We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Valencia Hotel to your Saves list
La Valencia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A charming historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We toured southern California this holiday season and stayed at several historic hotels (Mission Inn in Riverside, Queen Marry in Long Beach, and La Valencia in La Jolla). All three had their best deals at their hotel Web sites. So, we booked directly online. La Valencia was the most luxurious and the most charming of the three. We stayed at Villa 12, with a separate patio and balcony overlooking the ocean. From what I’ve seen, this could have been their best Villa: upper floor, high ceilings, large wall mirrors, king bed, fire place (with a remote control), great coffee machine, etc. Bathroom was spacious and had a large Jacuzzi tab (with an ocean view). A shower room had two power showers and… a real on-demand steam, which turned the shower into a mini steam room. Nice. I wish they had 4.1 surround speakers mounted into the ceiling to listen to your favorite itunes :) The hotel grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Parts of the hotel were under renovation though, but we didn’t mind. The hotel décor was fine with Spanish motif. I really enjoyed reading the in-room booklet on the hotel history. Just grabbed that booklet and a glass of wine, and enjoy reading it buy the hotel pool. It would be great if the hotel offered some guided tours, like the other hotels we visited. The hotel staff was nice. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Russia!
How wonderful to be in the company of two other distinguished and historic hotels but even more wonderful to be touted as the best – thank you. Your review and description sounds as though you took great advantage of the privately and luxurious features of our villas (the bathrooms are like a small spa) and I am glad you read our history book; we have more great history ahead. Our guest room renovations are almost complete – I am pleased that the work was not too impactful.
Happy travels from your friends at La V –
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    162
    57
    50
    20
See reviews for
133
375
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were given a one night stay (Sunday, Jan. 6) at La Valencia as a Christmas gift and I was dreading a trip to what I thought would be a snooty old hotel.
I couldn't have been more surprised at what a warm, inviting and relaxing place we encountered.
The friendly service started at the curb with the valet parking and continued with the bellhop who helped us to the check in desk and then on to our room. Check in was courteous and prompt with the surprise of an upgrade to a suite with a full ocean view.
Our room was well appointed, extremely clean and above all comfortable. There were flat screen TVs in the living room and bedroom, but the view across the pool and to the ocean beyond got more of our attention. The bathroom was roomy with a jacuzzi tub and large glassed in shower and plenty of large bath towels.
There was a mini bar, coffee maker and free Wi-Fi that I could pick up from the main part of the hotel or the pool area.
Even though it rained most of the day and evening we still had a wonderful time exploring the old hotel and just plain relaxing in our room.
We had a wonderful dinner in the Mediterranean Room (best filet mignon I've had in a long time) and after dinner drinks in the cozy Whaling Bar.
The bedroom in the suite was large, very quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Late check out (12:00) gave us plenty of time to have a relaxing breakfast back at the Mediterranean Room and then more time to just hang out and look at the view.
Check out was extremely smooth and our car was waiting at the curb.
We now plan to come back for lunch or dinner and will definitely make plans to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: To choose a good room talk to the staff they seem very accommodating and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear San Diego Guest,
I am so pleased that “snooty” was not what you found at La V – bravo! Our iconic hotel is truly the epitome of coastal casual elegance and our goal is to ensure that there is no pretense and lots of genuine care. Your praise of our cuisine is especially appreciated as we recently had award winning executive Chef Paul McCabe come on board and he is making his mark fast so your plans to return for lunch and dinner will be met with culinary delights!
See you soon at La V –
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The La V is a historic hotel in beautiful La Jolla. My family in law goes their on a regular basis over the past years. Everything is very close by - great restaurants which come at a price, great valet service which is 29 bucks a day! - and yeah when you have a nice room that faces the cove you will get to hear the seal family bark and perform. This is lovely! However the quality of the rooms vary widely; some are old with dirty carpets, old mattresses that poke you in the back and well bathrooms can be spacious or so tiny that you cannot sit on the toilet with the door open.

Now, I have to admit that I am very picky with my rooms so I asked to have the rooms switched - and the la V tried hard to please me. However, the room I ended up in was not very private - with a home in front of my window (so the walking around naked was off that night) and I was woken up in the morning cause the room upstairs had a maintenance issue - so I had to check out early on my last day of vacation. I was not compensated for accommodating their service efforts which was disappointing. The price is not very low for this hotel even though I received a discounted rate.

I understand that driving to places in CA is almost mandatory and staying in la Jolla makes everything a bit more convenient to also just walk places - but if you do not mind driving perhaps you can find better places in the Northern part like Carlsbad.

The food at the La V is very good - and family breakfasts are just fun there, so please do not be scared of the prices. One thing worth mentioning is the great room service and bellhop service.

Koerig coffee machines are in the room which are great.

If you ever need to order water, be advised that you will receive water at a high price. I ordered Evian and paid 10 bucks per bottle which I thought was outrageous!

