We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Requa Inn

Save Saved
You added Historic Requa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   451 Requa Road, Klamath, CA 95548   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Klamath B&B and Inns
Tangent, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We met friends here for two nights at the end of a week-long camping trip in Redwoods National Park. This is a terrific old hotel with character and comfort and a fantastic place to top off a Redwoods stay. (If you don't like stairs that tilt a bit, you probably shouldn't be in the Redwoods anyway.) It's accessible to lots of trails and near wonderful views of the mouth of the Klamath River and ocean.

Best of all was the food, as good as we've ever had anywhere and very reasonably priced for the quality. Fresh ingredients, perfectly prepared and nicely presented; the salmon and albacore we had on successive nights was incredible. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    58
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
182
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I found the place on the internet. It was a good place to stop between Mendocino and Ashland, Oregon. There were only two rooms left when we called and they were over the kitchen. The price was good and the room was adequate. The inn overlooks a river and the lobby with a warm fire going was an ideal place to sit and compare notes with other travelers from the US and foreign countries. We opted not to do dinner, but it would have been fun. The breakfast was very good with many items to choose from and the option of ordering more. The weather turned foggy so we didn't take many pictures here.

Room Tip: Book early to get a selection of rooms. Our room was good and a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a good experience at the Requa Inn but I definitely understand the reviews that warn loudly about it being an OLD hotel (100 years in 2014) and that fact shouldn't be taken lightly. Floors and stairs are uneven, building a bit odd, doors stick and then close loudly, sound TRAVELS so you always feel like you need to whisper, and water in both downstairs washrooms was SCALDING hot and I had a terrible time trying to get soap off of my hands (finally wetted paper towels, waved them around to cool them off and then wiped by hands & repeated until all suds were gone). Staff was polite but sometimes hard to find.
Rooms were beautifully decorated (we had Stout Grove which was a perfect solution for us - it's a suite of two rooms joined by a bathroom). Shower was not great, it was a claw-foot tub with a shower curtain that tries to stick to you as you shower. I hated that curtain and know it could not have been cleaned between guests. Ick!
Breakfast was WONDERFUL. Try the green smoothie & homemade toast at the very least. Specials change daily but all were really good. We didn't stay for dinner as we had a picky pre-teen girl with us and she would not have eaten much of the pricey preset meal. Finding food in the area was a challenge the few days we were in Klamath. We finally ended up at the cafe for the Trees of Mystery one night - strangest dining experience (plants on ceiling gives you a hint) - food was just okay but we were hungry and thankful to find it. The rest of the time we depended on mini-marts for basic groceries to prepare makeshift meals, although our plan for the trip was to stick to restaurants.
There was a lot to see nearby and we saw elk a few times each day. Our favorite attractions in the area were Fern Canyon (GORGEOUS - but prepare to get wet, you'll walk through a shallow creek) and Trees of Mystery (we were a little surprised by how much we liked it, the gondola, the clever, talkative Paul Bunyan, and the attached museum). We really liked the overlook point just passed the hotel (up the hill) and spent some evenings there gazing out at the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stopped by on our honeymoon 2 years ago and returned this past weekend to celebrate. The manager remembered that it was our anniversary and had a bottle of bubbly waiting in our room when we checked in. It's the little things like that and the attention to detail which make this place special. The Inn is well kept with tons of character, the downstairs living room is a great place to meet other travels, relax with a glass of wine and take in the sights. Besides being in one of the most relaxing environments you'll find in NorCal, the food continues to be outstanding. We had the prefix dinner which was fantastic (compliments to Chef Zach) and the breakfast did not disappoint. I'd highly recommend the Historic Requa Inn as a quiet, relaxing getaway to recharge any time of the year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

In advance we knew we had booked a small room above the kitchen (it was the last one) so knew what to expect. The room was cosy but the shower was hot and the addition of a bath was a bonus. Noice wasn't too bad either. Been a while since we slept in a standard double bed but it was ok. Breakfast was excellent with full table service and a great choioce of food. Beers and wine in the lounge was also very welcome. We dined one night and despite some trepidation (I (Michael) am a really fussy eater), the hotel accommodated us really well replacing fish for lamb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked this accommodation some months earlier as part of our tour - as it fitted in with our itinerary. I selected a room knowing that it ws going to be a little smaller than most, but we were only there for one night and the setting looked interesting. We arrived a little earlier than check in, but were able to check in just the same. Our host was lovely and showed us to our upstairs room, #12 I think. Yes it was a bit quishy, but ok. Quaint bathroom - but all a good expereince plus a comfortable bed.

The inn itself has a comfortable albeit a little dated and tired feel about it, but what it lacks in decor, it makes up for in other ways. There is a comfortable sitting area for guests, wifi included, with games and a small library. The view is over the Klamath River, which isnt the most spectacular but ok.

What was outstanding about our experience, was that I had received an email a few days earlier, inviting us to dinner after we arrived, not just any dinner but a 4 course dinner cooked by the owner's son, who was a chef. We accepted, and thoroughly enjoyed a amazing meal using all fresh produce from the local area, with other guests from the Inn. Great way to fill in the night and to get to know some of the other guests. Good wine selection too.

Comfortable bed and facilities, meant a good nights sleep. Room was quiet and we were not disturbed by other guests even tho we were next to a main thoroughfare.

The next morning we were again treated to a wonderful breakfast - blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs. Again cooked and served superbly.

Recommend it for a quaint and interesting experience!! As we say in Australia - "it's the vibe of the thing!", and it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Requa Inn several times and love it! The river view room are each lovely. Room 14-Boat Creek is my favorite.

Dinner is a culinary adventure with several beautiful courses. Dinner reviled the best food in Portland or Napa. I shared my food limitations when I booked my reservation and was grateful for the Chef's generous accommodations.

The family owners are real locals and we appreciated the free maps, advice for planning great days exploring the redwoods and their genuine care and attention.

We will be back and highly recommend the Requa Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Address: 451 Requa Road, Klamath, CA 95548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Requa Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for almost a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 12 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Requa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.