV of the ocean and cove are fabulous. Our room was spacious and comfortable. More importantly the staff at La V treated us like royalty. we arrived to a bottle of champagne from Nancy the conceirge wishing me a happy birthday. From the front desk, to servers, bartenders, pool attendants and valets, they all made us feel welcome and special throughout our stay. All were so geniune. We are now adding the LaV and LaJolla as one of our regular vacations spots. i can't wait to come back! Thank you LaV!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed there for 2 nights. The fitness center is very small, the hotel is very quaint and luxurious, the restaurant and ocean views are beautiful, although service is marginal. The pool and hot tub are great, and the cantina near the pool is accommodating. It's a lovely property in the middle of downtown la jolla. Even surrounded by a busier city, the room was quiet and we slept great. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a charming hotel in the heart of La Jolla. Comfortable beds, though rooms are a bit on the small side. Literally steps away from good restaurants and shopping. We'd definitely stay here again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to La Valencia, although we had driven by it many times on previous trips to San Diego. We absolutely loved the hotel and would stay again. I would have given it 5 stars, except our guest room was pretty small. When they say 200 sq. ft., they mean it, so no room service in this room. However, there are other larger rooms which I would request on our next visit. The hotel is gorgeous, updated but still retaining the historical elegance for which its known. We had breakfast at The Terrace which offers beautiful views and delicious food. We enjoyed the pool - Kevin made a fantastic Bloody Mary - and the extra comfortable lawn chairs. Cafe la Rue is the perfect place for a cocktail, snack and people watching. The location in the heart of La Jolla's shopping district is great to wander around. Valet parking is little pricey at $30 per night, but the valet staff is quick and very personable. Overall we truly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: DO NOT CHOOSE A VINTAGE KING! This is a really small room. It's worth the extra $$ to have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the La Valencia for two nights with some family friends. When we checked in we got upgraded to a suite! We got there early so they stored our luggage while we enjoyed the pool, which was family friendly. The hotel was within walking distance of many restaurants, so we walked to a place which was recommended by the hotel, and it was very nice. The next day we came and went from the hotel several times, and they made it easy by bringing our car right up to the front for us. I have to say that the staff was extremely friendly without exception. The surroundings were lovely. What was really nice about the hotel was that it was small enough to have a cozy feel, yet nice enough to feel like you were staying at a luxury resort. I would stay here again if/when I come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an absolutely beautiful, quaint hotel! The rooms are somehow spacious while the overall building remains cozy. Love the decor, the beds are comfortable with five (5!) pillows on each, the location & view are amazing...THIS is the place to stay in La Jolla! Love it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 112 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants, including the sassy and casual Cafe la Rue the signature restaurant, THE MED with patio, dining room and terrace dining is it's own experience. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.