We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are a bit small, but otherwise a great place to stay in La Jolla.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Valencia Hotel to your Saves list
La Valencia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5-10-15 Special
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Rooms are a bit small, but otherwise a great place to stay in La Jolla.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel with great views and several of great restaurants. The rooms were smallish, but well maintained and clean. Service was friendly and professional, and the it's located right in the center of La Jolla within walking distance of lots of shops and eats.

Really enjoyed the live music in the bar, but it can get noisy on weekend evenings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear San Francisco Guest,
Thank you for selecting La V for a get away from the bay area. La Sala Lounge does indeed offer live music 7 days a week from 5 PM – 8 PM and happy hour from 4 PM – 6 PM – it can be livelier on weekends with many hotel wedding guests celebrating earlier “I do’s”; we love the excitement.
Our staff looks forward to your return.
Cheers,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    154
    56
    50
    20
See reviews for
124
350
31
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the room to be quite well appointed,but SMALL

The staff was ok-not more
There was an issue with our reservation, and they seemed swamped at that time we were disappointed ...
Was eventually resolved

On our second day, Room was made up in late afternoon( 5.00 p.m.)
:(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear La Quinta Guest,
Great things come is small packages! La V has 112 rooms with everything from 1,000 sq. ft. villas to spacious suites to our more intimate (small) traditional rooms most of which have 9 ft. ceilings and sweeping ocean views. We do have something for every expectation and budget. I am sorry that your arrival reservation was not in order but pleased that our team resolved any issues; thank you for your patience. I would have hoped your experience with our staff was more inspiring but will use your comments to ensure we try harder.
Many thanks,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just ended a wonderful week with an old friend--this wonderfully retro hotel with one of the best locations imaginable. The view of the waves crashing in the Cove, framed with mature palms and an abundance of flowering plants, is just gorgeous. You never tire of it. The hotel is a grand dame with appropriate Spanish colonial architecture. Insist on a room with an ocean view -- worth the additional cost -- and enjoy drinks in La Sala to live piano music and watch the sunset view. Rooms are being refurbished. Mine had not been but was perfectly fine. Only complaint -- minor -- was the shower pressure. Excellent food and service in all venues. Nicholas was an excellent server on the terrace restaurant (which shares that priceless view) for several meals.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view and request an upper floor -- lobby entrance is on 7th floor--try for 8th or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Texas Traveler,
We love that your consider La V your old friend; what a marvelous complement to our comfortable and casual ambiance; thank you. All the rooms are indeed now completed but I am pleased that you were happy and that the trappings of La Sala and the Mediterranean Room are once again excellent. Your friends look forward to our friends return!
Ciao,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was courteous and extremely polite. We had a corner room with amazing ocean views of the ocean. Multiple weddings were occurring so it was busy but the staff kept up and made us all feel special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Reno Guest,
I’m delighted that our staff ensured that you felt as special as our wedding guests, brides and grooms. La V offers such a wonderful ambiance that no occasion is needed to escape to our amazing setting to feel special. We’re grateful that you spent time with us and hope you return again.
Sincerely,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at La Valencia on my wedding night years ago. I went back in april 2013 and got a smaller room no view for a great price. I was so excited. I did not mind the very small bathroom due to the price. the bathroom looked recently renovated but I noticed a strange odor. the next morning I realized that I had been exposed to mold . I suspect that they did not remove the mold when they refurbished. I am asthmatic and spent the next 2 days recovering from the exposure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Frustrated (that is an unusual TA user name) Guest,
I can assure you that our renovation project included addressing any required issues from age or location including mold. All our guest rooms and bathrooms have indeed been renovation – the first time in history that La V addressed a full renovation in one period.
I rarely comment so boldly to a guest however you are wrong in suspecting that La V did not do the proper steps during bathroom renovations. We stripped old stonework, lath, plaster and plumbing before beginning new renovation work. Our location along the shores and cove of La Jolla includes the sights and smells or the ocean and marine environment. Spring includes a plethora of seasonal blooms and I am appreciate that combined with location any asthmatic can be impacted; we have staff who have similar challenges.
We thank you for your comments and look forward to your return perhaps to celebrate a wedding anniversary!
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agua Dulce, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful piece of architecture, in a fabulous part of la Jolla, with the beach and park on one side, and great restaurants and shopping on the other. The property is awesome, on a hillside, but be prepared to use a lot of steps, unless you have a room close to an elevator. We stayed in a beautiful villa in the far west area of the property, just above street level. The pool is gorgeous, the grounds are taken care of, the flowers are beautiful all over the property. We arrived for a romantic weekend, and had taken advantage of a Travelzoo offer. I was contacted a few weeks before my arrival to see if I wanted to upgrade to a partial ocean view for an additional charge, which I accepted. We checked in, was given our room key, and when we entered our room, not only was there no ocean view, there were 2 queen beds, not the king we reserved. The only remedy to this was to spend an additional $500 for the villa, which we did decide to switch to. It had a great private patio, and a beautiful bedroom and bath. No fault of the hotel, there was a lot of traffic all day and into the evening, which could be loud at times. If all of the villas are located at the west of the hotel, then expect the traffic noise. We never had the opportunity to eat in the hotel. Parking was expensive at $29 a day, especially when we saw our car parked in the Citibank parking lot a block away...not very secure, although La Jolla is a pretty safe place itself. Overall, we did have a great time, our dog loved it, and the weather was amazing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Great Guest,
Many thanks for the overall great review and compliments; I am sorry that the original reservation accommodations were not coordinated correctly upon your arrival. The Travelzoo promotion had specific room types but we should have done a better job in communication the up-grade options. Parking rates are compatible to our surrounding hotels; as a historic hotel on site parking was not built in 1926 but we are pleased to have our private lot only ½ block from the hotel which our staff maintains throughout the day.
We hope you and your four footed friend return again – call us direct so we can better coordinate your ideal accommodations.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

La Valencia is one of the premier hotels near the Cove in La Jolla. The property is old, and parts of it are somewhat dated. We splurged on an oceanfront room, but the view wasn't nearly as nice as the last time we stayed (2010). Two large wedding parties were also at the hotel, so that may have been the reason our room wasn't as nice. Parts of the hotel are undergoing renovation. Hopefully all floors will be included eventually, since our room was bordering on shabby. The bathroom was very small. The hotel has only one elevator, so be prepared to walk the stairs or wait during busy times. Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Chapel Hill Guest,
All of our guest rooms have been renovation with the last going back into service on April 7th. The corridors have been spruced up but we intentionally wish to retain our historic décor so the contract may be your perception below. Yes indeed, our main building has only one elevator indicative of our 1926 origins but this was completely replaced and up-dated in 2012. Adjoining the elevator are 2 staircases (one interior and one gorgeous exterior) for options. Currently we are renovating our Prospect Street restaurant for the Return of the 1940’s era Café La Rue – this is a relatively self contained street front project and in no way distracts from the ocean facing ambiance of La V. Thank you for the compliments on the staff – it is greatly appreciated.
See you soon.
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 112 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants, including the sassy and casual Cafe la Rue the signature restaurant, THE MED with patio, dining room and terrace dining is it's own experience. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.