We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't fall for "Premium Studio" unless you need kitchen.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort
Kirkwood, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kirkwood
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Don't fall for "Premium Studio" unless you need kitchen.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've stayed in the hotel style rooms before and they were comfy. This time around we took a "Premium Studio" style room and we really regret it now. You DO get a kitchen. The cost is comfortable beds. Rooms with a Kitchen have a Murphy bed (barely tolerable comfort) and a pull out sofa bed (worthless for adults). If you have children 10 or under, you might get away with the pull out sofa bed. Don't even think about being comfortable on the pull out sofa bed if you are 110 lbs or more. My poor son had to put the sofa back together and just sleep on the sofa (the cushions were way more supportive than the 2" think "mattress" on the pull out).

Mountain Club guests get underground parking and a locker to put skis & snowboards in. The locker is literally just 20 - 30 feet from two prime lifts, and about 50 yards from 3 more awesome lifts. GREAT location.

Service from staff was outstanding. If not for the great care Ben gave us, this would have been a two star review. There were two other staff who also treated us with great care and respect and I sadly have misplaced their names.

I WILL be back because Kirkwood is the best skiing in Tahoe with the largest snowfall and shortest lines. Kind of like a well kept secret. But this time around I learned to stay in the hotel style rooms. Live & learn.

Room Tip: Book early and get a hotel style room in the Mountain Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We two visited Mid-October to see Fall Leaves, staying one night. Were it not for the VERY responsible gal (all alone) at the front desk, we'd have had a bad experience. Unit we booked turned out to be attached to another room, not really standalone. Barely heated, poorly lighted, no place to sit with the sink and mirror facing the bed...to begin with. Gal found us a room in the main lodge at a higher price when we complained (we think she had to go make it up herself in order to squeeze us in.)
Units are owned by various owners and rented out by the company. Therefore the visiting experience is dependent on the unit and based on this you would want to really know what you are renting.
However the unit in the lodge required we drag our bags up a couple of floors from the parking lot through a very poorly (even dangerously) lit deck with tables scattered around and fire pits to fall into. Really hazardous at night for us. But remember this is totally off-season for this ski resort.
We were told Vail Resorts relatively recently bought the operation and is gradually upgrading the properties. It wasn't apparent yet to us.
Conclusion - as an off-season stay, be really wary, and really specific if you want to stay there.
Separate Comment - many years ago (15-20) we stayed at the same main lodge and skied. It was a very nice experience. Quite at odds with what we experienced on this visit. We like the Kirkwood mountain but would have second thoughts about returning based on the off-season visit.

Room Tip: Ask ALL the details before you say 'yes' to what you are renting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkwood hotels

San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Six of us went up for Easter weekend and had a fun time. Skiing accommodations were great and the employees were very helpful and friendly as we rented skiing skiing equipment for two days. I even took a ski class and the instructor was very insightful. The hotel room #205 was hot at night and the hallways were even hotter during the day. The thermostat in the rooms only had options of HEAT or OFF. The beds were lumpy and uncomfortable and there was no housekeeping service. The hotel should just charge $10 more per night and offer daily housekeeping. Bub's Pub was a total dud; the food sucked. The food in the "resort" was pedestrian and awful and reminded me of bad diner food. I will probably go back for the skiing, but I hope the hotel accommodations improve as well as the quality of the food in the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We just spent the weekend at The Mountain Club and I truly don't think you can beat the location anywhere on this mountain, or any other mountain. The lodge sits right at the base of one of two "villages," where you literally walk out your door to access five chair lifts. The lifts give you quick, direct access to beginning, intermediate, and expert skiing. As we were skiing with our 9 year-old and 2.5 year-old, having the lodge so close for quick breaks and hand offs was so convenient.

The Mountain Club itself has been completely redone, so I would not pay attention to reviews that are from last year. Our unit was a studio loft, everything was updated, and it came with underground parking and a ski locker right on the main floor (again, super convenient). Flat screen TVs, fully equipped kitchen, everything very nice. Also have access to a spa, hot tub, and exercise room. The beds, I will admit, were not all that comfortable. But all in I would definitely return and the Mountain Club itself would be one of the reasons (in addition to great skiing).

Room Tip: We booked our room on Priceline, which allowed us to get a slightly better deal than is offered on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt County, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We are just completing a one week stay in the Mountain Club together with our kids and grandkids. It has been a memorable experience for us. The Mountain Club is freshly remodeled with new beds, sofa sleepers, appliances, electronics, and elevator. The resort is very family friendly and the grandkids enjoyed the instructors. Even though we worried about enough snow, there was plenty of beginner and intermediate terrain to keep our entire family on the slopes. With a couple of good storms Kirkwood should be ready for the experts too. Being on the plaza side (even numbers) of the building kept us on the quieter side at night as the groomers and the spa are on the other side. The view of the plaza in the morning is fun to see what's going on and how big the crowd is. We brought all our own groceries and cooked our own meals. We know from years of experiencing the mountains that amenities and services can be limited so we arrived prepared with everything that we need but did find that the general store is quite well stocked. The Mountain Club is a great place to stay if you like skiing right to your door.

Room Tip: We enjoyed facing the plaza side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I have skied Kirkwood 30 days a year for 5 years or so. We alway stay at he mountain club - the ski on-off is unparalleled in the Northern Sierra. But we don't recommend it to anyone who want good facilities or service. Frankly, we put up with indifference and apathy from the staff and owners because the mountain and snow conditions are the best - and the drive from the SF bay area is the most civilized.
My fear is that Kirkwood could execute a death spiral. Despite having some of the most loyal, long time season-pass members they could be relegating themselves to a day-ski resort.
What a wasted potential. M&M

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We had originally booked a room at Sun Meadows in Kirkwood for a mid week stay and ski package. However, upon check in, we saw the room at Sun Meadows and immediately asked for an upgrade.

The hotel style room at Sun Meadows was postage stamp small, crowded, outdated and dirty. Not worth even the package price of $100/night per person with lift tickets. Because there is nothing else to do a Kirkwood in the evening, it would have been torture being stuck in that room at night.

While we paid about 50% more for the room at Mountain Club, it was modern, clean and comfortable. The ski in / ski out was also nice and included a ski locker in the lobby.

My major complaint with Kirkwood is the lack of ameneties. The restaurant choices are very limited and closed early...8 pm. So, be prepared to spend the majority of your time in your room in the evenings.

The lobby of the lodge even quenched the fireplace in the lobby by 8 pm....is that ridiculous? Also, there is no bar open mid week after 8 pm if you wanted a later night out.

While skiing at Kirkwood is fine, for my money, I will go back to Truckee where there are lots of options for lodging, food, entertainment and ski resorts.

This was the first time at Kirkwood, and I was disappointed in the overall experience. I would classify Kirkwood as a second class resort. All of the staff that we interacted with from reservations, to check in to wait staff at the restaurants were competent, but nobody stood out as providing good service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort

Address: Kirkwood, CA
Location: United States > California > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club At Kirkwood Mountain Resort Hotel Kirkwood
Mountain Hotel Kirkwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.