We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Elequant Historical Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming and Elequant Historical Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I traveled up to La Jolla for a long awaited get away. Every aspect of our anticipated trip far surpassed our expectation. Our first wonderful experience was at the Front Desk where Shawn took very good care of us making sure our room was just perfect and to our liking. We were so surprised to have such an amazing view from the 10th floor and such a spacious beautifully appointed room. Every detail was strategically attended to by the excellent housekeeping staff.
Our next great experience was with Nancy our concierge. She had pre-arranged arranged the special bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries to be sent to our room. It was mentioned that we were celebrating a very special occasion and she definitely picked up on it. She'd also helped give me the confidence that I needed to enjoy the La Jolla Cove Cave Kayaking Tour. Our guide Kim was so knowledgeable so if you go in the tour make sure to request her at Bike and Kayak LaJolla!
Also besure to not miss having dinner at The Med on the terrace as the view is to die for. The food is amazing. I have salmon almost every time I eat out and have never had wild salmon prepared so deliciously. The scallops were also a hit with my husband as well as the Lobster Bisque Soup and Crispy Brussels Sprouts for starters. Our serving staff was excellent and the suggestions that our waiter Andrew made were right on. He was so right on top
with excellent service to our table.
We will definitely recommend La Valencia to our friends and family and hope to come back to stay ourselves soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear WOW guest -
I was reading your many other Trip Advisor reviews as a seasoned traveler and I am in awe of your travel experience and therefore delighted that you hold La V in such high esteem; thank you. It is rewarding to read that our staff was on point to make ensure your expectations were exceeded including that of accommodations and cuisine - I too love the Brussels Sprouts in THE MED; a top favorite.
Thank you again for choosing La V - we are honored.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    136
    49
    49
    18
See reviews for
95
283
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

From the moment I arrived, I felt like royalty. The hotel arranged early check in and late check out, which came in very handy, since I was only staying one day. Room 517 was just steps from the pool, yet very quiet and had a partial ocean view (although I did not pay for an ocean view). The pool attendant immediately brought me a water, and catered to my every need. The staff had delicious fresh coffee in the lobby each morning (as well as coffee in the room) and orange water as well. The bed was heavenly, and the decor top notch. It felt as nice as staying in a castle. Granite bathroom, fluffy towels, delicious food....nothing could be improved upon. The staff was so far beyond 5 star, especially at the front desk.

Room Tip: Most or all rooms facing the pool have some ocean view. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Paradise Royalty -
You're description requires no more than a big thank you - I am personally proud that La V delivered. I am always pleased to know that guests in our Tower Wing with the more intimate rooms are as enchanted and pleased with the La V experience as those who stay in our suites or villas. Room 517 is one of those with a more cozy foot print but great views and of course very well appointed. Please let us know when another La Jolla escape is in your plans - La V will deliver.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We hosted 40 people for a 5 day event. Our needs included meeting space as well as a variety of banquet services from breaks to complete dinners. The staff was accomodating and very helpful. The service was great. Choose the La Valencia and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Meeting Planner -
Thank you very much for the great review and entrusting your important event to our care. Our sales, service and banquet staff are thrilled to be able to add the comfort of smooth planning and great service to our meeting and conference guests.
La V is ready to make this an annual event!
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had our wedding at La Valencia almost 2 weeks ago and it was absolutely perfect!! We both grew up in La Jolla and have always thought of La V as the most beautiful hotel in town. Leo Lopez and Stephanie Howard went above and beyond to provide us with the most amazing experience during our wedding rehearsal, wedding ceremony and reception, and also our stay at the hotel. The oceanfront views are breathtaking, and the food at our reception was exceptional - we served the filet and the seabass(highly recommend both). All our guests were raving about the food and the service from the staff, whose attention to detail was incredible! We stayed in the Garden Suite one night, which was so big and perfect for wedding parties, and we stayed in an Oceanfront Villa on our wedding night, which was so AMAZING and spacious. The beauty and design of the hotel make you feel like you are in a Spanish or Italian seaside town. I had a pool day with my bridesmaids, which was so relaxing and it was great to be able to order cocktails and food poolside. I cannot say enough good things about our experience here, and I feel so lucky to be able to return to the oceanfront patio for cocktails with my new husband. I definitely recommend this hotel for couples, families, and girlfriend getaways, and I especially recommend it for Weddings! Thank you La V for making our wedding day so special!!!

