We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rewarding Return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sole

Cafe Sole
1929 Verdugo Blvd., La Canada Flintridge, CA 91011
818-790-6062
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
burbank, ca
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rewarding Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's been a long time since we last visited Cafe Sole. Decided to check out the small restaurant upon learning it was under new ownership. We weren't disappointed. My chicken marsala was
delicious, the mixed vegetables cooked perfectly. The sole piccata drew raves as did the
ravioli stuffed with butternut squash. The chicken florentine was at best acceptable.
The fried calamari was excellent...crunchy, not greasy and tasty. The spumoni also scored well.
Our server was knowledgable and friendly. Overall, a worthwhile experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tujunga, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have had lunch here twice and after the first time couldn't wait to have the raviollis (sic) with butternut squash and as luck would have it it was their special again. I hope to try something else the next time I go there but we have to time it with the movies. Actually after today we are planning to take our out-of-state visitors there next week...but I will still have the buter not squash raviollis.The service is excellent and freindly but not overbearing, might be a little short on ambience but the foos is spectacular! just ask my wife...she experiments...but she misses the butter nut squash raviollis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altadena
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Buon Apetito!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to Cafe Sole before hitting a movie with my daughter and mom. We had no idea what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised by the attentive and friendly service and the food which was super fresh and yummy! We especially enjoyed the butternut squash ravioli, turkey panini with cranberry jam and gruyere and grilled-herbed salmon! We will be back for sure :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
“terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

terrible food terrible service you can really see the owner is change so is not any more a good place I am sad to see what the new owner doing its terrible I never going to eat any more in that restaurant the ig is 0 I saw the owner put is hands in his mouth (probable his was cleaning his teeth) and than with out washing is hands serving food to people , I didnt touch my meal because was disgusting so I been going in this place for to many years but that was the last time for me

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We used to go here more often when going to a movie at the nearby theater. Went again and it is still a great place for Italian food. The owner is warm and welcoming and the service is competent and friendly. They start with bread and a tomato based topping to munch on while waiting for the antipasti. We shared the smoked salmon with capers and red onions. One of our favorite dishes here is the ravioli in a red sauce. Be sure to save some bread to sop up that sauce. They have a pretty good selection of Italian wines. Don't know why anyone would order a CA wine or beer with this food, but it's available.

Hint: If you still enjoy a movie and dinner out, go to an early movie and have dinner here afterward. You want to be able to enjoy the food here without worrying about getting to the theater on time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sole also viewed

La Canada Flintridge, CA
La Canada Flintridge, CA
 
La Canada Flintridge, CA
La Canada Flintridge, CA
 

Been to Cafe Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.