We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Burger Lounge

Burger Lounge
1101 Wall Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858 456 0196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,261 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Burger Lounge ethos is to create a great tasting burger you feel good about eating - "to do a common thing uncommonly well." It starts with 100% fresh single source American grass-fed beef. We believe that a hamburger should not only taste great, it should utilize healthy ingredients produced in a sustainable environment. We provide a simple menu that appeals to health conscious diners, vegetarians, salad lovers and those simply "hankering for a great hamburger." Burger Lounge is a gimmick free fast casual respite where guests can enjoy real food made from whole food ingredients in a modern and comfortable setting.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“So So.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband had a burger and rings; I had a salad.

His burger looked fine, but a little small and portion of rings was hardly generous -- even for a fast food place.

My salad was mediocre.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    52
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Enjoyed Burger Lounge...one of the top foods that we had in San Diego. Running first or a close second is Windansea Cafe in La Jolla.


It is a must visit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Great Thursday night supper with the Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have been to many Burger specialty restaurants including pop burger in New York City, Shake Shack in South Beach Miami, FL and the newly opened burgerfi in Ft. Lauderdale, FL.
The burgers here were on par with some of these but not as good as Bareback Grill in Pacific Beach for instance.
This location is very small with some indoor bar type seating and some tables outside so hopefully you don't arrive when they are really busy or in a large group.
My favorite things were the onion rings and the shakes/malts.
Definitely on the pricey side for some, 2 adults 1 child with food and beverage came to well over $50.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant - and I don't even care for burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

This one proves it, healthy does taste better! It tastes completely homemade (which is a compliment in this case), the fries are perfect, the turkey is perfectly cooked and seasoned, so is the beef. And the Caesar salad. And the bread! Anyone, whether you like burgers or not, would care for this fast-food!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent organic and local burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Very Good place to eat a quick burger.
Personnel was very nice!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Lounge also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Burger Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burger Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.