We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Valencia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5-10-15 Special
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Gorgeous views, wonderful room! I know the bathroom was a bit teeny but we loved the room! We had just come from a meeting at a hotel in Mission Beach that was full of screaming children and this was a relaxing treat! Excellent restaurant and room service. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room higher up, you won't be disappointed. The lobby (street level) is at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    144
    53
    49
    20
See reviews for
112
315
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at La Valencia 20 years ago, and it was a magical time for me and my then boyfriend, now husband. Fast forward to yesterday...my Goddaughter is on vacation in SoCal and she took my advice and booked a night at LaV. This trip for her is poignant in that 1 month ago, her mother, my best friend. passed away at age 57 from Glioblastoma - a deadly brain tumor. 3.5 months from Dx to her passing. My Goddaughter needs and deserves some beauty, peace and joy. So....once I found out that she was indeed staying there, I went to work to see if there was anything I could, based on availability of course, to make her stay there even more special. I was NOT disappointed. In-house reservations staff member, Elvia, worked with me to ensure that my GD had the best room possible, and then Concierge Bree, helped me to send a bottle of wine (on the house...btw!!) to my GD's room for her arrival. Their dedication and passion to ensuring that my GD was well taken care of was top notch, and to me, the signs of a well managed team and property. I can't say thank you enough to Bree and Elvia....they certainly did not have to go above and beyond for me, but they took my requests and ran with them! This is the kind of customer care that ensures that I will be booking at La Valencia as soon as I find a reason...or not...to be in La Jolla! Thank you SO much, Bree, Elvia and la Valencia!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were guests at La Valencia from July 14-16, 2014. Our reservations were booked over the phone, not on the internet. WE stayed in an oceanfront villa (#12) which has a fireplace, balcony, jacuzzi tub, and the best shower we've ever experienced. There is a rain head as well as a forceful adjustable shower head.

The location can't be beat. You don't even need a car. Our friends who live locally came over and couldn't believe how terrific it was and said it will be their #1 recommendation to visiting family and friends.

The staff from check-in to valet to housekeeping were friendly and attentive. The grounds, common area and room were immaculate.

Nearly forgot to mention the champagne and beautiful & delicious chocolate dipped strawberries with a lovely, personalized anniversary greeting.

We WILL be back!

Room Tip: Adored the ocean front room. However, if the sound of seagulls or children at play in the park acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Happiness ++++
We love you and love your friends for believing that La V is #1 - that is a honor we respect and are humbled by - thank you.I am happy that your villa experience was enjoyable and yes, agree that seagulls and children in Scripps Park can sometimes be part of package but I am glad the privacy and luxury trappings of the accommodations balanced the mix.
Thank you again - we hope to see you back at La V soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St albans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although it's a bit pricey, the quality of the rooms and how beautiful the hotel was made us feel it was really worth it.

The location is superb-easy access to the beach and to the shops/restaurants, valet parking (although it's quite pricey), beautiful pool with spectacular views of the sea.

Loved it here and would definitely go back in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Beautiful Guest -
BRAVO and thank you from a grateful and gracious team; we are so pleased that your stay and hotel experience earned us a 5 star review. We hope to see you back again and we will continue to work hard to earn your loyalty.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here last weekend for a little getaway. Rooms still dated the new bar area looks nice and what they have done with the outside balcony is cool. Unfortunately that is where the changes for the good stop. The fine dining restaurant... cheaply done poor lighting, really mediocre food. We were here earlier this year the room was just as ugly but at least the food was good. Service: nobody anywhere. Could not find a hostess, no server at anytime seemed to know anything about anything. Truly quite ridiculous for a property of this caliber. This place has really went downhill. I miss the old front area. It's really bleak now. The rooms: lighting horrible, air conditioner from 1982 is noisy, we just tried to leave the hotel as much as possible. Needless to say we will not be back. Thank you La Valencia for destroying yourself. Not sure where we will stay in the future. When we decide to stay in La jolla again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest -
Naturally we strive for excellent reviews so your comments are indeed disappointing. Our team strives to ensure that our guests received attentive service throughout there stay which includes making any necessary efforts to address concerns or needs when we have the opportunity. I apologize if our restaurant staff were not attentive - that is not acceptable to us. I am also sorry that the thoughtful and diligent renovation of THE MED was not to your liking. For your reference we did retain and restore the rooms original period piece wrought iron chandeliers so lighting has not changed. Our guests rooms were all renovated between 2012 - 2013, the first time in the hotels history that all rooms were renovated in one period.
I am truly sorry that your experience did not earn us an excellent score but distressed that your impressions on the guest room & MED décor as well as hostess issues results in as terrible rating - did you let any of our staff know of your concerns?
We will continue to work hard to earn the business of every guest and will consider ways to make your review a beneficial training opportunity.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was lovely! It included an attractive sitting area with sofa ,coffee table etc. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were really nice.
The bathtub was large, spa like, and jetted for ultimate relaxation.
The view from our room overlooked the beautiful pool area and behind that the ocean. It was truly breathtaking!.
The staff were always helpful and very friendly.
The food was delicious, we ate there twice. Also, many other restaurants and clubs were nearby.
For a special occasion it is a real treat!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room with a balcony. Also you will be accommodated if you ask for a refrigera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Anniversary Guest -
Many thanks for the great kudos and for sharing your experience with others. We recognize that San Diego has many hotel options to select from and honored that La V continues to be the first choice for many over and over and over again. Anniversaries celebrations come every year and La V will be here to help you celebrate!
Ciao,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This lovely hotel seems to have a great personality of its own: charming, stylish and friendly! It's definitely upscale, so I found the service to be on par with the Four Seasons, but certainly a bit less formal. My room was cozy (yes, small), and clean and it featured an amazing terrace overlooking the ocean that was probably as large as my room -- with two lounge chairs and a table with two chairs, also. I spent a lot of time on the terrace!
I suggest asking some questions when you book a room, because it's an older hotel and they have a lot of different types of rooms and options.
It's right in the middle of town, so even if you are not staying here, I suggest going to the lounge for a drink or the restaurant -- they both feature such gorgeous views of the ocean and La Jolla cove, that you might not want to leave. Their famous cocktail, The Pink Lady is light & refreshing!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Stylish & Seasoned Guest -
We are thrilled to be recognized in the same service category of Four Seasons; thank you. Our goal is to craft a personable and genuine hotel experience a la Southern California - we are so pleased it resonated with you.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience - we are most grateful to have such wonderful guests.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Directore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Charming, Beach...
Show More
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
Pool, Family-fr...
Show More
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#4 of 268 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#8 of 23 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#16 of 23 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Luxury, Pool, R...
Show More
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 112 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants, including the sassy and casual Cafe la Rue the signature restaurant, THE MED with patio, dining room and terrace dining is it's own experience. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.