We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful ending point!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Requa Road

Requa Road
Requa Road, Klamath, CA
707 465 7335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Klamath
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Attraction details
Northern Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“beautiful ending point!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We drove Requa Road up to the Klamath River Overlook. The overlook was gorgeous, we even saw a pod of whales down below and some sea lions. It took about 15 mins from the main highway.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful Overlook for whale watching, plus challenging hike for those so inclined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Requa Road leads to an overlook where you can see the mouth of the mighty Klamath River. It's also a place where you're likely to see migrating whales (assuming you are not fogged in). There are no facilities at the overlook so if you need to, you can stop by the Requa Inn along the way for a bathroom break.

There's also a trail down to another observation point where you can have a better view. My 70 year old mother disappeared on that trail and I had to send my teenager after her. An hour later, they both returned and she had the best time of her life -- though she had to be pushed up the steep trail at some point. The observation point looks so small (see photo) but the trail is doable.

Bring binoculars!! And beware, whale watching is addicting. Before you know it -- you would have spent an hour at the overlook.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got lucky and there was a Ranger there to answer questions. We didn't see any whales. He told us that they had been seen most days, but not the day we were there. He said to measure how far out to look by holding your hand with your fingers together thumb pointing up. If your pinky touches the coast, the whales will be within the coast and your pointer finger. Basically, they are pretty close to shore. He also told us a lot about the salmon fishing going on in the mouth of the river. Great stop.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Requa Road is a good overlook spot, but if you want to see seals and sea lions, Drive down on the Klamath Beach Road and walk on the beach to the Mouth of the Klamath.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No whales but a clear evening to view the ocean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We hear that 90 percent of the time the clouds are so thick you can see the ocean. Our day seemed pretty sunny so we decided to take our chances and were rewarded with a wonderful view of the coast. We looked for the resident whales but they weren't showing themselves when we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Requa Road also viewed

 

Been to Requa Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Requa Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.