We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Cafe

Forest Cafe
15499 US Hwy 101 N, Klamath, CA 95548
(707) 482-5585
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Klamath
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The food was good and at a reasonable prices. We were glad to find it, since there is very little choice in and around Klamath, CA.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    17
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Loved the decor and atmosphere. Like sitting in a pond and looking up at the sky. Breakfast was excellent and our waiter could not do enough for us. This is one of those places that lingers in your memory long after the trip has ended.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“To Bad the service was Awful!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The service ruined what could have been a great experience. We were seated and then waited 15-20 min before the waitress even showed up at our table . after another 30 min she said our order was next 15 min later still no food so we asked the waitress if this much of a wait was normal and after she glared at my wife she spouted off it was not her fault there was a big table seated before us and she would check on our order . She came back and said it was not ready buy we could have a desert or trip through the salad bar so we grabbed out 5 year old a little cheese to get him by.
While we were waiting another table of four got up and left and then on the top of the tram at Trees of Mystery we met them and asked where they ate after their reply ice cream another couple asked if we had the tall skinny blond waitress because she waited on them and was rude and had a bad attitude.
All this is to bad because when the food finally came it was good and would have made a happy memory but crappy service makes me say never again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I saw from reviews on this site that this place would probably not be great, but due to our timing, it was the easiest place to stop for a quick lunch while traveling back down the 101. My husband and I split a French dip, and it was pretty terrible "school cafeteria" type of food.

The only entertaining thing about this place is the decor. Although it's pretty ridiculous (stuffed bear and eagle in flight with claws outstretched, random forest-y silk plants on the ceiling, etc.), at least they made an effort and kids might enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Worst meal of a 2 week trip up the coast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Avoid eating at the Forest Cafe if you can. I really thin kthe only reason this place is open is becuasre the Trees of Mystery is across the street and there is no other restaurant anywhere nearby.

The decor inside is kind of neat with it being like a firest and one part of the restaurant looking like you are underwater with duck feet poking out from the ceiling. The waitress was nice but totally overwhelmed as she was having to be the hostess and wait on every table in the place.

The food was not good and it was pricey. I had the salmon for $18 that was overcooked and extremely dry. For dessert it was $7 for a small slice of cake for dessert that was still frozen in the middle. My family had the meatloaf that was OK, but very much had the look of something cooked several days ago and reheated.

Were were travelling teh CA and OR coast for two weeks and we all agreed hands down this was the worst meal we had the entire trip - and is was like $80 for 3 people.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Forest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.