We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salazar's Grill & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salazar's Grill & Bar
345 Sierra St, Kingsburg, CA 93631-1707
559-897-1843
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 38 restaurants in Kingsburg
Restaurant details
Oakley, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Unimpressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Salazar's Grill and Bar is located in a strip mall next to a K-mart; to clear up any confusion from previous reviews my GPS app measured the distance from the Fairfield Inn at 0.17 miles or about three football fields. On arrival we were greeted at the door, seated promptly by our friendly server and found the ambiance pleasant. Unfortunately the food didn't measure up - the chile verde on my burrito was thin and watery, and my wife's chile relleno was soft and soggy. Given the number of excellent Mexican restaurants in the Central Valley we're not likely to return here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    3
    2
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsburg, California
1 review
“What happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ate the worst meal at Salazar's last night. I ordered the Chili Con Carne Dinner. I have been eating at this family restaurant since it was in a little white shack in Selma CA. The recipe for Chili Con Carne has been horribly altered. The meat is of poor quality and dry with significant fat on it. My plate came with rice and beans and about 2/3 cup of Chili Con Carne. I also should mention that the waiter who took my order was chewing food when he came to take my order. How disgusting. I will never eat at this establishment again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“Too heavy for a late meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We pulled into Kingsburg about 8 pm after driving for several hours. We were tire and hungary and after checking into the Fairfield Inn we asked about restaurants in the area. The desk clerk recommended Salazar's which she said was within walking distance. After starting to walk we decided it was more like a driving distance, so my husband went back and got the car. This place is located in the same area as the K-Mart but on the farthest side of that area from the motel (which was a "backyard neighbor"). The place seemed to be a local favorite. This is a smallish town and we were concerned about how late restaurants would be open. We arrived at Salazar's about 8:30. They were only open until 9, but said we were fine, to come on in, no problem. Since it was late I ordered the taco salad which was described as choice of meat, beans, tomatoes, and guacamole on a bed of lettuce in a taco shell bowl for $9.79 The server suggested the shredded beef. I asked for no guacamole and no raw onion garnish. My husband ordered enchiladas in green chili which the server recommended for $11.99. The complimentary corn chips were crisp and hot and the salsa was mild and tasty. We were hungary and ate more of them than we should have. When the meal came it was a lot of food. My husband said his was good. My salad was a little disappointing in that it was a whole lot of shredded beef and beans in the bottom of the taco shell bowl with a little lettuce and tomatoes on top. I had wanted it the other way around. By the time we were served they were putting the chairs on top of the tables and cleaning up for the night. This probably would have been a better selection at 6 pm than at almost 9 pm. The food sat heavy on our stomachs. We realized afterwards that somewhere in Kingsburg there is a Denny's which would have been open all night and served lighter food. That night it would have been a better choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Had taco salad. The shell was greasy and pretty much burned. The lettuce in the salad was warm and wet. The chicken had not flavor and tasted like it had been boiled. Worst mexican food I have ever ate.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place for food and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Good food, good drinks, good service and friendly staff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salazar's Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Kingsburg, CA
Kingsburg, CA
 

Been to Salazar's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salazar's Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.