We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cask conditioned ale?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery

Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery
8980 Villa La Jolla Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1701
858-450-9277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 1,274 restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Village Drive
Description: A lively and casual dining experience, we feature fresh, handcrafted beers brewed on premise and an innovative menu. Our beers range in style from Pale Ales and Light Lagers to Stouts, Belgian-styles and Amber Ales. We also brew many specialty and seasonal beers, all of which are handcrafted by our Brewmaster using his original recipes. The atmosphere is rich in woods and gleaming brewing vessels. Our service is friendly and upbeat. Our moderately priced menu features a medley of items ranging from Fish and Chips to Roasted Chicken and Filet Mignon, a variety of interesting salads, and our world famous White Cheddar mashed potatoes.
Linlithgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Cask conditioned ale?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Was a flying visit but one I want to return to in future. Food was decent if not stunning but no real problems. Very good selection of microbrewed beers in tap and if you look at the bottom of the guest list they have a local cask conditioned ale (ie not gassed) which was certainly worth a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    31
    49
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Carne Asada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was my first time at Rock Bottom. We ordered carne asada for four. Served with beans and corn tortillas. The carne asada was very good and the tortillas were excellent. I think they are made on site.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Happy Hour and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Often come here for happy hour after work. Recommend grabbing one if the tables in the bar area as they are self seating.

Great atmosphere..,

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Walking distance to Residence Inn La Jolla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very handy walking distance for our family stay at the Residence Inn La Jolla. We had a great table outside on a comfortable evening. Service was excellent, beer was pretty good, and food was adequate, Didn't have high expectations since we were just looking for a decent meal and didn't want to get in our car, this place fit the bill.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“went twice in one day !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

after unloading our UCSD daughter at housing, I wanted a nice lunch, and RBB served me a nice brew and better Jalapeno Burger. Wife enjoyed her Salad. We even took our daughter with us again for dinner that same night. Dinner was good, not great, had some pasta , she had the chicken enchiladas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.