We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Valencia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5-10-15 Special
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Culver City, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great access to the restaurants and stores of La Jolla. Quick walk down to beach. Love it here. Staff was exceptional, and helpful, and the restaurant manager greeted us by name each day. Since it's minutes away from San Diego, I would recommend this for anyone going there as well.

Room Tip: We were on eighth floor and slept well. Rooms are small, but it's historic charm is welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Culver City Guest,
The team at La V is happy to know that your stay was great and that our iconic and charming hotel was enjoyable. Both La V & La Jolla are a wonderful combination of relaxing ambiance and coastal luxury. See you again soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    144
    53
    49
    19
See reviews for
111
310
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times over the last 6 months as my partner is in San Diego for work.

Highly recommended to all visitors of La Jolla or San Diego. Location of the hotel cannot get any better, you are right by he village where there are lots of boutiques. On the other side you have the ocean! Some ocean facing rooms are so close that you can even hear the seals!

Pool was excellent, gym is on the small side. There was also a piano man during happy hour and the view is second to none for the subset.

Room service was outstanding, have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the globe and hands down this is the best room service I have ever had! Food is seasoned well, hot, fresh and delivered promptly. We ended ordering room service for most nights.

Hands down one of the best places to stay in La Jolla, friendly staff and the location will blow you away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Hong Kong Guest,
I am not sure where to begin in thanking you for such a wonderful review. Our team and I are happy to know your La V experience was a hit – and please know that as of today we just completed and opened our newly expanded and renovated fitness room with brand new state of the art equipment – La V will continue to enhance our property and experience to ensure our guests have a grand stay.
See you soon we hope.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had never stayed at La Valencia before, and to be honest, had been put off by some of the reviews that said it needed upgrades. On previous trips, we'd stayed at the Grande Colonial, but it was fully booked this time. I'd heard that there'd been a recent refurbishment of La Valencia and thought I'd give it a try, because I always enjoy visiting historic hotels.

There was some construction going on to renovate the entrance and restaurant, so when I arrived I was a bit worried. But once I stepped into the lobby and saw the gorgeous cocktail lounge with its ocean view, and was greeted with such warmth at the front desk, I knew this was going to be a nice stay. Then, to top it off ... they upgraded me to an ocean-view suite in the newly renovated wing that was once the Cabrillo Hotel.

That suite: what a splendid view! Spacious. Comfortable. A bathroom with both a shower and a bath/jacuzzi. (I had Room 204.)

I truly felt this was a luxury experience. I know others have complained that the regular rooms were small, so if you can afford it, I highly recommend upgrading to one of the oceanview suites.

Valets were quick and helpful with the car. In the cocktail lounge, I enjoyed a martini and oysters, surrounded by the glory of old La Jolla. I dined in the restaurant for breakfast -- and surprise surprise, they served cappuccino that could rival cafes in Italy (and I admit it, I'm a coffee snob.)

This hotel completely exceeded my expectations. Would come back in a second.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Maine Guest,
We’re glad you came back; thank you! Under new ownership the La V leadership team did recognize that up-grades were indeed in store. We have already completed a renovation of all our guest rooms, suites and villas as well as our event rooms, fitness room and our business center. We’re moving on to restoration of our entry courtyard and a renovation of our Prospect Street restaurant in the footprint of the Whaling Bar; Café LaRue (circa the late 1940’s) will return to La V later this year. Still more great things in store.
Thank you for the wonderful staff and dining complements; I too love the cappuccino!
See you back again soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel with great views and several of great restaurants. The rooms were smallish, but well maintained and clean. Service was friendly and professional, and the it's located right in the center of La Jolla within walking distance of lots of shops and eats.

Really enjoyed the live music in the bar, but it can get noisy on weekend evenings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear San Francisco Guest,
Thank you for selecting La V for a get away from the bay area. La Sala Lounge does indeed offer live music 7 days a week from 5 PM – 8 PM and happy hour from 4 PM – 6 PM – it can be livelier on weekends with many hotel wedding guests celebrating earlier “I do’s”; we love the excitement.
Our staff looks forward to your return.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the room to be quite well appointed,but SMALL

The staff was ok-not more
There was an issue with our reservation, and they seemed swamped at that time we were disappointed ...
Was eventually resolved

On our second day, Room was made up in late afternoon( 5.00 p.m.)
:(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear La Quinta Guest,
Great things come is small packages! La V has 112 rooms with everything from 1,000 sq. ft. villas to spacious suites to our more intimate (small) traditional rooms most of which have 9 ft. ceilings and sweeping ocean views. We do have something for every expectation and budget. I am sorry that your arrival reservation was not in order but pleased that our team resolved any issues; thank you for your patience. I would have hoped your experience with our staff was more inspiring but will use your comments to ensure we try harder.
Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just ended a wonderful week with an old friend--this wonderfully retro hotel with one of the best locations imaginable. The view of the waves crashing in the Cove, framed with mature palms and an abundance of flowering plants, is just gorgeous. You never tire of it. The hotel is a grand dame with appropriate Spanish colonial architecture. Insist on a room with an ocean view -- worth the additional cost -- and enjoy drinks in La Sala to live piano music and watch the sunset view. Rooms are being refurbished. Mine had not been but was perfectly fine. Only complaint -- minor -- was the shower pressure. Excellent food and service in all venues. Nicholas was an excellent server on the terrace restaurant (which shares that priceless view) for several meals.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view and request an upper floor -- lobby entrance is on 7th floor--try for 8th or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Texas Traveler,
We love that your consider La V your old friend; what a marvelous complement to our comfortable and casual ambiance; thank you. All the rooms are indeed now completed but I am pleased that you were happy and that the trappings of La Sala and the Mediterranean Room are once again excellent. Your friends look forward to our friends return!
Ciao,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was courteous and extremely polite. We had a corner room with amazing ocean views of the ocean. Multiple weddings were occurring so it was busy but the staff kept up and made us all feel special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Reno Guest,
I’m delighted that our staff ensured that you felt as special as our wedding guests, brides and grooms. La V offers such a wonderful ambiance that no occasion is needed to escape to our amazing setting to feel special. We’re grateful that you spent time with us and hope you return again.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 112 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants, including the sassy and casual Cafe la Rue the signature restaurant, THE MED with patio, dining room and terrace dining is it's own experience. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.