We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food on paper plates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Fish Market

El Pescador Fish Market
627 Pearl St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA
858-456-2526
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,274 restaurants in La Jolla
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gourmet food on paper plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I went because of the reviews. Normally would seek a romantic setting for a vacation dinner, but I really wanted some fresh seafood. Would have paid twice the price for the same meal at a more romantic ambiance, but it wouldn't have been any better than this fish market with paper plates & cups. We had the sea bass and the medium shrimp (which are more like 12/15 count jumbos) and a cup of chowder. They are about to move across the street so they will have more seating...hope it doesn't change the food, because this is really well prepared fresh seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    99
    43
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood sandwich - fresh fish and fresh soft bread.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

After an afternoon at Dana point, we decided to stop in La Jolla for a quick bite. Right off the main road was the fish market and across the street was a large restaurant area being built out for the same place. A good sign. A very small market with fresh seafood like any seafood market. No fish smell. Maybe five tables inside and about that much outside. We ordered fried mahi mahi sandwiches but noted the mussels another couple had. The sandwich was great - moist fish with a little lettuce, tomato and avocado. mmmm Just right. And a colorful crowd to boot. This is not yet a restaurant but I could see it doing well. it hope they keep this as a dining option because you did not have to get fries or anything but a sandwich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fresh and delicous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went here after hanging out on the beach. Food was yummy and fresh seating is very limited don't count of getting a seat. They are working on moving into a new building accross the street which is much bigger. Will return again on our next trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great ambiance, Liked the place like the market ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The food was fresh, the place is clean, but small, lots of fish display and looks like a fish market which makes it a nice ambiance. They are building a new location kind of accrossthe street. so I guess it would have even a better location more seating. They had lots of sea food more that you can imagine The food was good, but some of what we ordered was kind of bland. Some of thefish was overcooked. Fish tacos, needed more seasoning than they had, but still were good. Sea bass sandwich with avocado was really good. Would have it again. I think that was the name. The swordfish sandwich,the bread was great but the fish needed seasoning, but was cooked to perfection. Overall food is good, place is nice. Prices are good for La Jolla. Difficult to get parking since it is around the tourist route in La Jolla. Very nice relaxed ambiance, which sometimes gives you a different look form the fancy tourists you see in La jolla Did like the place. It does get crowded so go early or get ready to wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point,
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had the Sea Bass and Yellow Tail plate, and it was great.
we noticed that most of the people ordered the fish taco's, and they were very generous also. try to eat inside the wind does blow a bit when you sit outside. worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pescador Fish Market also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to El Pescador Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.