We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Klamath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klamath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ravenwood Motel
Save
You added Ravenwood Motel to your Saves list
151 Klamath Boulevard, P.O. Box 1004, Klamath, CA 95548-1004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Gem in Klamath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We just returned from a three day hiking trip to Redwood National Park in Northern California. We stayed at the Ravenwood Motel for three nights and chose our destinations for the day from this area. We didn't expect to find such a lovely place to stay in the middle of a busy highway. The owner welcomed us, went out of his way to be accommodating to all the guests. His little lounge area is open all day from 6am til 10 with fresh coffee, rolls, fruits, hot cider, books, games for guests to wander in and out throughout the day. The suite was well appointed with very nice bathroom products, linens, kitchen well stocked with cooking implements. We enjoyed the nice gas fireplace during chilly evenings. The garden outside shows lots of TLC and I enjoyed the hummingbirds flitting among lots of flowering shrubs. Unfortunately there are only a few choices of restaurants nearby so stock up before visiting Ravenwood. We'll definitely return to this lovely oasis in the Redwoods. Tita & John Mahoney

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    73
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
69
103
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
venice beach, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

What a tremendously pleasant surprise this place was!! When you travel to a town (population: 867), in the middle of a national forest and stay at a MOTEL, what do you expect? Ravenwood will shatter your expectations of your standard motel accommodations. It is immaculately clean, very well maintained, and superbly decorated. We could hardly believe our eyes when we stepped into our room. Everything was brand new and super clean. There is a great little coffee/snack room for the guests with cute little library of books and a piano.

The owners are super welcoming and friendly. We could have just stayed at the motel for their company!! Gary sat down with us each morning and helped up map out our trip for the day in the north then the south. He was very insightful and we would've missed out on a lot of great things had he not pointed them out to us...

VERY convenient location - right smack dab in the middle. We would DEFINITELY go back to Ravenwood...or any other property these two decide to take over.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Setauket, LI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed at Ravenwood Motel with a friend for one night and we really enjoyed the suite. We both liked the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.
For the cost this was truly a great place and I will certainly recommend it and come back for a stay. I have stayed at more expensive hotels that were less roomy and less clean.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

What a delightful place! Ravenwood Motel shows what can happen when respectful, caring owners are in charge. Nine years ago, under different ownership, this place was a dump. Now, it's sparkling clean, outfitted very tastefully, and run with graciousness. When we were there, seven different state flags were flying beside the American flag by the gazebo . . . each flag represented the home state of a visitor staying at the Ravenwood that night.

Though we live just down the road in Eureka, we wanted to eat at the Steelhead Lodge (which earns a rave of its own) on our way back from a quick business trip to Gold Beach, OR. Ravenwood Motel accommodated us beautifully--and economically, to boot.

Whether you choose it as the focal point of an extended redwoods stay or as an expedient waypoint in a longer trip, nothing in the area will serve you more congenially or at a greater bargain than the Ravenwood. .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Ravenwood for 3 nights last week and enjoyed a great room at an unbeatable rate. Everything in the room was in good order and the room was serviced flawlessly every afternoon. The only negative was we could hear conversations in the adjoining rooms; however, it only kept us up for a little bit one evening. The owners were very friendly and helpful with travel planning. For $62/night+tax it's unbeatable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

First of all, I have to apologize: I would love to give this place a 5-star review, but I try to reserve those reviews for hotels that fit the bill, as opposed to motels and travel lodges. But I will happily say that this is the best motel I have ever stayed in. I was traveling from Medford, Oregon, with my fiance, winding our way down the coast, and we wanted a stopover that would allow us to do some hiking.

I admit to being a little surprised by Klamath as a "town" - in fact, most of the towns we drove through on 101 in Del Norte and Humbolt Counties were surprising to us, when contrasted with the coastal towns we're used to on Highway 1 in Mendocino and Sonoma Counties. Aside from tourist traps and tacky stores, there's not much to see in the towns themselves and Klamath was no exception. The gorgeous state and national parks are the real attraction in this area.

The motel itself though was wonderful for what it was. According to the owners at the Steelhead Lodge (where the owners of Ravenswood pointed us for some awesome margaritas and dinner) the motel was a total dump when the current owners bought it 6 years ago. It is clearly a labor of love. All of the rooms have been redone with nice furnishings and paint jobs, and place was immaculately clean. There are no smoking rooms, but the owners have put out chairs and ashtrays in front of each room, and also provided several nice sitting areas throughout the motel grounds.

The games/breakfast room was a nice touch, and the owners even provided us a corkscrew when we realized we forgot to bring one. We will stay here again next time we're passing through the area for sure. My fiance lamented the fact that on a recent trip he ended up paying far more for a sub-par Super 8 room in Crescent City. Don't make that mistake!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stopped here on our first day between Mendocino and Seattle based on TripAdvisor reviews. It was as described: scrupulously clean, carefully maintained, comfortable bed, generous towels, ample hot water, friendly staff, orderly, amenities such as a simple free breakfast not expected in so inexpensive a facility. Excellent value for money. It’s hard to tell from the map, but it is within Redwood National Park. There is an adjacent convenience gas station with a Subway sandwich shop though. Ravenwood is a courtyard motel, the joined rooms are in an L configuration, and it is close to the Highway 101. Even with all the windows closed I could hear traffic. The restaurants are closed in the evening, although one stayed open at Ravenwood’s request for a large group. A clerk recommended the Palm Café 15 minutes to the South for supper. The restaurant was charmingly folksy but the food bordered on the inedible.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravenwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Motel

Address: 151 Klamath Boulevard, P.O. Box 1004, Klamath, CA 95548-1004
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Motel Klamath
Ravenwood Hotel Klamath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.