We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot - Staff helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Scripps Inn to your Saves list
Scripps Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot - Staff helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent the day in La Jolla in August, and looked for a place to stay at the end of the day. We stopped here, fell in love with the prime location and quiet quantness of the inn. It was unseasonably hot and humid, 95 degrees and not falling in temps much at night. We had to find someplace that offered air conditioning for my mother, and the hotel manager, Elaine Akeroyd, was extremely gracious and helpful in locating a differant hotel in the area that had the ammenties we needed. I was soo impressed how she went above and beyond to make us happy, even though we weren't guests of the inn. Would have loved to stay, but "mother knows best"!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    51
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
92
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Coast, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent views of the Pacific Ocean and Excellent service make this place stand out.

The rooms themselves are not exactly 5 star however, you could care less since EVERY ROOM has an Ocean view! It's hard to complain when you open the door to leave your hotel room and you see the ocean. This place is oceanfront and you can hear the waves crashing all night long. The bathroom was small, but it will suit your needs. Unfortunately, the bathtub faucet was leaky and broken. It caused more water to leak out of the faucet and only partial water to come out of the shower head. However, overall the rooms are large and furnished in a cool beach theme.

Breakfast was continental with juices, muffins, croissants and such. There's a Keurig for you to brew your morning cup of coffee. I highly recommend taking your coffee and morning pastry and sitting on a bench to take in the view. It's a no frills type breakfast, but it's really enjoyable.

The location is amazing and you're really close to a ton of nice restaurants and shops. I highly recommend checkin into the Scripps Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had the Jr. Suite on the ground floor, mere steps away from the beautiful ocean. The room was spacious and comfy - not over the top. Oh, and we had a wood burning firplace! We are a family of four and they had prepared a roll away bed for my teenager and my daughter slept with us. It was perfectly cozy. It was a gorgeous little stay. The breakfast was continental style. The comfy room and the location made this a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here in August and it was very nice. We had a 2 bedroom suite (room 8) that had a great ocean view from the front deck. The sunsets were amazing and we saw crowds come to the beach just in front to see the sunset. It was much better to view from our deck above!

The only small downside is that there is NO AC. The room was very stuffy, although the good news is that all rooms have wonderful ceiling fans that kept us cool all night. They also provided a box fan to help.

The breakfast was fantastic. Really good fresh baked pastries as well as a selection of tea and juice (coffee too). We were able to walk everywhere in La Jolla and the staff was very helpful for any needs.

Definitely a nice stay on the beach. We thought we would use the kitchen, but we never did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Scripps Inn with our children while on a family vacation up the coast of California. We were not disappointed! The view from the hotel is amazing and the room was updated without being sterile, charming without being dumpy. Maid service was impeccable and the hotel has clearly been maintained by a loving owner. Every morning, we'd go to the main office (a tiny little room with a Dutch door) for breakfast--fresh coffee/tea, homemade muffins, croissants, pastries, yogurt and homemade granola. Most other guests were couples and we felt that we had to 'tone down' our children a little, but the overall feel was laid back and welcoming. The inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, great walking paths along the beach. The only downside was that there was no pool in July in San Diego (the ocean was very very cold and surf was dangerously rough). Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor & ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We were blown away with the amazing view right away. We booked through a 3rd party and had some reservation difficulties upon check in. The staff could not possibly have been nicer or more accommodating. Seriously, the nicest staff I have I have ever come across. Ever. The manager Elaine is an absolute pleasure to deal with. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and perfectly clean. I signed up for trip advisor simply as a thank you to this amazing place. A+. 100% recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morongo Valley, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a really nice small hotel right on the berach in La Jolla. Rooms are very well appointed. The room we stay in with the King bed has a good view of the Ocean and it looks loike most rooms have a view. We wait oft hte special rates as it is a little pricy for us but we have gotten this room for inder 200.00 a night.

Room Tip: Get on their E-mailing list. They always have specials running
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
0.4 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#18 of 25 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#5 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#12 of 25 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Address: 555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scripps Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.