Well, if you are on business in la Jolla the La V is the place to stay but if you are on a leisure visit try Carlsbad or Del Mar.

Contact me for further local info!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be partial ocean-view. If you have a chance to check out a room - go ahead and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear La V Guest,
Many thanks for the number of great compliments on your recent stay. First and foremost please know that our last few rooms to renovate are in process as we speak so there will be no opportunities to encounter an out-dated room – I am sorry that a maintenance issue impacted your stay. On the subject of room locations we have a wide variety of locations from our very private villas to our tower rooms and suites. I am pleased to know that you took advantage of our heart of Village location and kept your car in the valet; we are steps from everything.
Come see us again soon,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My beagle Candy gives this hotel a 2 paws up!
For $25 our beagle stayed with her owners in the ocean villa #9. She enjoyed her ocean view, the provided dog bed, & complimentary dog bowls with treats!

Candy the beagle was greeted with a handwritten card with her name welcoming her to La Valencia. She enjoyed ocean views from the private patio with walls she could look over but not jump over.
Dinner in front of the gas fireplace was lovely and was smoke - free ( not wood burning).
Most importantly, she was well rested in the very quiet oceanfront villa, lulled to sleep by the sounds of the ocean waves.

The staff went above & beyond. Tina, the concierge , escorted us to our villa #9, which was tucked at the end of the meandering hotel path.
The Bellman LJ was friendly & showed us how to use the fireplace.
Breakfast was quickly delivered within 20 minutes after placing our phone
order in the morning.

As a former resident of Hawaii, I enjoyed this stay more than any hotel in Waikiki, including the Royal Hawaiian!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Pet Lover,

A big thank you to you and Candy for choosing La Valencia – we are so pleased that our team made your stay a great one. I especially love your description of the sounds of the ocean; our villa can indeed be an enchanting retreat only yards from the cliffs of La Jolla and Pacific Ocean. With Hawaii as a compassion, we are truly thrilled to know that La Valencia came in first – thank you!

Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loved this hotel. I cannot say enough. The service, restaurants, room services, common space, amenities, pool, and of course location! We had to switch hotels during our trip and were thankful that we ended up at La Valencia. This hotel is a beautifully remodeled and preserved old hotel. As long as you know that you will not be disappointed. The rooms ARE small, but incredibly charming. The decorators did a wonderful job and walled one wall in mirror to give the illusion of a much larger room. We were fortunate to have a small balcony, and I do mean small, but it opened up to the Pacific and you cannot beat the view. Small closet and small bathroom, but quite efficient. These early 20th Century hotels have beautiful common space as the leisure traveler of the day didn't spend much time in their rooms, they were enjoying all that the hotel offered, and we did the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Philly Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your lovely compliments on La Valencia; we are delighted to know that our circa 1926 boutique hotel was a hit including your guest room. We actually have a wide variety of rooms types and sizes so not all are small. Our Vintage rooms, cozy but with exceptional views are in the main tower but we also have our classic rooms and suites which average 450 – 550 sq. ft and our villas which include a 1,400 sq. ft retreat – please try one of these next time!
Best regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed one night in December. Had a newly remodeled room with peek-a-boo ocean view. Room was large and beds were comfortable. Lovely toiletries. We were lucky to catch a holiday concert given by the La Jolla High School singers in the lobby bar--festive Christmas carols. Happy hour prices are very reasonable. Love that they still put up a fresh cut tree!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear San Diego Holiday Guest,

We’re so happy you made time to enjoy some of our holiday festivities. Yes indeed a fresh cut tree is an annual tradition and this year we added our Sea of Lights to the gardens for some more magic. Thank you for the wonderful accolades on our newly renovated rooms and amenities which include Molton Brown of London imported toiletries. See you soon!

Warn regards,
Mark Dibella,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We checked into our room, went to open the curtains and found they were in tatters. As we looked around we noticed how scraped up the finish was on the tables and our carpet had a big ugly patch in it. Unacceptable for a hotel in this category.

Room Tip: We were over the bar which was noisy. Ask to be elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalSunsoul, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Fallbrook guest
Our apology for the shortfall in room quality. La V is in the final stages of guest room renovations and the room you occupied (likely not yet renovated) had yet to receive a full make-over. As we speak I am coordinating the final floor (and remaining un-renovated rooms) to be placed out of service for work so we can ensure that all rooms are indeed of superior quality and mirrors that of our attentive and friendly service. Please know that we’re listening and eager to regain your loyalty and your business.
Best regards,
Mark Dibella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the regions most scenic and stunning coastline, world-class museums, indulgent shopping and galleries, La V is the perfect blend of location and recreation. The hotel's Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm with contemporary services and amenities in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 112 coastal-inspired luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas featuring stunning views of La Jolla and the Pacific Ocean, lush tropical landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants, including the sassy and casual Cafe la Rue the signature restaurant, THE MED with patio, dining room and terrace dining is it's own experience. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.