We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great family service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Save Saved
You added Ferrari's Crown Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferrari's Crown Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Midweek Rate Drop!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kings Beach
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great family service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I would just like to say that we had a great time at Ferrari's--- but what truly started off our stay on the right leg was the fantastic customer service we experienced. We were originally booked in a lake front room but had to change our dates slightly due to the catastrophic Rim Fire. We were told that the only rooms left were lake view on the ground floor. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to be back on the lake front! Every one staff was so friendly and helpful during our stay. The room had a great view of the lake and a pleasant shared balcony area. We brought dinner back to the hotel every evening to enjoy the view. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. It has a great beachfront location. We rented stand up paddleboards from the onsite vendor and there was a discount if you were staying at the hotel. The outdoor jacuzzi was great. We didn't go in the pool because the lake was so incredible, but there are two pools and they looked clean and inviting. The resort is walking distance to a few restaurants, a grocery store and a drugstore. We loved our stay at Ferrari and can't wait to go back to the same room next year!

Room Tip: Be willing to splurge on a room with a view of the lake. But the location itself is worth it no matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We have been family owned and operated for all of our 58 years and do work hard to give everyone a pleasant stay. We strive to keep everything working and comfortable so that our guests can enjoy the splendor of Lake Tahoe from its shoreline.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    79
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
70
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This motel caught our eye because it clearly states no pets, and that's a treasure nowadays. With so many high priced motels/hotels around Lake Tahoe, Ferrari's is a charming, clean and delightful motel that looks directly onto the lake. The bed was very comfortable and it had both soft and firm pillows, which was nice. The motel is a 60's era place (like many in the area) and that gave it a fun retro feel. As long as you're OK with it being older, you'll appreciate it. And old doesn't mean dirty, it is very well kept and clean!
Our room was upstairs and it had chairs out front on a veranda type common balcony. We watched beautiful sunsets each night right in front of our room. Being at the top of the lake it was easy to go down either side of the lake for sightseeing and activities. It included a modest breakfast of coffee and pastries, which is nice if that's all you want, otherwise there are some great restaurants nearby. We were undecided about going in when we pulled into the parking lot, but were really happy we stayed there. I don't think you'll be disappointed!

Room Tip: It's a 100% pet free hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Your phrase "a charming, clean and delightful motel that looks directly onto the lake" is spot on with what we strive to be. Thanks for the nice review.

See you next time.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong / Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ferrari crown for a night and it was fantastic! The location was very convenient as there was a rite aide across the street for any necessities that you may need during your stay. (You can even get some kites!)

We got a phenomenal room facing the lake on the upper level that was in the corner of the building (they had a few buildings), so we were able to not only enjoy the large 'store front' like door and window, but we also had windows along the wall. There was a fireplace as well, which came in handy when the night fell upon us; we also enjoyed it after our shower as we used it to toast our clothes :) the coffee maker greeted our morning, and it was very nice to have a fridge and microwave as so many hotels during our stay in California lacked that. The shower was powerful and relaxing; having the hot tub right outside was also perfect.

The location was fantastic as we walked along the lake shore in the morning with our coffees. We also walked to local dining for dinner and breakfast.

Our stay was very pleasant, and I would recommend the crown to anyone who's going to the north shore in Lake Tahoe. I hope to return there soon, and will request the same room :) thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Fall is a special time at the Crown, and it sounds like you made the most of your stay.

Thanks and come again soon.

Dave Ferrari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We picked the Ferrari Crown, sight unseen, for it's location: Kings Beach is the closest spot to I-80 that's on Lake Tahoe. I also noted that the owners read & respond to reviews which I took to be a good sign. We arrived after midnight and checked into the room we had reserved online. It was quite small but clean and functional and faced the highway. The next morning we went down to breakfast and saw the views from the side facing the lake and decided to ask to move. The woman at the desk was very friendly and accommodating and for a modest upgrade fee we were able to move to the lakefront. It was worth it! We traded the sound of the highway (though not too bad) for the soothing sound of waves lapping the shore. Our room was twice as big and had a lovely deck as well, where we sat and enjoyed the spectacular vista of the beautiful blue lake surrounded by mountains. The hotel consists of several buildings and if you're spending any time in the area at all, it's definitely worth the extra $ for the lake side. There are 4 wifi connections that provide coverage throughout the property and there's a good, basic continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Our lake view rooms are very popular for their proximity to the lake. Keep in mind we always run special rates on them during the spring and fall shoulder seasons.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Often a stay at a motel can be greatly influenced by others who are staying in the rooms around you.

