We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enforced romance thanks to EDF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ranquet

Save Saved
You added Le Ranquet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Ranquet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4161 Route St. Hippolyte du Fort | Tornac, 30140 Tornac, Anduze, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tornac
Meilen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enforced romance thanks to EDF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we checked in the proprietor of Le Ranquet joked with us that the previous evening there had been a power cut because of a thunder storm. And guess what - another storm and another power cut. The kitchen staff performed miracles - luckily they had gas - to produce a delightful meal. Fortunately the power was restored by 9pm so everything was working properly.

The outdoor pool looked really inviting but the weather curtailed any ideas of trying it. Excellent continental breakfast served in your room. Bear in mind that the rooms are separate from the main building so picking up the supplied umbrellas is a good idea with conditions like the ones we experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I had heard of the place through friends and decided to spend the night. We arrived in the afternoon for drinks by the pool, changed in our lovely rooms, located quietly in the middle of trees, and had a truly romantic dinner on the outside terrace, with a feeling of being lost in the forest, with lamps in the trees and candles on the tables! The food was delicious and the service friendly and professional. All in all a great experience, and the best stopover for a few days if you're exploring the magnificent region of les Cevennes. We will be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent the night at Le Ranquet after a strenuous day on bikes. Chris and his staff greeted us warmly and looked after us with great attentiveness. We loved the elegant and comfortable accommodation. We had a superb meal at the restaurant that night,and had very attentive and personal service. A magnificent breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning,and I can say that our entire experience at Le Ranquet was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, N.Y.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We got to Le Ranquet by chance. We were in Anduze (nearby pottery center) to buy some garden vases, and asked the local owner of the store for a recommendation for a hotel. He recommended this hotel particularly for its cuisine. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed on that night, but we still had a wonderful experience at the hotel.

The room was good-sized and modern, with a lovely bathroom in which everything functioned superlatively. It had some small comforts that I've never seen in a hotel room--things like a flashlight on the room key, walking sticks, umbrellas. The bed was comfortable, and there was a dining area both inside and outside the room. Each room has an outside terrace area in the woods, with lounge chairs. The woods were thinned out enough to permit sunlight on the terrace area, paths, views of other nearby units, small ponds and plantings. There was a definite feeling of being in the woods in a very civilized way. The breakfast was abundant and delicious, brought to the room piping hot. Our decaf coffee was brewed--it often isn't. The terrace was a very inviting set-up for reading and relaxing--as was the pool.

The owner was exceedingly cordial, spoke perfect English, and unstintingly helped us with advice. We also like this area of France (Gard), which reminded us of how Provence was in the past, sleepy and quaint. It's a great unwind, but also seemed to be good for cycling, walking, touring. A real discovery!

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms are basically the same. Some are closer to the restaurant and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful place to start a holiday. Great facilities, a friendly host and great staff, and a v attractive location. And v generous digs; lots of 'product', more towels than you can use, and breakfast each morning on your own terrace. And well located for day tour of Gorges etc. Every hotel should be like Le Ranquet.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

stayed at Le Ranquet 3 nights. Lovely reception. Clean room. Not nice, warm or cosy. Low investment, low engagement. Overall impression: over-rated. it is ok, it is no gem. Food is ok, certainly not a star quality (go for ok). Example: veal from Aubrac overcooked. Daily gourgettes. Restaurant service low by any standard. Situated on a traffic intense route, noise at all times and all places. Would recommend owners to decide to either go for it and invest in staff, food and furniture or stay average and keep as is.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ales, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a wonderful place to eat. We went as a family for a celebration meal, it is well worthy of its 1 michelin star, using all local ingredients. It may seem a little pricey but actually is value for money, what was a 5 course meal with all the extras was a 7 course dinner, just perfect. The house red was from a local vineyard and delicious. The staff just finished off the experience, warm reception and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Ranquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ranquet

Address: 4161 Route St. Hippolyte du Fort | Tornac, 30140 Tornac, Anduze, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Anduze > Tornac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tornac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ranquet 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel and Fine Dining Restaurant, Le Ranquet opens the door to a universe of flavours and fragrances in the heart of a beautiful private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Ranquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ranquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.