We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect in the off-season, too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamp Klamath RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klamath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamp Klamath RV Park
Save
You added Kamp Klamath RV Park to your Saves list
1661 West Klamath Beach Road, P. O. Box 99, Klamath, CA 95548   |  
Hotel amenities
San Anselmo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect in the off-season, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We lucked out and found this jewel during the off-season. No one was there, in that serene-quiet, "gee, this is a perfect wilderness experience" kind of way. (We do plan to return in the summer for one of the famous Salmon-fest nights!) Douglas was kind and so helpful with info about fishing and local culture. We recommend it to anyone looking for easy camping, hot showers and close access to the mouth of the Klamath!

Room Tip: Not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
30
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here on the recommendation of Steve Huber Guide Service. Sure glad we did! This is the most friendly RV park I have stayed at in quite some time. The Saturday night BBQ is to die for. Even had a wonderful three guitar band for live entertainment. We stayed in space 9 and had great reception on the WiFi. It's a bit slow but certainly usable. Space was large, grassy and somewhat shady which was perfect. Plenty of room for our tow vehicle. Originally planned to stay just 3 nights but loved it so much we added two more nights. We'll be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I have been here 4 times now and are planning more times in the future.Doug is one standup guy if there ever was one.Helpful in every way possible.We had a flat tire while in camp and Doug gave me the repair kit to fix it.Not to mention the Salmon BBQ,which is out of this world.Doug is also a good Muscian and folk singer.It is just a lot of fun is all I can say.Very peaceful place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What an amazing place!!! The staff at Kamp Klamath provided such a beautiful peaceful place to camp. They had great smoked salmon that was sold in the front office, what an amazing fresh flavor! And the store provided for everything that you could imagine forgetting at home, the camp was so clean, the restrooms and showers are in the process of being renovated but you are camping and they do work! They even sell firewood, the cart that it is loaded on makes it easy to return to your campsite with the wood and unload, the amount is just perfect to go for hours. For the proximity to the highway we thought it would be an issue, but not at all every now and then you could hear a car heading down to the ocean off the main road but other than that very quiet. We can't wait to go back again! and when we do we know it will not be an issue bringing our teenagers because they will have cell signal and electricity to use their straighteners :) We enjoy camping much more than they do :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have to say Kamp Klamath is one of the best places I have been for the last ten years of camping experience. Kamp Klamtah is a clean nice green place, but the most important for me is the fact that you can walk to the river, see magnific sunsets from the ocean, fish, bike, walk or just relax in natural surroundings. The manager in the RV park is super nice, and friendly. I felt free in this RV park. I recommended for rvs, tents, and families. The views are terrific. Thank you to all the people in Kamp Klamath, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We only stayed one night but it was so nice and the people who worked were very nice. It was and cleanan well maintained. They had a dinner an drinks with a jazz band for $12 a person. They told us all about how the original building had burned down and their current office used to be their laundry room. It was very interesting and right by the Klamath river. The campers right next to us had a bear wake them up at 4am and went threw thier ice chest, they woke us up to warn us but it never came our way.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The office building burned to the ground in 2011 and all that is left is the stone chimney. As of 2012, the office and gift store are in a makeshift room and the washer/dryer is out in the open. Looks very bad. Nothing has been rebuilt yet -- something about "no insurance".

It feels like Kamp Klamath is at the crossroads. We stayed here 2 years ago and loved it. Now, we don't know -- hence the 3 stars. The rest of the property still looks lovely and the location still can't be beat (in Redwood National Park very close to the Klamath River). It's a campground so it's rustic and they do cater a lot to fishermen here for the salmon. But it earned its stars on Tripadvisor.

So I can't decide. Has the fire created a downward spiral and the place becomes a dump? Or should we continue to support this gem of a campground so that it will rebuild and come back as strong as before?

But would I recommend it now? With reservations. The guy in the office who helped us had liquor on his breath. The office is now a desk with reservation cards out in the open. If the fire happened last month, I can understand. But it has been one year. And the awesome Saturday BBQ during the summer? Cancelled when I was there because of lack of participation (in the middle of July).

I'm hoping they recover from this fire and rebuild. But until then, know that this is not the same place it was before the fire.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamp Klamath RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamp Klamath RV Park

Address: 1661 West Klamath Beach Road, P. O. Box 99, Klamath, CA 95548
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Klamath
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kamp Klamath Rv Park Hotel Klamath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamp Klamath RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.