We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Scripps Inn to your Saves list
Scripps Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had the Jr. Suite on the ground floor, mere steps away from the beautiful ocean. The room was spacious and comfy - not over the top. Oh, and we had a wood burning firplace! We are a family of four and they had prepared a roll away bed for my teenager and my daughter slept with us. It was perfectly cozy. It was a gorgeous little stay. The breakfast was continental style. The comfy room and the location made this a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    44
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
68
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here in August and it was very nice. We had a 2 bedroom suite (room 8) that had a great ocean view from the front deck. The sunsets were amazing and we saw crowds come to the beach just in front to see the sunset. It was much better to view from our deck above!

The only small downside is that there is NO AC. The room was very stuffy, although the good news is that all rooms have wonderful ceiling fans that kept us cool all night. They also provided a box fan to help.

The breakfast was fantastic. Really good fresh baked pastries as well as a selection of tea and juice (coffee too). We were able to walk everywhere in La Jolla and the staff was very helpful for any needs.

Definitely a nice stay on the beach. We thought we would use the kitchen, but we never did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Scripps Inn with our children while on a family vacation up the coast of California. We were not disappointed! The view from the hotel is amazing and the room was updated without being sterile, charming without being dumpy. Maid service was impeccable and the hotel has clearly been maintained by a loving owner. Every morning, we'd go to the main office (a tiny little room with a Dutch door) for breakfast--fresh coffee/tea, homemade muffins, croissants, pastries, yogurt and homemade granola. Most other guests were couples and we felt that we had to 'tone down' our children a little, but the overall feel was laid back and welcoming. The inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, great walking paths along the beach. The only downside was that there was no pool in July in San Diego (the ocean was very very cold and surf was dangerously rough). Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor & ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We were blown away with the amazing view right away. We booked through a 3rd party and had some reservation difficulties upon check in. The staff could not possibly have been nicer or more accommodating. Seriously, the nicest staff I have I have ever come across. Ever. The manager Elaine is an absolute pleasure to deal with. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and perfectly clean. I signed up for trip advisor simply as a thank you to this amazing place. A+. 100% recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morongo Valley, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a really nice small hotel right on the berach in La Jolla. Rooms are very well appointed. The room we stay in with the King bed has a good view of the Ocean and it looks loike most rooms have a view. We wait oft hte special rates as it is a little pricy for us but we have gotten this room for inder 200.00 a night.

Room Tip: Get on their E-mailing list. They always have specials running
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. We were in Room 4, which according to the manager didn't have an ocean view, but we were pleasantly surprised to be able to see the ocean, which is across the street. We could hear the ocean from our room, but we found it more pleasant than annoying. The room itself was very nicely appointed and kept perfectly clean. The bed was terrificly comfortable.

The breakfast consisted of a broad assortment of pastries from a local bakery and some fantastic granola made at their sister property some distance away. Milk, tea, juice, and a Keurig coffee maker were available as well.

There was a different person working the desk every day, but they were all extremely pleasant and helpful with everything, including booking things (e.g. our kayak tour) and printing out directions.

On the location: the coast outside your front door here is fantastic and not that crowded, even when at its busiest. It's so close to the ocean that I hope the coast doesn't erode away over the next 100 years so that we may continue to come back. There is a nice little park that is directly across the street that usually had a few sunbathers (and a wedding on the Saturday). The beach below the park is nice to walk on and admire, but the water is a tad too rough for swimming. Still, I would much prefer staying here than staying on one of the broader beaches like Coronado; this was a more relaxing experience. Lots of good places to eat are 5 to 15 min away on foot.

A couple of inconvenient things:

1. Our room was on the ground floor and we could hear every creaking footstep from the neighbors above us walking on their wood floor. Overall, this wasn't that bad, but if it weren't for this, the only real noise would have been from the ocean.

2. Cell phone reception here and anywhere along the local coast was terrible, at least on Verizon. In order to make a call, I had to either find the one spot in the front right corner of the park across the street (unreliable) or walk up the hill behind the hotel and cross the street (reliable).

All in all, this is a fantastic place to stay and a good home base.

Room Tip: I'd guess that second-floor rooms are less noisy since a lot of the noise in our room was the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We came into La Jolla in the middle of the night. Our keys were waiting for us and we got right into our room. We could both see and hear the ocean from our room, very peaceful sleeping to the sound of the surf coming ashore all night. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast. The pastries and in house granola cereal were both delicious. We upgraded our room during our stay because we liked it there so much. The room was a two bedroom suite with a nice eat in small kitchen and a stunning ocean view. The staff was very nice and helpful, the quality of service made us feel special and really added to our stay. We cannot wait to come back to Scripps Inn.

Room Tip: Call Scripps Inn and ask about the room selections. Very gracious hotel manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Address: 555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scripps Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.