We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Jolla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
7753 Draper Avenue, San Diego, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Travelling on busiiness my wife searched for where she wanted to stay and picked the La Jolla B&B Inn. From the beginning everything was smooth, relaxing, and comfortable. The room that we had reserved was being worked on and we were upgraded to one with fireplace, fridge, and roomy bath. Margaret and her team not only serve a great breakfast, but the wine and cheese in the late afternoon, followed by the nocturnal visit to the cookie jar make you feel as if you haven't left home. We stayed in La Fiesta which was a great accomodation. Based upon our experience you will not be disappointed in staying here in what is a beautiful part of San Diego in an elegant and friendly atmosphere.In the immortal words of General McArthur, "WE will return!"

Room Tip: The "La Fiesta " room has a very comfortable King sized Bed. Great sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    75
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
220
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely in the daytime, but then as the night falls the weird energy and entities begins to come out and pest you! I knew it the moment I walked in subconsciously because it smells like a vintage store but didn't listen to my initial gut feeling! Seriously at night the spirits do come out and you can't sleep! Omg! That painting above the fireplace (the Holiday room) is alive to a dark energy .... We completely left in the am hours because we couldn't sleep and didn't care to be exhausted ! Then we googled in the morning to find out of this place is haunted and it is! And the quote on the fireplace please google it and it's meaning !!!!!! Very weird !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I am afraid I don't even know how to begin responding to this rather strange and cryptic review, but I will address it as serious and not a weak attempt to be funny or psychic. At best, I can say that if we do have resident ghosts, they are obviously benevolent and at their worst mere tricksters and guest need not be concerned.

The original section of the inn was built in 1913 as a private residence and was refurbished and added to in 1984 when it became The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla. We are proud to be celebrating the 100th year Birthday of the original residence. During those100 years, a considerable number of individuals have inhabited and or been guests in this beautiful, historically significant, building - one of the finest examples of Irving Gill's "Cubist" architectural style - and is conceivable that these visitors and temporary custodians have endowed the Inn with some part of themselves either physically or with the energy of their presence.

Be reassured that over the 33 years that we have been in operation as a luxury B&B Inn, I nor my staff have ever personally witnessed a paranormal phenomenon. However, in all honesty, we have had guests on 3 or 4 occasions bare witness to something they were unable to explain rationally, but perhaps they were exhausted and tired and hallucinating or had sipped too much of the fine complementary sherry that we make available in the guest rooms for them to enjoy at their leisure or as a night cap.

I regret that your stay with us was unpleasant, but unfortunately I have absolutely no control over the hinter world and their spooky antics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We drove from Las vegas to La Jolla in a blinding rain storm. We were coming to the San Diego area to celebrate our 50th wedding aniversary. We had chosen the room at The Bed and Breakfast from the internet "The Fiesta", It is beautiful. The girl who took our order was especially nice and did every thing she could to get us all the discounts availabvle, saving us quite a bit on the cost. Needless to say we were depressed with the rainy weather but the room and the staff, especially Margaret, cleared the depression. Especially made gourmet breakfasts and pleasant conversation to start our day. They gave us umbrellas and we went out and did our thing in spite of the weather. It will be a trip long remembered. Bed and Breakfast saved our aniversary trip. Thanks staff, thanks Margaret, we'll be back.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at the facility. Just look at the room pictures and choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were very happy with the rooms, the service and the breakfast. We spent two nights
in December between Christmas and New Years. The staff are very nice and attentive. The rooms are nicely decorated and cozy. The breakfast was tasty both mornings and we really enjoyed sitting around the table talking with the other guests. Its just 2 minutes from the cliffs and is in a quiet neighborhood. It was a bit chilly to sit outside this time of year, but the garden and upstairs patio looked very inviting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This B&B can easily be overlooked from the street, but it is a true gem centrally located in a fabulous coastal community. La Jolla cove is only a few blocks away as are numerous excellent restaurants. Our B&B room was well appointed and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. And the 3-course breakfast prepared by Tina is fantastic ---a cook with a PhD no less! The owner, Margaret, was helpful in every respect. She even prepared us an early breakfast on our departure day so we were "fueled" for our long drive. You'll have to look long and hard to find a better B&B in such a spectacular location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Bed & Breakfast Inn for 8 nights in December while we were visiting family. It was a mini-vacation for my boyfriend and I as well. The location is really fantastic and perfect because you are a very short walk from the La Jolla restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping, but 1 1/2 blocks to the ocean. What we really liked about the B&B was it felt like home. We stayed in the Windnsea room which has a bit of an ocean view and a nice, large bed. I read other reviews that comment about the bathroom being too small. It's a small bathroom, but the Inn is very old and personally, I'd rather have more space for the ocean view or relaxing than a big bathroom. The bathroom size was not an issue at all. There was tremendous attention to detail in the rooms - orchids, brandy, slippers, robes, luxurious bed linens and a fireplace (electric). The Inn is exactly what it promotes on its website and even better in person! The Innkeeper, Margaret, is very accommodating, attentive, and a very sincere woman who wants you to have an enjoyable stay! We took advantage of the wine and cheese hour only once since we were busy with family and loved the cheeses! There is parking either on the street or in the back of the Inn, which is reserved for guests. The breakfasts are amazing, with three courses normally fruit/yogurt, then an egg dish with meat, followed by something sweet and homemade. Generous amounts of coffee, water and juice as well. The breakfast is very hearty and fresh which could last you until the late afternoon. We will stay here again for sure when visiting San Diego! Thanks Margaret and staff for making our visit so comfortable and relaxing!

Room Tip: Windnsea room faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We enjoyed our short time at the B&B. It was quiet and peaceful, exactly what we were looking for in a quick getaway. Beautiful inside and out. The food was great, especially the coffee. My husband does not always eat breakfast and didn't eat all his plate. Margarette was concerned and offered to make him something else. That was going above and beyond to make sure he was completely satisfied. The staff was friendly and informative. Location was perfectly centered for us. We will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
The b&b Inn At La Jolla
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel
Address: 7753 Draper Avenue, San Diego, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location at to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla, San Diego has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla to your Saves list