We lucked out this time around as we were in a room looking directly over the lake in a string of only four or five rooms. No one on one side and two older men on the other who were very quiet.

The grounds of this motel are well maintained, it is obvious the owners care. Don't forget this place has been around since the fifties and as are many of that era have either closed or fallen in to shoddy repair. Not here, it all looks fresh and cared for.

The room it self has a tremendous view of Lake Tahoe since it is almost to the lake shore. A very nice big window to look out as well as a glass door which brings in more light and lets out more view. So the feel is bright and airy. There is a settee out in front of each room for relaxation and viewing. We had a room with two queen beds a small table with two chairs and a dresser with the flat screen tv on top. It also had the area set for a small refrigerator and coffee make with a microwave. I assume whne others mention the rooms being small this is not one of those rooms as it fit all well with room to navigate around. I will admit I was not a fan of the color of the room, but this is personal taste as it was well maintained and fit the room well. The color by the way is blue and in my mind translates to poverty blue. The beds according to my sister were just fine and she slept well. I never sleep well so I am not one to judge. The wifi worked well and had a strong connection. Yes the bathroom where the toilet and tub are kept is small and has one of those toilets I find often in California seem to have been made for a five year old, very close to the ground and tiny. I realize if they had a standard modern toilet the door would not close and as I was perched upon this toilet I was working on the problem and am pretty sure it could be worked out.

Now there were a few things I did find annoying:

I assume they have had a rash of iron thefts in the past since the iron is lashed to the board and makes ironing kind of difficult. But hey if one must protect ones property I can understand.

No hot water was to be found at the sink. If one lets the water run in hopes of finding hot water the sink fills very quickly and then drains very slowly and still no hot water. I know what some are thinking, why did I not call the front desk. Well this was around 5 am and they seem not to open until 8 am, yeah I know, odd.

The coffee pot did not work. It took in the water and heated but would not drain in to the pot and what little that did drain did so on to the tray and not the pot. Again it was around 5 am so no point in alerting anyone. The breakfast room does not open until 8 am either so what is a mother to do. Odd hours huh.

So I do have mixed feelings about this place but over all I suspect I would give it another try. Show owner comment »

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your detailed review. Being a family owned resort, we pride ourselves on taking care of the property. The irons are tied down in the room to prevent them from being used for waxing skis and snowboards in the winter (a Tahoe specific issue!).

Our apologies for the hot water and coffee pot issue, if you could provide us with a room # we'll have maintenance check the room out.

Hope to see you soon.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ferrari's Crown Resort for a day in September 2013. The room was okay - not too comfortable/luxurious, but clean and great value for money. The facilities were excellent: there was a swimming pool and jacuzzi (one of the two jacuzzis could be reserved for a private group at no cost). There was a ping-pong table. The beach was literally a stone's throw away, and there were a decent number of people around, though it was off season. The lake was serene and beautiful. We enjoyed kayaking, though there were many who were on paddle-boards. On the whole, this place was great value for money, and is thoroughly recommended! (though you should not expect a five star hotel, or a very luxurious stay).

Complaints: the bathroom didn't have a lock on it; instead of two twin beds in our room, there was one double bed and one twin; there was no air conditioning (but we were given a fan, which did the trick)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We agree that we are not luxurious (except for the natural beauty of the Lake and beach) but do strive to be comfortable. We understand we are not a 5 star location but price our property for what we can offer. We don’t think there is a better value on the beach in Tahoe region.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Ct
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I enjoyed my time at Ferrari's so much. 2 pools 2 spas ( one is private ) and amazing beach. Walking distance to restaurants and grocery store. Pulling up to hotel at first was surprised because it did not look anything like the photos I saw when I booked my trip but once I drove out back to my room, I was hooked. I will be back for sure. Breakfast is adequate although fruit would have been a great addition and perhaps if the breakfast room could have opened maybe an hour earlier. ( 8-9:30 ). Look forward to my next trip and would not want to stay any other place.

Room Tip: ask for lake front or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. If you come back in the winter time, the continental breakfast opens earlier!

Dave Ferrari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrari's Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.