Room Tip: Garden Suite is awesome, near the reception room. Ocean Villas are more private and closer to the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Newly Wed -
We LOVE Weddings and we LOVE you! We truly cannot thank you enough for entrusting this special event to our care. Although we host dozens and dozens of weddings monthly, we do make sure that we treat each with exceptional care - your big day is our big day. I am so happy to see that you have returned to enjoy the hotel and restaurants since saying "I do" - we're honored to know that La V has already become your new locals home.
Congrats on the nuptials - see you at the bar!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms were of good size, a balcony looking over the water and a large bathroom. Over all, we had a great time over our 3 night stay. I was only surprised to see that they had no movie system in their rooms, the one night we wanted to stay in and watch a movie in our hotel room, we couldn't, which was a disappointment.
Only major criticism would be the expensive restaurant and bar - overpriced cocktails and breakfast menu. Otherwise, good sized rooms, great view, and good service. I would recommend someone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sydney Guest,
Thank you for the overall positive review - we appreciate the time you took to post your feedback. I am sorry that you were unable to watch your planned movie one night but unsure why; perhaps you can elaborate? If so please feel free to email me direct at mdibella@lavalencia.com.
THE MED menu ranges from $9 - $22 for breakfast, $11 - 28 for lunch and $22 - $49 for dinner and we also have a lighter all day dining menu in La Sala. In late 2013 we will add Café laRue as another dining option with more casual fare.
Thank you again - see you soon we hope.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here a couple of weekend’s ago. We were celebrating an anniversary and the La Valencia made a short get away a memorable weekend treat. From the moment that we pull in front of the hotel to the day we left, the staff and service people were outstanding.

This historic hotel is in an ideal location, within walking distance of a numerous restaurants, shopping, and of course the ocean. If you enjoy breakfast on the outside deck with great views of the ocean, a lazy lunch at the pool, or a glass of wine, maybe it was two, at the comfortable spacious bar then this is the place for you. Beautiful rooms, great location, friendly attentive staff, what more could you ask?

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for special unique stay. The service, hotel, food is top notch.

Dave S
Temecula, Ca

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Temecula Anniversary Guest -
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with La V - we appreciate your choice of our coastal boutique hotel to get away. I really love your recognition and description of our staff service as outstanding - that means a great deal. The historic property, stellar coastal setting are all icing but only if we deliver great service.
Don't wait for anniversaries to come back again - thank you!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Quite impressed with the friendly and professional front desk, got early check-in around 2:00 instead of 4:00, then late check-out at 1:00.

Loved the location of rm. 421, a cozy (smallish) corner room, due to the wrap around pathway/balcony, both the wood-shuttered door and window on both walls facing the pool and ocean are not openable, comfy bed, nice ropes, no tub (hb complained the shower being too small), Molton Brown toiletries, with turn-down service (closing the shutter and drapes, refill the tea/coffee rack, no chocolates or slippers.), business center with two stations (free color prints) and well equiped fitness center (both on our 4-th floor next to the elevator), use a different elevator outside of our room, over the villa side to go down to pool level.

The pleasant palm tree framed poolside with oceanview was constantly packed, with no one in the pool, found out next day, the pool has no deep end, and quite shallow, non-existent jets in the jacuzzi, till the nice poolside bartender cleaned the sand out from the blocked pipe for me, a short test run should be done in early morning, when a manager with a staff were inspecting the pool area.

Thankfully, the strong smell from the bird rocks that deterred us from having Sunday brunch at Brockton Villa ($$) and Crab Catcher ($$$) in very close vincinity is totally absent in the hotel ($$$).

A standard room like the one we booked, was $260+ a night online a couple of days prior to our stay on 9/15/13, but thanks to a $100 gift certificate from jetsetter.com, plus one of their today's deal for $125/night a week ago, almost a free room, then arriving early enough, got free street parking, otherwise $30/day valet, just may turn away happy campers like us.

Room Tip: Room 421 with pool/ocean view corner room is a great standard room, unless the nice front desk gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jetsetter Guest -
Many thanks for the wonderful review and detailed comments on your stay. I am pleased that our more intimate rooms combined with our personable service and exceptional location made for a great stay. Please check our website for hotel promotions next time you're thinking of returning - we can ensure the best options direct!
See you again soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla hotel, it’s an icon, having hosted celebrities, celebrations, reunions and romantic getaways since 1926. Just steps from miles of stunning coastline, world-class museums, shopping and galleries, it’s the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel’s Mediterranean influenced architecture and décor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind La Jolla hotel. Choose from 112 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Ocean Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. And, with three distinctive restaurants, including the award winning Sky Room and Whaling Bar & Grill, as well as indoor and outdoor conference, catering and wedding facilities, La Valencia is the ideal location to vacation, meet and celebrate. Experience the beauty of Southern California in one of San Diego’s most elegant and historic hotels, and become a part of La Valencia’s history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Splendia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Valencia Hotel to your Saves list